Skip to main content

5. Joint ventures

What are joint ventures?

Joint ventures may refer to various types of cooperative arrangement between undertakings including, joint production arrangements, joint buying arrangements, joint selling, distribution and marketing arrangements, and joint R&D ventures. The activities of a joint venture may be carried out through a legal entity separate from the parties to the joint venture or by some or all parties to the joint venture.

 

[Source: Commission’s Guideline on the First Conduct Rule Para 6.90]

 

The following are common forms of joint ventures:

a. Joint production

b. Joint tendering

c. Joint selling, distribution and marketing

 

a. Joint production

Joint production agreements take a number of forms. They may provide that production is carried out by one party or by two or more parties or the parties may establish a separate legal entity for the purposes of the joint production.

 

Where a joint production agreement allows parties to produce a product that they would not, objectively, be able to produce alone, the agreement will not likely have the object or effect of harming competition.

 

[Source: Commission’s Guideline on the First Conduct Rule Para 6.95 & 6.98]

 

Joint production agreements may sometimes have the effect of harming competition, for example where:

  1. Producing jointly leads to reduced product variety in the markets where the joint venture partners competed prior to forming the joint venture;
  2. Producing jointly results in higher prices for customers;
  3. Producing jointly results in an increase in the parties’ commonality of costs with the result that the parties can more easily coordinate market prices; or
  4. The agreement leads to an exchange of competitively sensitive information beyond that which is strictly necessary for producing jointly.

 

[Source: Commission’s Guideline on the First Conduct Rule Para 6.99]

 

Hypothetical example

Two leading suppliers of an industrial chemical product in Hong Kong, Company A and Company B, decide to close their existing independent production facilities, and open a more efficient joint plant solely for use by A and B. Company A and B do not agree on any terms beyond those strictly limited to the running of the new facility. There are only two other competitors, C and D in the market who arerunning their plants at full capacity. Company B already has an existing joint venture with C. Costs of production are a significant proportion of the variable costs of the companies active in the market. The market has not seen any recent entry.

 

In assessing whether the creation of the joint production facility would give rise to concerns under the First Conduct Rule, the Commission would consider:

 

  1. the existing market structure and the state of competition in the market;
  2. whether the agreement enhances the commonality of costs of Companies A and B; and
  3. whether competition (on price) would likely be softened in the market as a result of the joint venture.

 

[Source: Commission’s Guideline on the First Conduct Rule Hypothetical Example 20]

 

b. Joint tendering

Joint tendering generally involves undertakings cooperating openly with a view to making a joint bid.

 

[Source: Commission’s Guideline on the First Conduct Rule Para 6.101]

 

Circumstances in which joint tendering is unlikely to raise competition concerns:

 

A joint tender can be of benefit to competition if it allows companies to participate in biddings when otherwise they would not be able to make a stand-alone bid, or if the joint tender enables companies to submit more competitive bids. Joint tendering is less likely to give rise to competition concerns when the undertakings involved pool their complementary skills or different specialties.

 

Circumstances in which joint tendering is likely to raise competition concerns:

 

It might be of concern if the parties, which could have made individual bids, decided to submit a joint tender, as such joint tendering may reduce the number of potential bidders which in turn is more likely to harm competition if there is already a limited number of potential bidders in a concentrated market.

 

Joint tendering will not generally be considered by the Commission to have the object of harming competition, rather such arrangements will be assessed for their actual or likely effects on competition in the relevant market.

 

[Source: Commission’s Guideline on the First Conduct Rule Paras 6.101 & 6.103-6.106]

 

Hypothetical example

A tender is announced for the renovation of a high-rise office building in Mong Kok. The tender requires bidders to have significant manpower to be able to complete the project in the given timeframe and also sets out a minimum financial resource threshold for the bidder – to ensure the chosen construction company has sufficient liquidity throughout the project.

 

Two small construction companies with a limited market share in Hong Kong, TungBuild and ChungConstruct, considered independently bidding for the tender. However, neither company had sufficient manpower resources or financial capital to satisfy the tender specifications and would thus individually be excluded from bidding.

 

Tung and Chung therefore submitted a joint bid which allowed them to combine their resources to deliver the required project. The bid makes it clear they are submitting a joint tender, which transpires to be one of the lower prices submitted. Six other bids were submitted by larger construction companies who in the past five years have won the vast majority of the tenders for similar sized projects.

 

Assuming the creation of the TungBuild/ChungConstruct joint venture does not amount to a merger the arrangement may be assessed under the First Conduct Rule. In that regard, the joint venture does not have the object of harming competition and appears unlikely to give rise to anti-competitive effects. The fact that Tung and Chung could not individually bid for the project is particularly relevant here – they are not in fact competitors for the project in issue. The collaboration results in enhanced choice for the party organising the tender and a more competitive bidding process overall.

 

Nonetheless, Tung and Chung would need to be careful that any competitively sensitive information they share in submitting the bid and in carrying out the joint venture is used strictly for the purposes of the joint venture and that the joint venture is not used as a vehicle for exchanging commercial information on their usual prices and costs.

 

[Source: Commission’s Guideline on the First Conduct Rule Hypothetical Example 21]

 

c. Joint selling, distribution and marketing

This type of arrangements refers to a wide range of possible joint ventures between undertakings where they agree to jointly sell, distribute or market particular products, which are known as “sales-related joint ventures”. Such arrangements range from collaboration in respect of advertising only or the joint provision of after-sales service, through joint selling involving the joint determination of key commercial parameters including price.

 

Circumstance in which sales-related joint ventures is unlikely to raise competition concerns:

 

Sales-related joint ventures can be an effective way of facilitating market entry for a new product, particularly where SMEs collaborate with a view to selling a new product they could not market individually.

 

Circumstance in which sales-related joint ventures is likely to raise competition concerns:

 

However, sales-related joint ventures can give rise to concerns under the First Conduct Rule where they lead to price fixing, output limitation, market sharing or the exchange of competitively sensitive information between competitors.

 

[Source: Commission’s Guideline on the First Conduct Rule Paras 6.107-6.109]

 

Hypothetical example

Various leading European flower producers have previously sold their products to Hong Kong through individual contracts with distributors. To rationalise their resources and reduce air freight costs, they form Bloomport JV, a joint venture arrangement under which each party agrees to make all its export sales to Hong Kong through the Bloomport brand. Bloomport will also decide on the products and volumes to be sold, the choice of customers and the prices to be charged.

 

The Commission would consider that this type of arrangement has the object of harming competition. By coordinating key commercial decisions, the parties risk contravening the First Conduct Rule by engaging in price fixing and output restriction.

 

The Commission may also consider the arrangement to be Serious Anticompetitive Conduct under the Ordinance.

 

[Source: Commission’s Guideline on the First Conduct Rule Example 22]

Last revision date:

移至主內容

5. 聯營

甚麼是聯營?

「聯營」一詞可用於形容企業間不同類型的合作安排,相關例子包括:聯合生產安排、聯合採購安排、聯合銷售、分銷及市場推廣安排,和聯合研發計畫。聯營活動可由獨立於聯營各方的法律實體籌辦,或是由部分或全部參與聯營的企業籌辦。

 

[資料來源:競爭事務委員會《第一行為守則指引》第6.90段]

 

以下是聯營的常見形式:

 

a. 聯營生產

b. 聯合投標

c. 聯合銷售、分銷及市場推廣安排

 

a. 聯營生產

聯營生產有多種形式,可規定由其中一名、兩名或以上協議方從事生產,亦可由各方協議成立另外的法律實體來負責聯合生產。

 

若聯合生產協議令協議方得以生產憑各自的客觀條件不能獨力生產的產品,則該協議不大可能具有損害競爭的目的或效果。

 

[資料來源:競爭事務委員會《第一行為守則指引》第6.95及6.98段]

 

聯營生產協議有時可能會損害競爭,例如:

  1. 聯營各方在聯營前原本互相競爭,而其聯合生產將導致市場上產品種類減少;
  2. 聯合生產使顧客支付更高價格;
  3. 聯合生產令各方的成本共通性增加,導致聯營各方更容易協調市場價格;或
  4. 協議導致各方交換影響競爭的敏感資料,而有關的資料交換是超出進行聯合生產所需的範圍。

[資料來源:競爭事務委員會《第一行為守則指引》第6.99段]

 

虛構示例

A公司和B公司是香港兩間主要化工產品供應商,它們決定關閉各自現有的獨立生產設施,並且開設一間更有效率的聯營工廠以供A公司和B公司之用。A公司和B公司只就新設施的營運訂定條款,但未有議定營運新設施以外的任何條款。該市場僅有其他兩名競爭對手,C公司和D公司,而它們的工廠產量均已達到極限。B公司也已經與另一競爭對手建立了聯營企業。所有市場參與者的可變成本的一大部分均為生產成本。而近期亦未有任何新競爭對手進入該市場。在評估成立上述聯營工廠會否引起在第一行為守則下的問題時,競爭事務委員會將考慮:

 

  1. 現有市場結構,以及市場中的競爭狀態;
  2. 有關協議會否增加A公司和B公司的成本共通性;及
  3. 聯營會否減弱市場中的(價格)競爭。

[資料來源:競爭事務委員會《第一行為守則指引》虛構示例20]

 

b. 聯合投標

聯合投標一般涉及企業之間的公開合作以達成聯名投標。

 

[資料來源:競爭事務委員會《第一行為守則指引》第6.101段]

 

聯合招標不太可能引發競爭問題的情況:

 

當聯合投標令原本不能獨自競標的公司可以參與競標,或令競標的公司能夠提交更有競爭力的標書時,則該聯合投標對競爭有利。當涉及的公司共用其互補技術或不同專長時,聯合投標不大可能引起反競爭效果。

 

聯合招標可能引發競爭問題的情況:

 

各方原本可以獨自投標卻選擇聯合投標而導致潛在投標方的數量減少,特別是當市場集中、潛在投標方數量已經有限時,便更有可能產生損害競爭的效果。

 

聯合投標一般不會被競爭事務委員會視為具有損害競爭的目的,相反,競爭事務委員會將評估該安排對相關市場的競爭所造成的實際或可能的效果。

 

[資料來源:競爭事務委員會《第一行為守則指引》第6.101及6.103-6.106段]

 

虛構示例

旺角區一棟高層寫字樓的翻新工程進行招標。招標者要求投標者須具備大量人手,從而可在指定時間內完成項目。招標者亦對投標者的資金設有最低門檻--以確保被選中的建築公司在整個項目過程中擁有足夠的流動資金。

 

兩間香港市場佔有率有限的小型建築公司,TungBuild及ChungConstruct曾考慮獨立投標。但他們均不符合招標者對人手及資金的要求,因此無法獨自投標。

 

兩間公司於是提出一份聯合標書,令他們可以結合雙方資源以完成所要求的項目。標書清楚寫明其為聯合標書,其投標價格亦是所有標書中最低之一。除TungBuild及ChungConstruct外,亦有六間在過去五年贏得了大多數同類 項目的大型建築公司參加投標。

 

假設TungBuild與ChungConstruct的聯營不屬於合併,第一行為守則可適用於 該安排。該聯營並沒有損害競爭目的,亦不大可能會引致反競爭效果。TungBuild及ChungConstruct不能獨立投標是一個尤為相關的考慮因素--就該項目而言,他們並非競爭對手。其合作令招標方有更好的選擇,也令投標 過程更為激烈。

 

但是TungBuild及ChungConstruct需留意,他們在遞交標書及實行聯營時所分享任何能夠影響競爭的敏感資料,均只可用於聯營業務,此外,不可用聯營作為交換雙方一般價格和成本等商業資料的手段。

 

[資料來源:競爭事務委員會《第一行為守則指引》虛構示例21]

 

c. 聯合銷售、分銷及市場推廣安排

企業之間可透過種類繁多的聯營來協定共同銷售、分銷或於市場推廣特定產品(統稱「銷售相關聯營」)。從單純的廣告宣傳合作或聯合提供售後服務,到涉及共同決定含價格在內的重要商業參數的聯合銷售,均屬銷售相關聯營安排。

 

銷售相關聯營不太可能引發競爭問題的情況:

 

銷售相關聯營可以促進新產品進入市場,這對中小企透過合作來銷售其無法獨自行銷的新產品時尤為有效。

 

銷售相關聯營可能引發競爭問題的情況:

 

當銷售相關聯營導致合謀定價、限制產量、瓜分市場或交換影響競爭的敏感資料,則可能引起第一行為守則下的問題。

 

[資料來源:競爭事務委員會《第一行為守則指引》第6.107-6.109段]

 

虛構示例

若干歐洲花卉生產商過往分別與香港分銷商各自簽訂合約,銷售自己的產品。為整合資源、降低空運成本,各生產商組成名為Bloomport JV的聯營安排,並同意將各自對香港出口的全部花卉以Bloomport品牌銷售。Bloomport將決定銷售的產品種類、數量、顧客、以及價格。

 

競爭事務委員會認為,此類安排具有損害競爭目的。透過協調重要商業決定,各方可能因合謀定價及限制產量而違反第一行為守則。

 

競爭事務委員會也可能認為該安排屬《競爭條例》下的嚴重反競爭行為。

 

[資料來源:競爭事務委員會《第一行為守則指引》虛構示例22]

修訂日期: