Skip to main content

3. Duty to report

Now consider this situation: a driver drove in the middle of the night in some country side and collided with a lamp post. This driver stopped; but there was obviously no one there for him to give particulars to; he therefore left the scene.  Did this driver breach the duty to stop and to give particulars?

 

In this particular case, certainly the law would not be so unreasonable as to impose on this driver the duty to stop and wait indefinitely in the middle of the night for someone to come along and ask him for his particulars.  Instead this driver should comply with section 56(2A) of the Road Traffic Ordinance (Cap.374 of the Laws of Hong Kong), which requires that if “the driver of the vehicle for any reason does not give the particulars mentioned in subsection (2), he shall report the accident in person at the nearest police station or to any police officer as soon as reasonably practicable, and in any case not later than 24 hours after the accident.”  Therefore, the driver in this situation must report the incident in person to a police as soon as reasonably practicable.

 

Further, section 56(3) of the same Ordinance also stipulates a similar duty to report accidents that involve injury to any person, unless the driver “is incapable of doing so by reason of injuries sustained by him in the accident”.

 

1. Mr. C’s vehicle accidentally collided with another vehicle.  Both drivers stopped, got out of their vehicles and quarreled.  In the heat of the incident, the driver of the other vehicle did not ask Mr. C to give particulars, but did tell Mr. C to remain at the scene to wait for the police.  Mr. C, who had to attend an important meeting, then left the scene.  The other driver, however, managed to remember the registration mark of Mr. C’s vehicle and reported the same to the police.  The police had no difficulty in locating Mr. C in his office within just one hour.  During the interview with the police, Mr. C told everything in detail to the police.  Under such circumstances, what are Mr. C’s liabilities (if any) under section 56 of the Road Traffic Ordinance (Cap.374 of the Laws of Hong Kong)?

Last revision date:

移至主內容

3. 報告意外的責任

試想像以下情況:一名駕駛者在夜半無人的鄉郊駕車,撞上了燈柱。他停了車,但很明顯沒有人在場可讓他提供意外的詳情;因此他離開了現場。該駕駛者有沒有違反停車及提供詳情的責任?

 

在這種情況下,法律當然不會如此不合情理地要求該駕駛者在夜半無人之時停下車輛,然後無限期地等候有人過來向他索取詳情。此駕駛者應該遵照《道路交通條例》(香港法例第374章第56(2A)條所述行事,即「如該車輛的司機因為任何理由不提供第(2)款所述的詳情,須在合理切實可行範圍內,盡快而在任何情況下不遲於意外發生後24小時,親自前往最近的警署或向任何警務人員報告該意外」。因此,該個案中的駕駛者應該在合理切實可行範圍內,盡快到就近的警署報告該意外。

 

同一條例的第56(3)條亦指明,若意外涉及任何人士受傷,涉案的駕駛者亦有類似的責任,向警方報告,除非該駕駛者「由於在意外中受傷以致不能照辦」。

 

1. C先生的車輛意外地與另一車輛相撞。兩位駕駛者將車停下來,走出車輛,並大吵一頓。在爭吵過程中,另一車輛的駕駛者沒有要求C先生提供詳情,只叫C先生留在現場等警方到場。由於C先生要趕赴重要會議,他隨即離開了現場。該名駕駛者記下了C先生車輛的登記號碼,並向警方報告。短短一小時內,警方已毫無困難地在C先生的辦公室找到他。在與警方的會面中,C先生向警方交代了該宗意外的全部細節。在這種情況下,C先生是否需要負上《道路交通條例》(香港法例第374章)第56條內的刑責?如要,是甚麼刑責呢?

修訂日期: