Skip to main content

2. Legal Aid

Medical negligence cases are usually difficult, as they involve medical and legal issues that are beyond the grasp of ordinary citizens. Solicitors are usually engaged to advise on these cases. If you cannot afford to hire/consult a solicitor, then you can consider applying to the Legal Aid Department for legal aid.  Legal aid will be granted subject to a test of your means (financial eligibility) and the merits of your case (whether or not you have substantial grounds for legal action). For more information, please see the Legal Aid topic.

 

The Legal Aid Department provides legal representation to eligible applicants by providing them with a solicitor and, if necessary, a barrister in civil or criminal proceedings.

 

Legal aid is available for cases involving personal injury or death, as well as medical, dental or legal professional negligence. Any person, whether or not ordinarily resident in Hong Kong, who is involved in the circumstances described above: i.e. you have suffered from medical negligence may apply for legal aid. Legal aid will be granted if the applicant is able to satisfy the statutory criteria as to the financial eligibility and the merits for taking or defending the legal proceedings.

 

Means Test

 

The purpose of the "means test" is to assess the financial resources of the applicant. Under the Ordinary Legal Aid Scheme, the upper financial eligibility limit is HK$260,000. Financial resources of an applicant are his/her monthly disposable income multiplied by 12 plus his or her disposable capital.

 

Merits Test

 

The main purpose of the "merits test" is to determine whether an applicant has a reasonable claim or defence and whether or not the grant of legal aid to an applicant is justified. Apart from considering the chances of success, the Director may refuse legal aid in cases where he would be unable to enforce a judgment e.g. the opposite party is uninsured and has no valuable assets. The Director will also give due considerationto the importance of the case to the applicant in deciding whether or not to grant legal aid.

Last revision date:

移至主內容

2. 法律援助

醫療疏忽申索案件涉及的醫療及法律事項是普羅市民難以理解的,故申索一般較為艱難。律師通常會受聘,為案件提供意見。若閣下支付不起聘請律師的費用,閣下可考慮向法律援助署申請法律援助。署方將會審查閣下的資產(財務資源)以及案情(閣下是否具充分理據提出訴訟)而決定是否批出援助。閣下可閱覽「法律援助」一欄以取得更多資訊。

 

法律援助署會為合資格的申請人,在民事或刑事訴訟中提供代表律師或大律師(如有需要)服務。

 

法律援助適用於涉及人身傷害或死亡的索償案件,或因醫療、牙科或法律專業疏忽而提出的申索案件。任何人士只要涉及上述情況,例如閣下因醫療疏忽受害,不論閣下是否香港居民,亦可申請法律援助。只要申請人的財務資源符合法定規定,而又具有充分理據去提出訴訟或抗辯,便可獲法律援助。

 

資產審查

 

「資產審查」的目的是要評核申請人的財務資源。根據普通法律援助計劃,財務資源的上限為港幣260,000元。申請人的財務資源是將其每月可動用的收入乘以12,再加上其可動用資產。

 

案情審查

 

「案情審查」的主要目的是確立申請人是否有合理的申索或抗辯理由,或給予申請人法律援助是否合理。除考慮勝訴機會外,若法援署署長認為裁決無法執行,例如對訟一方並無投購保險,又沒有具價值的資產,可拒絕批出法律援助。署長在決定是否批出法律援助時,也會適當考慮有關案件對申請人有多重要。

修訂日期: