Skip to main content

2. Anti-competitive tying and bundling

What are tying and bundling?

Tying occurs when a supplier makes the sale of one product (the tying product) conditional upon the purchase another product (the tied product), and thus the tying product is not sold separately. Bundling refers to selling a package of two or more products at a discounted price.

 

[Source: Commission’s Guideline on the Second Conduct Rule Para 5.8]

 

Tying and bundling are common commercial arrangements that generally do not harm competition and may often result in:

  1. Lower production costs;
  2. Reduced transaction and information costs; and
  3. Increased convenience and variety for consumers.

[Source: Commission’s Guideline on the Second Conduct Rule Para 5.9]

 

When does tying and bundling raise competition concerns?

An undertaking with a substantial degree of market power in the tying market can use tying to harm competition in the tied market. By doing so it may reduce the number of potential buyers that are available for its competitors in the tied market. This may in turn cause its competitors to be less effective as competitors or to exit the tied market.

 

Similarly for bundling, the undertaking with substantial market power in the market of one bundled product can use bundling to harm the other competitors in the markets for the other products that are also part of the same bundle.

 

Tying and bundling will be assessed on an effect basis. An anti-competitive effect may arise in particular when the conduct is used to force the other competitors out of the market.

 

[Source: Commission’s Guideline on the Second Conduct Rule Paras 5.10-5.11]

 

Hypothetical example

The leading supplier of medical devices to Hong Kong hospitals and clinics stipulates in its sales contracts that the consumable medical products used with the devices must be purchased exclusively from it. These contractual requirements significantly limit the customer base available to competing manufacturers of consumables. If the medical devices supplier has a substantial degree of market power in the relevant medical devices markets, the contractual arrangements (which cause harm to competition in the market for consumable medical products) may amount to an abusive tie in contravention of the Second Conduct Rule.

 

The analysis might be similar with respect to the tying of a service. For example, if the medical devices supplier imposed a condition requiring customers to use the supplier (or an affiliate of the supplier) for the purposes of obtaining maintenance and repair services for the devices, this could raise concerns under the Second Conduct Rule.

 

[Source: Commission’s Guideline on the Second Conduct Rule Example 6]

Last revision date:

移至主內容

2. 搭售及捆綁銷售

甚麼是搭售及捆綁銷售?

倘若供應商將顧客購買一種產品(被搭售產品)作為向其銷售另一種產品(搭售產品)的先決條件,即構成搭售(即搭售產品並不單獨銷售)。捆綁是指由兩件或以上產品組成的套裝以折扣價出售。

 

[資料來源:競爭事務委員會《第二行為守則指引》第5.8段]

 

搭售和捆綁銷售是常見的商業安排,通常不會損害競爭,可能導致:

  1. 降低生產成本;
  2. 降低交易及資訊成本;及
  3. 為消費者提供更多選擇及方便。

[資料來源:競爭事務委員會《第二行為守則指引》第5.9段]

 

搭售及捆綁銷售何時會引發競爭上的問題?

在搭售市場內具有相當程度市場權勢的企業,可憑藉搭售來損害被搭售市場內的競爭對手。透過搭售,該企業可減少被搭售市場內的競爭對手可以贏得的潛在買家數量 — 即是封鎖了被搭售市場。此行為可能削弱那些競爭對手的競爭力,甚至迫使那些競爭對手退出被搭售市場。

 

相似地,就捆綁銷售而言,在組成有關套裝的其中一種產品的市場內具有相當程度市場權勢的企業,可憑藉捆綁銷售來損害有關套裝其他組成產品的市場內的競爭對手。

 

搭售及捆綁行為會以其效果評估。特別是當該行為迫使其他競爭者退出市場時,反競爭效果便可能產生。

 

[資料來源:競爭事務委員會《第二行為守則指引》第5.10-5.11段]

 

虛構示例

為本港醫院及診所提供醫療器械的主要供應商在其銷售合約中規定,顧客必須向其獨家購買這些醫療器械所使用的消耗品。此合約要求嚴重限制了與該供應商競爭的獨立消耗品製造商可獲得的顧客群。假如該供應商在有關醫療器械市場具有相當程度的市場權勢,損害消耗品市場內競爭的合約安排便可能構成濫用市場權勢的搭售,從而違反第二行為守則。

 

類似的分析亦適用於搭售服務。例如,若該醫療器材供應商要求顧客必須使用該供應商(或該供應商的附屬公司)的醫療器材保養和維修服務,此做法便可能引起第二行為守則的關注。

 

[資料來源:競爭事務委員會《第二行為守則指引》虛構示例6]

修訂日期: