Skip to main content

C. The Arbitration Tribunal

An arbitration tribunal has the power to grant any remedy that may be granted by the Hong Kong courts, except to make any order that is binding on those who are not parties to the arbitration.

 

Where a sum of money is involved, the tribunal has power to award simple or compound interest on the principal sum at such rate as it considers appropriate up to the date of the award. Once the award is made, simple interest accrues on the award at the same rates as are payable on awards made by Hong Kong court judgments.

 

The tribunal has power to decide which party is liable to pay the costs of the arbitration and on what basis. The usual order is that the losing party is required to pay the winning party's costs in addition to their own.

 

The costs of the arbitration include the costs incurred by the parties in the course of the arbitration (e.g. professional fees such as fees for expert witnesses giving technical opinion), the arbitrators’ fees, and fees paid to the arbitration institution.

 

Once an award of the costs has been made, the parties may agree upon the sum to be paid to the party in whose favour the award was made. If no agreement is reached, the party whose costs are to be paid may submit its bill of costs to a court for "taxation". In the taxation process, the party's costs are assessed by a court official, and any costs that were not properly or reasonably incurred will be disallowed.

 

An arbitration award made in Hong Kong may be enforced in the same manner as a court judgment, once the court has given leave to enforce the award. The application for leave to enforce an award is made on paper (and submitted to a court) without having to give notice to the party against whom the enforcement is sought.

 

A tribunal has power to grant any remedy that may be granted by the Hong Kong courts, except to make any order that is binding on parties who were not parties to the arbitration.

 

An award may be set aside on grounds relating to lack of jurisdiction, improper constitution of the tribunal or arbitral procedure not in accordance with the agreement of the parties. The involved parties may also expressly opt to challenge the award on the grounds of irregularity and questions of law. Any application to set aside an award must be made within three months from the date of receipt of the award, after which it can not be set aside.

 

Rules and Procedures

 

Arbitration in Hong Kong is governed by the Arbitration OrdinanceChapter 341 of the Laws of Hong Kong (the Current Ordinance). The Current Ordinance is based on a split regime - an international regime, which is based on the UNCITRAL Model Law, and a domestic regime.

 

The UNCITRAL Model Law was promulgated by the United Nations Commission on International Trade Law (UNCITRAL) in 1985, to provide states with a template for an effective and comprehensive arbitration regime with limited scope for local courts to intervene in the arbitral process. It has been adopted (or adapted) in numerous jurisdictions around the world.

 

The UNCITRAL Arbitration Rules were adopted by UNCITRAL in 1976, to provide a set of procedural rules generally appropriate for use in international commercial arbitrations. These Rules were subsequently amended in 2010.

 

In 1990, Hong Kong adopted the UNCITRAL Model Law to apply to international arbitrations.

 

The new Arbitration Ordinance ( Chapter 609 of the Laws of Hong Kong) that was enacted in November 2010 and came into effect on 1 June 2011 (“the New Ordinance”), replaced the former Ordinance (i.e. the Arbitration Ordinance, Chapter 341 of the Laws of Hong Kong).

 

The New Ordinance unifies a system that formally provided different procedures depending on whether the arbitration was considered "international" or "domestic." With the new Ordinance, there is no longer any such distinction and the UNCITRAL Model Law in effect applies to all arbitrations in Hong Kong.

 

Under section 1 of Schedule 3 of the new Ordinance (transitional provisions), the former Ordinance will apply to all arbitrations commenced prior to 1 June 2011 and any related proceedings. The New Ordinance will apply to all arbitrations commenced on or after 1 June 2011 and any related proceedings.

 

"Institutional" Arbitration v. "Ad Hoc" Arbitration

 

Institutional arbitration proceedings are administered by an arbitration institute, such as the Hong Kong International Arbitration Centre (“HKIAC”), the International Chamber of Commerce (“ICC”), the China International Economic and Trade Arbitration Commission (“CIETAC”) or the London Court of International Arbitration (“LCIA”). These arbitrations are conducted under the arbitration rules devised by each institution.

 

Ad hoc arbitrations are arranged solely between the arbitrators and the parties. They may adopt a readymade set of arbitration rules (such as the UNCITRAL Rules of Arbitration) or the arbitration may be conducted under rules drawn up by the parties involved.

 

The Law applied by the Arbitral Tribunal

 

The tribunal will apply the governing law of the contract to determine the substantive issues in a contract claim. (For Procedural issues, see: Rules and Procedures above)

 

If the contract is governed by a foreign law and the tribunal has no expertise in that legal system, the parties will be required to call in expert evidence to establish the applicable principles of the foreign law.

 

If the contract is silent as to its governing law, that is, if the contract itself does not state that it must be governed by a specific law (Hong Kong law, Chinese Law, British Law etc.), the tribunal will be required to determine what law governs that contract. This will be the law of the jurisdiction with which the contract has the closest connection. If the contract provides for arbitration in Hong Kong, this may be a factor in favour of the tribunal applying Hong Kong law as the governing law of the contract.

 

The tribunal will determine the governing law of a tort claim by applying Hong Kong choice of law rules. This may lead to tort claims being determined under a different law to the governing law of the contract.

 

Thus it is wise to insure that any contract includes a statement specifying what law it is to be governed by and where any arbitration, if needed, should take place.

 

The Hong Kong Institute of Arbitrators provides detailed information on matters relating to arbitration in Hong Kong.

Last revision date:

跳转到主要内容

3. 仲裁庭

仲裁庭有权颁布任何补偿命令,就如香港其他法庭一样,但无权向仲裁协议以外的任何一方下达命令。

 

当补偿命令涉及金钱时,仲裁庭有权颁布本金的单利息或复利息作补偿,息率以颁布命令时的适当利率计算。当命令颁布后,补偿金的单利息,息率的计算方法就如香港其他法庭所颁布的命令一样。

 

仲裁庭有权决定哪一方须负责支付仲裁费用以及支付仲裁费用的理据。一般的命令是败诉一方,除了要负担己方的费用外,还要为胜诉一方支付仲裁费用。

 

仲裁的费用,包括各方在仲裁期间衍生的所有费用(专业费用,例如是邀请专家证人提供专业意见)、仲裁员费用、以及向仲裁机构支付的费用等。

 

当仲裁庭就仲裁费用作出裁决,涉及的各方可以进行协商,以决定向胜诉一方支付多少仲裁费用。如果未能达成协议,获赔仲裁费用的一方,可以将所有开支证明,提交法庭作「讼费评定」。在讼费评定的过程中,法庭的官员会评估仲裁费用,任何不恰当或不合理的费用,都不会获批。

 

在香港作出的仲裁裁决,只要获得法庭批准,就可以如法庭判决一样的执行。申请执行仲裁裁决许可,要以书面方式向法庭递交,申请时毋须通知反对执行裁决的一方。

 

仲裁庭有权下令作出补偿,就如香港法院下令作出补偿一样,不过,仲裁庭无权向仲裁协议以外的任何一方下达命令。

 

仲裁裁决可以因为某些原因而作废,原因包括:没有司法管辖权、仲裁庭的宪制不恰当、或仲裁程序与涉及的各方所订立的仲裁协议不相符。涉及的各方亦可以表明,以违法及法律理据上的问题为理由,对仲裁裁决提出挑战。任何要求搁置执行裁决的申请,必须在收到裁决当日起的三个月内提出,逾期就不能申请搁置执行裁决。

 

规则及程序

 

在香港,仲裁是受《仲裁条例》(香港法例第341章)(现行条例)所规管。第341章条例是根据分割政体(即根据联合国贸易法委员会国际商事仲裁示范法的国际政体)及本地政体为基础。

 

联合国贸易法委员会国际商事仲裁示范法,是联合国国际贸易法委员会在1985年公布,为各国提供样板,建立一个有效而广泛的仲裁政体,令本地法院只能有限度介入仲裁过程。全球多个司法管辖地区,都采用了(或改写为适用的)示范法。

 

联合国国际贸易法委员会,在1976年采用了贸易法委员会仲裁规则,为国际商业仲裁,提供一套程序规则,而该套程序规则一般适合国际商业仲裁使用。这些仲裁规则在2010年曾作出修改。

 

在1990年,香港采用了联合国贸易法委员会国际商事仲裁示范法,去处理国际仲裁。

 

《仲裁条例》(香港法例第609章)在2010年11月颁布,并在2011年6月1日起生效(新条例),以取代旧有条例(即香港法例第341章《仲裁条例》)。

 

新条例考虑到仲裁被介定为「国际仲裁」或「本地仲裁」,因而作出一个统一系统,提供不同的正规仲裁程序。在新条例下,香港所有仲裁,不再有国际仲裁或本地仲裁之分,全部都可采用联合国贸易法委员会国际商事仲裁示范法。

 

根据新条例附表三第1条(过渡条文),旧有条例适用于所有在2011年6月1日之前已展开的仲裁,或在2011年6月1日之前进行的所有相关程序。新条例适用于所有在2011年6月1日当日或之后展开的仲裁,或在2011年6月1日当日或之后进行的所有相关程序。

 

「机构」仲裁与「特别」仲裁

 

机构仲裁是由一间仲裁机构处理,例如香港国际仲裁中心(HKIAC)、国际商会(ICC)、中国国际经济贸易仲裁委员会(CIETAC)或伦敦国际仲裁院(LCIA)。机构仲裁会根据个别仲裁机构所设计的仲裁规则去进行仲裁。

 

特别仲裁的安排仅涉及仲裁员与涉及的各方。他们可以采用现成的仲裁规则(例如是联合国贸易法委员会仲裁规则),或者由涉及的各方制定自己的规则。

 

仲裁庭使用的法律

 

仲裁庭会使用管辖该份合约的法律,去判断该合约申索的争议点问题。(有关程序上的事宜,请参考上文:规则及程序)

 

如果合约是由外国法律辖管,而仲裁庭并没有相关法律制度的专家,各方便需要传召专家证人作供,以确立该外国法律系统的相关原则,作仲裁之用。

 

如果合约未有订明由哪个法律系统管辖,换句话说,合约并无订明必须要由某个法律系统去管辖(香港法例、中国法例、英国法例等),仲裁庭就需要决定,应该使用哪个法律系统去管辖有关合约。仲裁庭通常会使用与合约关系最密切的司法管辖区之法律。如果合约订明在香港进行仲裁,这就可能是一个原因,让仲裁庭决定使用香港法例,作为合约的管辖法律。

 

仲裁庭会以香港的法律规则,去决定以什么法律管辖涉及的侵权申索。这可能会导致侵权申索与合约本身,由不同的法律管辖。

 

所以,一旦需要仲裁时,为了确保合约由特定法律以及在特定地区进行仲裁,最好先在合约中列明有关条文。

 

香港仲裁司学会提供与香港仲裁有关的详尽资料:http://www.hkiac.org

修订日期: