Skip to main content

3. Monitoring the attorney

Despite that the Enduring Powers of Attorney Ordinance (Cap.501 of the Laws of Hong Kong) has prescribed certain statutory duties and liabilities in relation to the attorney, one would certainly ask: “But who is going to monitor the attorney’s acts, as once the attorney starts exercising his/her authority, it means that the donor no longer has the mental capacity to control the attorney?  Even if the attorney abuses his/her authority, what can other people do?”

 

Section 11(1) of the Enduring Powers of Attorney Ordinance (Cap.501 of the Laws of Hong Kong) provides as follows:

 

The court may on the application of an interested party- 
(a)     require the attorney under an enduring power to produce records and accounts and make an order for their auditing;
(b)     revoke an enduring power or vary an enduring power; or
(c)     if satisfied that the interests of the donor of an enduring power so require it, remove the attorney.

 

An attorney’s acts can therefore be monitored by an 'interested party".  While the Enduring Powers of Attorney Ordinance (Cap.501 of the Laws of Hong Kong) does not define who can be qualified as an “interested party”, it is believed that the Court will not hesitate to allow a wide interpretation in cases where a mentally incapacitated person’s interest is involved.

 

Once an EPA is registered with the High Court, the law also allows any person to inspect it and obtain copies of it (section 9(5)(b) of the Enduring Powers of Attorney Ordinance (Cap.501 of the Laws of Hong Kong)).  It will therefore be quite easy for any interested party to ascertain an attorney’s scope of authority under the EPA and decide whether it is necessary to make an application under section 11(1) . 

Last revision date:

移至主內容

3.監察受權人

儘管《持久授權書條例》(香港法例第501章)已訂明某些和受權人有關的法定責任和法律責任,但總會有人問:「誰來監察受權人的行為呢?一旦受權人開始行使其職權,即表示授權人在精神上已無行為能力去控制受權人。那麼,即使受權人濫用其職權,其他人可以做什麼?」

 

《持久授權書條例》(香港法例第501章第11(1)條指出:

 

法院可應任何有利害關係的一方的申請─ 
(a)  規定在一項持久授權下的受權人出示紀錄及帳目,並作出飭令審計該等紀錄及帳目的命令; 
(b)  撤銷持久授權或更改持久授權;或 
(c) 在其信納為一項持久授權的授權人的利益而有此需要的情況下,將受權人免任。

 

因此,受權人的行為將受到有利害關係的一方監察。雖然《持久授權書條例》(香港法例第501章) 並無界定誰可符合資格成為「有利害關係的一方」,但在涉及精神上無行為能力人士的案件當中,相信法院會毫不猶豫地允許對該詞作出較廣泛的解釋。

 

一旦持久授權書已在高等法院註冊,法律還允許任何人視察並獲取其副本(《持久授權書條例》(香港法例第501章第9(5)(b)條)。因此,有利害關係的一方將很容易知悉受權人根據持久授權書而獲得的權限,並決定是否有必要根據第11(1)條提出申請。

修訂日期: