Skip to main content

3. Instead of setting up a new business, can I acquire an on-going business? What do I have to bear in mind if I intend to do that?

Starting a small business can be a challenging and exciting experience. However, rather than building a business from ground zero, you may consider purchasing an existing and on-going one.

 

The advantages of acquiring an existing and on-going business are obvious. Just to name a few: the product or service is already on the market, the brand is probably well established, startup time can be significantly reduced, it is probably much easier to obtain financing, access to customer base is secured, etc. The purchaser just has to evaluate how much it is willing to pay for the business and find a seller who is willing to sell at a mutually agreed price.

 

The most straight forward way to acquire an on-going business is to acquire all the shares in the company which runs that business. The company’s entire rights, obligations and liabilities will be assumed by the purchaser. The purchaser of course has to conduct due diligence investigation on the subject company to make sure that it is buying what it really wants. The parties should then work on an agreement for sale and purchase of shares to stipulate items like price, completion date, warranties and representations by the seller, indemnity for tax liabilities, limitation of seller’s liability, etc. Depending on the size and complexity of operation of the subject company, the entire sale and purchase process can be very complicated and could take months to complete. Since this is not an easy task to go through the entire sale and purchase procedure without professional assistance, the purchaser and seller will be taking considerable risks if they do not engage professionals like accountant and lawyer in the process.

 

In cases where the purchaser only wants to acquire certain business(es) from a company instead of the entire company, the purchaser will be able to pick and choose which assets and liabilities it wishes to purchase. For example, a company may operate a chain of restaurants with different trade names; and a purchaser may be interested to acquire only one of the restaurants. In such circumstances, the parties will be dealing only with the sale and purchase of the business of that particular restaurant. This represents a transfer of business without any transfer of shares in the holding company. Apart from any agreements that the seller and the purchaser may make between themselves, the transaction will also be subject to the Transfer of Business (Protection of Creditors) Ordinance (Cap.49). This Ordinance provides that in a transfer of business, the purchaser will become liable for all the debts and obligations in relation to the carrying of the business unless the parties follow certain procedures set down by the Ordinance. The most significant procedure is that the parties have to publish a Notice of Transfer of Business in the Government Gazette not more than 4 months and not less than one month before the date the transfer takes effect. The Notice shall become complete upon the expiration of one month after its publication. The purchaser will cease to be liable for all obligations in relation to the business unless a creditor institutes proceedings against the seller in respect of any liability arising out of the business before the Notice becomes complete.

 

If the business is run by a sole proprietor or a partnership, the concept of share-acquisition will be irrelevant. In case of sale and purchase of such a business, the scenario is similar to that discussed in the last paragraph for acquisition of business. The parties should also strictly follow the procedures set down by the Transfer of Business (Protection of Creditors) Ordinance (Cap.49).

Last revision date:

跳转到主要内容

3. 除了创立一盘新的生意,我可以购买已在运作中的业务吗?如果我打算那样做,要注意甚么呢?

创办小型企业可能是一个富有挑战性和令人兴奋的体验。但是阁下不妨考虑不要从零开始建立业务,而是购买现有并已在运作中的业务。

 

收购现有并已在运作中的业务,优势是显而易见的。仅举几例:产品或服务已经在市场上,品牌可能已成熟,启动时间可以显著缩短,可能更容易获得融资,已有稳健的客户群等。买方只需评估它愿意为收购业务付出多少,并找到一个愿意以双方同意的价格出售业务的卖家。

 

收购现有业务最直接的方式是收购经营该业务的公司的所有股份。公司的全部权利、义务和责任将由买方承担。当然,买方必须对目标公司进行尽职调查,以确保它购买的业务确属其真正所需。然后,双方应达成股份买卖协议,以厘定股份价格、成交日期、卖方的担保和陈述、纳税弥偿责任、卖方责任上限等事项。视乎目标公司的规模和运作复杂性,整个买卖过程可能非常复杂需要数个月才能完成。如果没有专业协助,要完成整个买卖过程并非易事。因此,如果买方和卖方不委聘会计师和律师等专业人员参与工作,他们将承担相当大的风险。

 

如果买方只想收购某公司的个别业务,而不是整个间公司,则买方可以只选择它希望购买的资产和负债。例如,某公司可能正在经营一系列不同商号的餐厅;买家可能只有兴趣购买其中一家餐厅。在这种情况下,双方将只处理该特定餐厅的业务的买卖。这是在不转让控股公司股份的情况下进行业务转让。除卖方与买方之间可能达成的任何协议外,该宗交易还须受《业务转让(债权人保障)条例(第49章)的约束。该条例规定,在转让业务时,除非双方遵守该条例所订的某些程序,否则买方须承担与经营该业务有关的所有债务及责任。最重要的程序是,双方必须在业务转让前不超过4个月及不少于1个月在政府《宪报》刊登转让业务通告。在发布后1个月,该通告即算完成。买方将不再对与该业务有关的一切责任负责,除非有债权人在通告完成前就该业务所产生的任何责任对卖方提起诉讼。

 

如果有关的业务是由独资经营者或合伙人经营,则股份收购的概念就并不适用了。在出售和购买此类业务的时候,情况将与上一段讨论有关收购生意的情况类似。当事人也应该严格遵守《业务转让(债权人保障)条例》(第49章)规定的程序。

修订日期: