Skip to main content

2. How can I set up a sole proprietorship, partnership or limited company? Do I have to obtain a business registration certificate from the Inland Revenue Department and register with the Companies Registry before commencement of business?

Business Registration

 

The Business Registration Ordinance (Cap. 310 of the Laws of Hong Kong) requires every person who runs a business in Hong Kong, whether it is a sole proprietorship, partnership or limited company, to register the business at the Inland Revenue Department within one month from the date of commencement of business, and to display a valid Business Registration Certificate at the place of business. For more information about the application procedure, the relevant charges and a sample application form and certificate, please visit the website of the Inland Revenue Department.

 

Registration of a limited partnership with the Companies Registry

 

Besides registering with the Inland Revenue Department, a limited partnership must be registered with the Companies Registry. A Certificate of Registration of a Limited Partnership will be issued by the Companies Registry. Please visit the website of the Companies Registry for more information about the application for registration procedure.

 

Notification to the Hong Kong Law Society in respect of limited liability partnership

 

In addition to registering with the Inland Revenue Department, a law firm must notify the Hong Kong Law Society in a prescribed form at least seven days prior to commencement as a limited liability partnership (“LLP”) and submit to the Law Society a commencement notification with more detailed particulars within 14 days of commencement. Please visit the website of the Hong Kong Law Society for the notification procedure and more information on how to become an LLP.

 

Incorporation of a limited company

 

In addition to obtaining a business registration certificate, persons who intend to set up a limited company under the CO have to submit its incorporation form and articles of association.

 

Any one or more persons may form a company by signing the articles of association of the company intended to be formed and delivering to the Registrar of Companies (the “Registrar”) for registration a copy of the articles in the same form as those signed by the founder members together with a completed incorporation form (section 67 of the CO).

 

For more information about how to register or incorporate a limited company, please visit the website of the Companies Registry or call its hotline at 3142 2822.

 

It is important to note that a limited company only comes into existence on the date on which its Certificate of Incorporation is issued by the Companies Registry.

 

Rather than setting up a new company, you can purchase a ready-made company limited by shares (also called a "shelf company") from a company formation agent. After paying the prescribed service charge, the agent will arrange to transfer the shares of the selected company to you (and any other shareholders who may be involved) and handle the relevant documentation. You are recommended to consult a certified accountant or qualified solicitor before you buy a shelf company.

Last revision date:

跳转到主要内容

2. 如何成立独资经营、合伙业务、有限公司?是否需要在税务局取得商业登记证及在公司注册处办手续才可开业?

商业登记

 

根据《商业登记条例》(香港法例第310章),凡在香港经营业务的人士,不论是独资经营、合伙业务或有限公司,均须在开业的一个月内向税务局登记,并将有效的商业登记证展示在营业地点之内。有关商业登记证的申请程序、费用、申请表和登记证样本等资料,可浏览税务局网页

 

在公司注册处注册有限责任合伙

 

除了在税务局注册外,有限责任合伙业务亦必须在公司注册处注册。公司注册处会发出有关有限责任合伙业务的注册证书。有关申请注册程序的详情,可浏览公司注册处的网站

 

就有限法律责任合伙通知香港律师会

 

除在税务局注册外,律师事务所必须在开始成为有限法律责任合伙企业前至少7天以规定表格通知香港律师会,并在启业后14天内向律师会提交一份有关详情的通知书。请浏览香港律师会网站,以便了解更多有关如何成为有限法律责任合伙的资料。

 

成立有限公司

 

有意依据《公司条例》成立公司的人士,除了要取得商业登记证外,须同时提交法团成立表格及公司的组织章程细则。

 

任何个人或一组人如欲设立公司,可于拟定的公司组织章程细则上签署,并将已签署的章程细则连同填好的法团成立表格,送交公司注册处处长,进行登记。(《公司条例第67条

 

有关如何设立或登记有限公司的详情,请浏览公司注册处网页,或致电3142 2822。

 

请注意,有限公司获得公司注册处发出公司注册证书发出后,才算是正式成立。

 

除自行成立有限公司之外,阁下亦可透过提供成立公司服务的顾问公司,去购买「现成」公司。在支付相关费用后,顾问公司便会将被选中的现成公司的股权转让给阁下,并协助办理相关手续。在收购现成公司前,请先咨询注册会计师或律师的意见。

修订日期: