Skip to main content

4. I am a patient and am being asked by my doctor to sign a "consent form" that shows that I accept the treatment or operation. If I sign this consent form but my condition worsens as a result of the treatment or operation, can I still claim against the doctor for compensation?

Consent from the patient is required before undertaking examinations, arranging investigations or prescribing a course of treatment or other intervention. However, a signature on a form is of itself not evidence of valid consent. There are three fundamental requirements for valid consent:

 

  • the patient has the ability to understand what is proposed.
  • the patient has been provided with the relevant information necessary to enable an informed choice.
  • and that the consent is freely given. A signature on a form is of itself not evidence of valid consent.

A valid consent must be obtained before a doctor can start treatment or provide care for a patient. This is especially the case when a patient has to undergo medical treatment or an operation in a hospital. Children under 16 or those who do not have sufficient understanding or intelligence normally require the consent of their parents or guardians before they can undergo medical treatment.

 

A signed consent form is merely evidence that the patient signed the form, but it does not mean that the patient necessarily understood the significance or implications of the treatment that is proposed on the form. For such consent to be valid, the patient must know the specific treatment to which they are consenting and its nature and purpose. Therefore, the fact that a patient signed a consent form cannot in itself prevent a patient from making a claim for compensation against a doctor if medical negligence was involved.

Last revision date:

移至主內容

4. 我是病人,醫生要求我簽署一份「同意書」,以表示我同意接受有關治療或手術。如果我簽了該同意書,但有關治療或手術其後導致病情惡化,我還可以向該醫生索償嗎?

醫生為病人檢查、診斷或處方一系列治療或其他療程前,必須先取得病人的同意。然而,單憑同意書上的簽名,並不能證明同意書有效。一份有效的同意書須符合以下三個基本要求:

 

  • 病人有能力明白醫生的建議;
  • 病人有足夠的相關資訊,以作出有依據的選擇;
  • 病人可自由選擇是否同意;單憑同意書上的簽名,並不能證明同意書有效。

醫生開始為病人進行治療或手術前,必須取得病人的有效同意,尤其是病人須在醫院接受治療或手術。若病人是十六歲以下的兒童、不能充分理解事情的人士或智障人士,醫生便須在進行治療前取得病人的父母或監護人同意。

 

一份已簽署的同意書僅代表病人簽署了這份同意書,並不表示該病人一定明白同意書上建議的治療方法有多重要,或該治療方法可帶來甚麼後果。病人必須知悉其同意進行的治療之性質和目的,同意書才能生效。因此,即使病人簽署了同意書,亦不能妨礙病人就醫療疏忽向醫生索償。

修訂日期: