Skip to main content

2. Gross indecency by a person with a mentally incapacitated person

It used to be an offence contrary to section 118I of the Crimes Ordinance (Cap. 200) for a man to commit an act of gross indecency with another man who is a mentally incapacitated person. However, pursuant to Yeung Chu Wing v Secretary for Justice, the offence under section 118I is now gender-neutral and applies to both man and woman. In other words, it is an offence contrary to section 118I for a person to commit an act of gross indecency with another person who is a mentally incapacitated person.

 

The maximum penalty for the offence is 2 years imprisonment.

 

A mentally incapacitated person is a mentally handicapped or disordered person whose disorder or handicap makes that person incapable of living an independent life or guarding against serious exploitation.

 

A person who does not know and has no reason to suspect that the other person is mentally handicapped does not commit an offence under section 118I. Knowledge is a question of fact. The court will look at all the circumstances of the case, including anything the defendant says and the relationship between the parties, when considering whether knowledge is proved.

 

Gross indecency is not defined in the Crimes Ordinance (Cap. 200). It will be for the court to decide in each case whether there is gross indecency applying the standard of right thinking persons in contemporary society. This means the definition of gross indecency is flexible and reflects changing standards within society.

Last revision date:

跳转到主要内容

2. 与一名精神上无行为能力的人作出严重猥亵作为

根据《刑事罪行条例》(香港法例第200章第118I条,任何男子与另一名属精神上无行为能力的男子作出严重猥亵作为, 曾经属于犯罪。不过由于 Yeung Chu Wing v Secretary for Justice 一案的裁决,法庭裁判第118I条适用于男性及女性。换句话说,任何人与另一名属精神上无行为能力的人作出严重猥亵作为,即属违法。

 

最高刑罚是监禁2年。

 

精神上无行为能力的人是指弱智或精神紊乱的人士,因其精神紊乱或弱智而没有能力独立生活、或没有能力保护自己,免受他人严重剥削。

 

任何人如不知道或没理由怀疑另一人属精神上无行为能力人士,他便不会触犯第118I条所订明的罪行。被告是否知道,涉及事实判断,法庭将审视案件的所有情况,包括被告所说的任何说话以及双方的关系,以判断被告是否知悉。

 

刑事罪行条例》(香港法例第200章)没有为严重猥亵下定义,每宗案件是否涉及严重猥亵将由法庭决定。法庭会依据现代社会有合理思维的人的标准,决定是否涉及严重猥亵。换言之,严重猥亵的定义具有弹性,亦反映不断变化的社会标准。

修订日期: