Skip to main content

E. Taxation, accounting and Government funding

 

Taxation

 

The main taxation items in Hong Kong include profits tax, salaries tax, property tax, stamp duty and customs duties (click the link for information about duties connected with the import of goods).

 

Profits tax is charged for each year of assessment on persons or companies that carry on a trade, profession or business in Hong Kong on assessable profits that have been generated in or derived from Hong Kong for that year. More information about taxation for sole proprietorships and partnerships can be found in the Taxation topic.

 

If you are running a limited company, you should clarify with your auditor or accountant on any taxation matters. Under the Companies Ordinance (Cap.622) (“the CO”), every limited company must appoint an auditor for each financial year of the company (section 394 of the CO) to handle the taxation matters of the company (section 436).

 

If you have business dealings in Hong Kong and Mainland China, you should note the special policies in relation to the avoidance of double taxation on income. The “Arrangement Between the Mainland of China and the HKSAR for the Avoidance of Double Taxation and the Prevention of Fiscal Evasion with respect to Taxes on Income” tries to allocate the right to tax between the two jurisdictions on a reasonable basis to avoid double taxation of income. More details about this Arrangement can be found on the website of Inland Revenue Department.

 

 

Record-keeping system

 

Regardless of whether you are running a small business or a big corporation, you are obliged to keep proper records of all documents that are related to the business, including without limitation the following:

 

  • Transaction records: order forms, cash register records, delivery dockets, invoices, credit notes, cheque stubs and deposit slips.
  • Accounting records: petty cash, accounts receivable, accounts payable.
  • Employment records: copies of identity cards and resumes (these records must be strictly controlled for protection of personal data privacy).
  • Stock records: stock location, levels, suppliers and delivery information, cost price, selling price and possible substitute products.
  • Supplier records: reliability, quality, service, delivery times and price of potential and existing suppliers.
  • Customer records: contact information, credit terms, arranged payment terms and special delivery instructions.

 

If you have further questions on taxation or record-keeping matters, you should seek advice from a professional accountant or tax lawyer.

 

Government funding

 

According to Government statistics, there are about 340,000 small and medium enterprises (SMEs) in Hong Kong, which constitute over 98% of the business establishments and employ about 45% of the workforce in the private sector. In order to uphold the development of SMEs and to enhance their competitiveness, the Trade and Industry Department has set up a few fund schemes, including:

 

  • The SME Export Marketing Fund (EMF): The EMF is a fund which focuses primarily on marketing/promotion activities. It strives to provide financial assistance to SMEs for participation in export promotion activities, hoping to encourage them to expand their markets outside Hong Kong. For details, please refer to this website: https://www.smefund.tid.gov.hk/english/emf/emf_objective.html

 

  • The Trade and Industrial Organisation Support Fund (TSF): The TSF provides financial support to non-profit-distributing organisations to implement projects which aim at enhancing the competitiveness of non-listed Hong Kong enterprises in general or in specific sectors. While the TSF does not provide direct subsidy to a SME, the beneficiaries will utilize the fund to conduct and prepare seminars, workshops, conferences, exhibitions, research studies, award schemes, codes of best practices, databases, service centres, support facilities and technology demonstrations, etc. which ultimately will benefit SMEs in Hong Kong. For details, please refer to this website: https://www.smefund.tid.gov.hk/english/tsf/tsf_objective.html

 

The SME Loan Guarantee Scheme (SGS): The SGS is not exactly a fund scheme. Instead of providing fund/loan directly to a SME, the Government will act as a guarantor to provide loan guarantee to SMEs to help them secure loans from participating lending institutions for acquiring business installations and equipment or meeting working capital needs of general business uses. For details, please refer to this website: https://www.smefund.tid.gov.hk/english/sgs/sgs_objective.html

Last revision date:

跳转到主要内容

E. 税务及会计事宜及政府资助

课税

 

香港主要税项包括利得税、薪俸税、物业税、印花税和关税(与入口货物有关的税款可查阅『入口货物』部分)。

 

利得税是指按每一个课税年度,向任何在香港经营行业、专业或业务而获得应评税利润的人士或公司所收取的税项。有关独资经营和合伙业务课税详情,可参阅另一题目 – 税务

 

如阁下经营的是有限公司,阁下应就课税事宜请教核数师或会计师。按《公司条例》,每间公司须于公司周年大会上委任一名核数师(《公司条例》第394条),处理公司税务事宜(第436条)。

 

如阁下在香港及中国内地均有业务运作,应留意有关对避免双重征收入息税和防止漏税的政策。《内地和香港特别行政区关于对所得避免双重征税和防止偷漏税的安排》尝试有关此安排的详情可浏览税务局的网页

 

纪录备存

 

不论阁下是经营小规模的公司或是大企业,阁下亦有责任妥善存备一切与业务有关的文件,包括:

 

  • 交易纪录:订单、收银机纪录、送货摘要、发票、贷款通知书、票根、存款单收据。
  • 会计纪录:零用金、应收账款、应付账款。
  • 雇佣纪录:雇员身份证及履历的副本(为着个人资料私稳,这类资料应严格控制)。
  • 存货纪录:存货地点、存货水平、供应和送递资料、成本、售价和可能代替的货品。
  • 供应商纪录:可靠性、质素、服务、送货次数、现有或潜在供应商的货物价格。
  • 顾客纪录:联络资料、赊账条件、预先安排的付款条件和送货的特别指示。

 

如阁下对课税或存备纪录事宜有进一步疑问,应请教专业的会计师或税务律师。

 

政府资助

 

根据政府统计,香港约有34万间中小型企业,占商业机构的98%以上,雇用了私营企业约45%的工作力。为了维持中小企业的发展及提高竞争力,工业贸易署已设立一些基金计划,包括:

 

  • 中小企业市场推广基金:中小企业市场推广基金是一个主要专注于行销/促销活动的基金。它致力为中小企业参与出口推广活动提供经济援助,希望鼓励他们拓展香港以外的市场。有关详情,请参阅此网页:https://www.smefund.tid.gov.hk/tc_chi/emf/emf_objective.html

 

  • 工商机构支援基金:工商机构支援基金向非分配利润组织提供财务支援,以推行提升香港非上市企业在整体或个别行业方面竞争力的项目。虽然该基金不向中小企业直接提供资助,但受惠者会利用基金举办及筹备研讨会、工作坊、会议、展览会、调查研究、奖励计划、最佳营运守则、数据库、服务中心、支援设施和科技应用示范等,最终使本港的中小企业受惠。有关详情,请参阅此网页:https://www.smefund.tid.gov.hk/tc_chi/tsf/tsf_objective.html

 

  • 中小企业信贷保证计划:中小企业信贷保证计划其实并非一个资助计划。政府不会向中小企直接提供资助,而会以担保人的身份向中小企提供担保,以协助它们向参与计划的贷款机构取得贷款,用作购置营运设备及器材,或一般业务用途的营运资金。有关详情,请参阅此网页:https://www.smefund.tid.gov.hk/tc_chi/sgs/sgs_objective.html
修订日期: