Skip to main content

1. Cartels

What are cartels?

Cartels are agreements between competitors to cooperate rather than compete to win customers by means such as price fixing, restricting output, bid rigging and market sharing.

In which market conditions are cartels susceptible to appear?

Some markets are particularly vulnerable to cartels especially where:

  1. The competitors are few in number, making it easy for them to collude;
  2. The relevant products/services are homogeneous in nature;
  3. There are considerable barriers to entry for potential competitors to overcome; and
  4. There is excess capacity on the supply side of a market.

How might cartels harm competition in the market?

Cartels would increase prices while lowering quality and innovation incentives – harming both consumers and the economy.

[Source: Competition Commission’s website – Competition and Anti-competitive Practices > Cartels]

What are the main types of cartel agreements that competitors should not enter into?

  • Fixing the price: Competitors should not agree with one another to fix prices, either directly, for example by agreeing upon a specified price, the amount or percentage by which prices are to be increased or a price range, or indirectly by agreeing not to charge less than any other price in the market or agreeing not to quote a price without consulting other competitors. An agreement concerning price may still amount to price fixing even if it does not entirely eliminate all price competition. [Hypothetical example 1]
  • Sharing the market: Competitors should not agree to divide up a market in order to be sheltered from competition in their allotted portion of the market. For example, competitors should not allocate the production of certain products, sales territories or customer groups, or otherwise agree not to expand into a market where another party to the agreement is already active. [Hypothetical example 2]
  • Restricting output: Competitors should not agree to fix, maintain, control, prevent, limit or eliminate the production or supply of products, for example with the use of production or sales quota limiting the volume or type of products available in the market. [Hypothetical example 3]
  • Bid-rigging: In the context of tenders actual and potential competitors should not manipulate the tender results by agreeing not to compete with one another, for example through allocating who is to bid or not to bid, or coordinating on each other’s bidding terms with a view to influencing who the winner would be. [Hypothetical example 4]

[Source: Commission’s Guideline on the First Conduct Rule Paras 6.11-6.13, 6.17, 6.21-6.28]

Hypothetical example 1

A number of new car dealers in Hong Kong meet to discuss how to avoid supposed consumer confusion on the range of car-financing options available in the market. The dealers agree to minimum interest rates on car finance packages.

 

They also note that many dealers regularly offer heavy discounts from the list price prior to Chinese New Year. To prevent “too much” undercutting in the market, they agree to a discount of no more than 5% off the list price.

 

These agreements relating to the elements of price would be viewed by the Commission as having the object of harming competition. By collectively setting a minimum interest rate and fixing the maximum discount, particular elements of price competition have been agreed by the competitors when these matters should be determined independently.

 

As the conduct has the object of harming competition, it is not necessary for the Commission to consider whether the conduct has or is likely to cause harmful effects on competition in the relevant market.

 

The Commission would also consider the conduct in the example to be Serious Anti-competitive Conduct under the Ordinance.

 

[Source: Commission’s Guideline on the First Conduct Rule Hypothetical Example 5]

Hypothetical example 2

A group of coach companies supplying services to residents at particular residential buildings meet to discuss how they operate their services across Hong Kong. To enable them all to make what they consider to be a reasonable profit, they decide to allocate between themselves a number of buildings based on the total projected number of passengers. They agree not to provide services or to pursue customers which have been allocated to another company. They also agree not to launch new services without consulting each other.

 

This agreement not to compete with one another for defined customers has the object of harming competition. The agreement removes a choice of supplier with the likely result of higher prices for the services concerned.

 

Having concluded that the agreement has the object of harming competition, the Commission is not required to show that the conduct has or is likely to have harmful effects in the market.

 

[Source: Commission’s Guideline on the First Conduct Rule Hypothetical Example 6]

Hypothetical example 3

Local salted fish producers have faced financial difficulty for a number of years as supply in Hong Kong has increasingly outstripped demand. Given this “crisis” affecting the industry, the main producers meet to discuss how to restructure the sector with a view to rationalising what they consider to be a situation of “overcapacity”. A scheme is agreed which encourages certain producers to withdraw from the production of salted fish for a period and to refocus their commercial activities on other areas of business. Those producers who continue to operate their salted fish businesses make certain compensation payments to the producers leaving the market and, as a further expression of solidarity, agree to cover the costs of decommissioning relevant production lines.

 

The Commission would view this scheme as having the object of harming competition. In a competitive market, the producers would be expected to make production and capacity decisions independently. It is not for the market participants in a particular market collectively to agree what the market outcome should be.

 

The Commission would also regard the conduct as Serious Anti-competitive Conduct within the meaning of the Ordinance.

 

[Source: Commission’s Guideline on the First Conduct Rule Hypothetical Example 7]

Hypothetical example 4

A large company with a number of offices across Hong Kong decides to outsource its catering services. The company invites four major competing caterers to bid for the new contract. The sales representatives of the four caterers meet, by chance, at a charity football match and discuss the tender. The sales representatives agree as follows: the first caterer will decline to submit a bid while the second will withdraw a previously-submitted bid; the third caterer will submit a higher priced “cover bid”. The company calling for the bids was not aware of these arrangements and proceeded to award the contract to the fourth caterer which, on the face of it, submitted the most “competitive” bid.

 

The Commission will consider this arrangement as having the object of harming competition. The caterers have sought to artificially pre-determine the outcome of the tender. In addition to reducing customer choice, the bid-rigging results in inflated prices for the outsourced catering services.

 

The Commission would also regard the conduct in the example to be Serious Anticompetitive Conduct under the Ordinance.

 

[Source: Commission’s Guideline on the First Conduct Rule Hypothetical Example 8]

Last revision date:

移至主內容

1. 合謀行為

何謂合謀行為?

合謀行為是指競爭對手之間並非透過競爭去贏取客戶,而是透過合謀定價、限制產量、圍標及瓜分市場之類的做法協議合作。

哪些市場條件容易出現合謀行爲?

某些市場或會較易受到合謀行爲的影響,原因是:

  1. 該市場的競爭對手很少,導致容易出現合謀;
  2. 有關的產品或服務性質相似度高;
  3. 潛在競爭對手進入市場的障礙較大;以及
  4. 供應過剩。

合謀行為如何損害市場競爭?

合謀行爲推高價格、降低質素及打擊創新,不僅損害消費者利益,亦危害經濟。

[資料來源:競爭事務委員會網站 - 競爭及反競爭行為 > 合謀行爲]

企業不可作出甚麼行為?

  • 合謀定價: 競爭者之間不可直接或間接合謀定價。直接的例子如議定某特定價格、價格上調的金額或加幅,或價格範圍。間接的例子如索價不低於市場上的任何其他價格或報價前徵詢競爭對手的意見。涉及價格的協議即使沒有完全消除所有價格競爭,仍可構成合謀定價。 [虛構示例1]
  • 瓜分市場: 競爭者不得同意將市場分割,以便在各自獲分配的市場中不用面對競爭。例如,競爭者之間不得特定產品的生產上互相競爭、不在與對方協定的地域內銷售、不向對方的顧客銷售、或不將業務擴展至協議另一方已活躍的市場。 [虛構示例2]
  • 限制產量: 競爭者不得同意訂定、維持、控制、防止、限制或消除產品的生產或供應,例如企業之間達成生產或銷售限額安排,以限制市場上出售某種產品數量或類別。 [虛構示例3]
  • 圍標: 在投標的情況下,實際和潛在的競爭者不應通過同意不相互競爭來操縱投標結果,例如通過分配誰來投標或不投標,或協調彼此的投標條款以影響獲勝者誰屬。 [虛構示例4]

[資料來源:競爭事務委員會《第一行為守則指引》第6.11-6.13, 6.17, 6.21及6.28段]

虛構示例1

本港幾個新車車行開會討論如何避免消費者對市場上多種汽車融資方案感到困惑。這些車行借此協定汽車融資方案的最低息率。他們亦注意到,許多車行經常在中國農曆新年前,在其標價基礎上提供高額折扣。為了杜絕市場上「太多」割價銷售,他們亦協定折扣不得超過標價的5%。

 

競爭事務委員會認為,上述與價格元素有關的協議具有損害競爭目的。透過共同制定最低息率並訂定最高折扣,上述競爭對手協定了本應由各車行自行決定的價格競爭元素。

 

由於上述行為具有損害競爭目的,競爭事務委員會毋須考查該等行為是否已經或相當可能於相關市場內產生損害競爭的效果。

 

此外,競爭事務委員會認為本示例中的行為屬於《競爭條例》下的嚴重反競爭行為。

 

[資料來源:競爭事務委員會《第一行為守則指引》虛構示例5]

虛構示例2

幾間為特定屋苑提供服務的巴士公司開會討論如何在香港經營其服務。為了令大家都能賺取他們認為合理的利潤,他們決定根據預計乘客總人數分配各自服務的屋苑。各公司同意不在其他公司獲分配的屋苑提供服務或招徠顧客,同時不在未經徵詢其他公司意見的情況下推出新服務。

 

上述就指定顧客互不競爭的協議具有損害競爭目的。該協議減少了消費者可以選擇的供應商,並相當可能令消費者為有關服務支付更高費用。

 

競爭事務委員會得出有關協議具有損害競爭目的的結論後,毋須證明該等行為已經或相當可能於相關市場內產生損害競爭的效果。

 

此協議不大可能滿足《競爭條例》附表1第1條的豁除條件。雖然協議可以合理調整線路和避免服務重疊為抗辯理由,但由於該安排消除了有關各方之間的所有競爭,因此不大可能滿足附表1第1條的豁除條件。上述示例中的行為將被競爭事務委員會視為《競爭條例》下的嚴重反競爭行為。

 

[資料來源:競爭事務委員會《第一行為守則指引》虛構示例6]

虛構示例3

隨著香港的鹹魚供應量日益超過需求,本地鹹魚生產商多年來面對經營困難。鑒於行業受「危機」所影響,主要生產商們開會討論如何重組行業,以合理調整其認為「產能過剩」的情況。他們協定了一項計劃,鼓勵個別生產商終止鹹魚的生產,並將其商業活動的重心轉移到其他業務領域上。為顯示行業團結,繼續從事鹹魚業務的生產商對退市生產商作出賠償,並支付關閉相關生產線的費用。

 

競爭事務委員會將視上述計劃具有損害競爭目的。在有競爭的市場中,生產商應就該生產計劃和產能獨立地作出決定,而並非由市場參與者來共同協定市場競爭的結果。

 

競爭事務委員會還認為,上述行為屬於《競爭條例》所指的嚴重反競爭行為。

 

[資料來源:競爭事務委員會《第一行為守則指引》虛構示例7]

虛構示例4

在香港擁有多家辦事處的一間大型公司決定外判其膳食供應服務。公司邀請了四家主要膳食供應商來競投新合約。四家膳食供應商的銷售代表在一次足球慈善賽上偶遇,並討論了這次投標。他們協定以下事項:第一家膳食供應商將拒絕參與競投,第二家則撤回先前已提交的標書,而第三家將作出叫價更高的掩護式投標。招標公司並未察覺這些安排,便將合約授予看似提交了「最具競爭力」標書的第四家膳食供應商。

 

競爭事務委員會認為,此安排具有損害競爭目的。上述膳食供應商已預定了投標的結果。除減少顧客的選擇外,圍標亦會導致外判膳食供應服務的價格飆升。

 

上述示例中的行為將被競爭事務委員會視為《競爭條例》下的嚴重反競爭行為。

 

[資料來源:競爭事務委員會《第一行為守則指引》虛構示例8]

修訂日期: