Skip to main content

B. Negligent Treatment

Irrespective of whether the patient has given consent to a treatment or not, if the medical practitioner committed any negligent error in carrying out that treatment and caused injury to the patient, the medical practitioner would be liable to the patient for negligence.

 

A medical practitioner owes a duty in tort to his patient: he must exercise reasonable care and skill in his/her treatment of the patient. Failure to do so would render the practitioner liable to the patient for damages for personal injury caused by the negligent treatment.

 

In order to claim damages, the injury must be shown to be the result of an error on the part of the medical practitioner and not the a result of an inherent risk of the treatment, and that such an error is something a reasonably competent medical practitioner would have avoided.

 

A negligent treatment is a treatment which fails to attain the degree of skill and competence required of a reasonable practitioner. The basis of the test used to determine whether or not a practitioner has been negligent is the standard which would ordinarily be expected of a person trained in, exercising, and professing to have the special skills in question. It is not considered negligece if the practitioner exercises the ordinary or normal skill of a competent person exercising that particular art, even if the result of the treatment proves unsatisfactory. This test is called the “Bolam Test”, which is derived from the English case of Bolam v Friern HMC [1957].

 

The test is to be considered in the light of the practitioner’s specialisation and the post he holds.  Inexperience is irrelevant to the required standard of care.

 

The treatment must be judged in the context of proper treatment at the time the negligence occured. We could not use a more current or advanced medical standard to judge a treatment that occurred in the past when the resources and equipment used were less advanced.

 

A practitioner who acts in conformity with an accepted current practice is not negligent merely because there is a body of opinion which would take a contrary view.

 

The practice relied on must be respectable, responsible and reasonable a nd has to have a logical basis.

 

The time limit to take action for personal injures is three years from the date on which the cause of action occurred , or three years from the date (if later) on which the plaintiff first discovered something was wrong (section 27 of the Limitation OrdinanceCap. 347).

 

For more information, you may refer to another topic: Medical Negligence.

Last revision date:

移至主內容

B. 疏忽治療

不論病人同意或拒絕接受治療,如醫生在治療期間因疏忽犯錯,導致病人受傷害,他/她便須因疏忽而負上法律責任。

 

醫生有責任確保病人的權利免受傷害,他/她必須在治療過程中運用適當技術,為病人給予合理照顧,如他/她沒有這樣做,便有可能因疏忽治療,面臨病人提出人身傷害申索賠償。

 

病人必須證明他/她所受的傷害是由醫生犯錯引起,而不是因治療的潛在風險所致,而醫生所犯的過錯,是一般有合理能力的醫生可以避免的,病人才能申索賠償。

 

醫生在施予治療時,其技術和能力如未能達至指定程度,有關治療便會視為疏忽治療。法庭會以一名同樣擁有該技術的醫生,在運用技術時所達至的水平作為測試標準。醫生在進行治療,並運用該技術時,只要達至標準便可。這個測試源自英國一宗案例(Bolam v Friern HMC, 1957),稱為「博林測試」。

 

法庭以此作為測試標準時,亦會考慮該名醫生的專業範疇和職級。至於該名醫生是否經驗不足,與他對病人施予的照顧是否達標並無關係。

 

法庭在判斷醫生有否疏忽時,須考慮事發時的醫療標準;昔日治療所用的設備和資源較落後,因此不能以現今科技或更先進的醫療水平來評價當時的治療。

 

如一名醫生循規蹈矩,使用廣為接受的治療方法,即使他/她的作為遭受另一派意見反對,他/她亦不會因此被視作疏忽。然而,他/她在採用這種方法時,必須展現良好質素、表現負責,並符合情理和邏輯。

 

原告人須在事故發生當日、或他知悉事件當日起計(如屬較後者)的三年內,就人身傷害提出申訴。(香港法例第347章時效條例第27條。)

 

你可參考「醫療疏忽」一頁,了解更多。

修訂日期: