Skip to main content

2. Are there any legal stipulations about human resources management that apply to running a business in Hong Kong?

Some of the important legal matters concerning human resources management are laid out in the following answer.

 

Labour law

 

The common law (case law) and various statutes (such as the Employment Ordinance and the Minimum Wage Ordinance) give employees the following rights and obligations:

 

  • Implied rights concerning rest days, holidays, maternity leave, paternity leave, wage protection, dismissal with notice or wages in lieu of notice, severance and long service payment. Implied rights are rights that are granted to employees even if they are not expressly stated in their contract of employment (please refer to the Employment Disputes topic for further details).
  • The obligation to take reasonable care when performing their job duties, to be honest to their company, to be obedient to relevant job commands and to maintain the confidentiality of the company's restricted information.
  •  

Mandatory Provident Fund and Occupational Retirement Schemes

 

All employers are required to join a mandatory provident fund or occupational retirement scheme for their employees under the Mandatory Provident Fund Schemes Ordinance and the Occupational Retirement Schemes Ordinance. Employers must make contributions to the funds in accordance with the relevant rules. More information is available from the website of the Mandatory Provident Fund Schemes Authority.

 

Anti-discrimination policy

 

Care should be taken when offering employment and formulating human resources policy to avoid violation of the provisions of the Sex Discrimination Ordinance, the Disability Discrimination Ordinance, the Family Status Discrimination Ordinance and the Race Discrimination Ordinance. More information is available in the Anti-discrimination topic.

 

Vicarious liability

 

Employers may be liable for the negligence of their employees. For example, if an employee negligently damages a customer's property, then the employer may be liable to pay compensation to that customer. Appropriate insurance should be taken out to cover these risks.

 

Protective industrial and occupational safety law

 

The Factories and Industrial Undertakings Ordinance gives the Commissioner for Labour the authority to make detailed industrial safety rules. It is a criminal offence for an employer to terminate, threaten to terminate or in any way discriminate against an employee who speaks out against the working, health and safety conditions in their factory. Non-industrial employers also have a general common law duty to provide a safe working environment for their employees. The Occupational Safety and Health Ordinance and the Occupational Safety and Health Regulation set out requirements to protect the safety and health of employees in workplaces (both industrial and non-industrial). Employers must also insure against their potential liability for their employees under the Employees' Compensation Ordinance (a no-fault accident compensation scheme that is financed by a compulsory levy imposed on all employers in Hong Kong, but that does not cover independent contractors or outworkers). More information is available in the Employment Disputes topic.

 

Insurance

 

Employers must take out business insurance policies that cover employees compensation, fire and all risks (or general liability), product liability, professional indemnity, motor vehicles (third-party risks) and group healthcare, etc.

Last revision date:

移至主內容

2. 在業務的人力資源管理方面,有甚麼法規須留意?

以下是一些與人力資源有關的重要法律事宜:

 

勞工法例

 

普通法(即案例)及其他法例(例如《僱傭條例》和《最低工資條例》)賦予僱員以下權利和責任:

 

  • 僱員的隱含權利包括休假、假期、產假、終止僱傭合約所需的通知期或通知金、遣散費及長期服務金等。隱含權利是一些即使沒有收納在僱傭合約內,卻已賦予僱員的權利,詳情可參閱勞資糾紛
  • 僱員的責任包括:工作時應採取應有謹慎的態度、對公司忠誠、服從工作指令、不會洩漏公司機密資料。

 

強制性公積金和職業退休計劃

 

在《強制性公積金計劃條例》和《職業退休計劃條例》規定下,所有僱主須參與強積金計劃和職業退休計劃,並按條例規定為僱員作出供款,詳情可瀏覽強制性公積金計劃管理局網頁

 

反歧視政策

 

在制訂人力資源政策或作出招聘時應留意,以免違反《性別歧視條例》、《殘疾歧視條例》、《家庭崗位歧視條例》和《種族歧視條例》的相關條款,詳情可參閱另一題目 – 反歧視

 

替代責任

 

僱主需因為僱員工作上的疏忽而負上法律責任。例如,若僱員因疏忽損壞了顧客的財物,僱主便有責任作出賠償。故此,僱主應購買合適的保險,承擔這方面的風險。

 

工業保障和職業安全法例

 

工廠及工業經營條例》授權勞工處處長制訂詳盡的工業安全法則。僱主若因僱員投訴工作環境或工廠的安全問題,而終止、威脅終止該僱員的僱傭合約,或在任何方面歧視該僱員,便屬違法。從事非工業性質業務的僱主,在普通法原則下,有責任為僱員提供一個安全的工作環境。《僱員補償條例》規定僱主須對僱員的工作安危投保(為僱員因工受傷提供一個不論過失的金錢補償制度,所有僱主必須作強制性供款,但這補償制度不包括獨立承辦商、外發工),有關詳情可參閱另一題目 – 勞資糾紛

 

保險

 

僱主必須投保商業保險,有關保險應包括僱員賠償、火險或其他風險保障(或稱綜合責任保障)、產品責任保障、專業彌償、車輛(第三者責任保障)、醫療保障等。

修訂日期: