Skip to main content

2. Other than the essential elements as mentioned on question 1, what are the other important matters that the parties should note when making a contract?

Privity of contract

 

Under common law, a third party cannot sue or be sued regarding a contract, and only the parties to a contract can rely on the contract terms to take legal action. However, there are some exceptions to this principle, such as:

 

  • If the contract is signed by an agent or representative on behalf of one of the parties, then that agent (who is a third party) may also bear the liability if he or she acted fraudulently or signed the contract without authorisation.
  • It is common in insurance contracts to subrogate the insured person's rights to the insurance company. For example, if someone injures you and the insurance company subsequently pays your claim for the injury, then that insurance company (as a third party) can take over your legal rights to claim against the wrongdoer.

 

The Contracts (Rights of Third Parties) Ordinance (Cap.623 of the Laws of Hong Kong) which came into force on 1 January 2016 has reformed the common law doctrine of privity of contract. It enables a third party to enforce a term of a contract where the contract expressly provides that the third party may do so or the term purports to confer a benefit on the third party. This Ordinance applies to all Hong Kong law-governed contracts entered into on or after 1 January 2016 save for certain types of contracts (such as contracts of employment) which are expressly excluded. If the contracting parties do not want to grant rights to third parties, they should include a clause into the contract to disable the operation of this Ordinance.

 

Express or implied terms of a contract

 

Generally speaking, the contracting parties are free to agree on the terms of a contract (unless such terms are illegal). However, some of the terms may not be expressly stated on the contract. These terms, known as "implied terms", are terms that have not been orally mentioned or written down by the parties, but that are still incorporated into the contract according to the law or previous dealings between the parties.

 

Liquidated damages (compensation)

 

Liquidated damages are a genuine pre-estimation of the loss or damage that would result if a certain event were to happen during the performance of the contract. A contract term that specifies liquidated damages binds the parties, whereas a "penalty clause" in the contract (i.e. when there is no genuine pre-estimation and the amount of compensation is arbitrary stated) is not binding.

 

Legality

 

Certain contracts are illegal under the law. Here are some examples: a contract to insure the life of a person in whom the insurance buyer has no insurable interest, contracts to commit a crime, contracts to corrupt public life (to bribe government officials), contracts to defraud the Inland Revenue Department, and contracts to oust the jurisdiction of the courts.

 

Genuine consent of the parties

 

There must be no threats of physical danger in the drawing up of a contract (i.e. a party cannot be forced by the other party to enter into a contract). Otherwise the contract may be voidable, in which the party who needs the protection can seek to avoid the contractual liability.

 

Discharge of contract

 

With regard to the performance of contractual duties, the law requires the parties to perform all of their obligations under the relevant contract. However, a contract may be discharged by mutual agreement, performance of contractual duties, breach or frustration (the occurrence of certain unforeseen events that make a contract impossible to perform).

 

(Note: This answer highlights only a few of the important issues. There may be other information that you need to know before signing a contract, in which case a lawyer is in a better position to help you.)

 

Formalities of a contract

 

As discussed above, a contract can be made orally or in writing. However, in reality, it is always difficult, if not impossible, to prove the content or even the existence of an oral contract. It is therefore always preferable to prepare and sign a business contract in writing.

 

In terms of business contract, you may have come across the terms “agreement” and “deed”. So what are the differences between them? When to use an “agreement” and when to use a “deed”?

 

By way of an “agreement”, the parties of a contract agree to do somethings which the other party desires. As discussed above under the section of “Consideration”, for a contract to be legally binding, each party has to provide and obtain benefit (i.e. the consideration) from the transaction. This sounds very typical in the business world. But what about some atypical cases where a party is prepared to give something to another party without getting any reward?

 

Now this is where the “deed” comes into place. In the section on “Consideration”, we have briefly mentioned using a “deed” to construe a promise of a gift. Here are some more examples of deeds:

  • Deed of Covenant: A covenant means a promise; and in many cases, a promise does not bear any consideration element. For example, a Deed of Covenant is usually used to evidence a donor’s promise to donate a certain sum of money regularly to a charity over a fixed period of time.
  • Deed of Trust: By way of a trust, a trustee will be delegated with the responsibility to hold and control property for another person. The trustee may or may not receive any remuneration (i.e. consideration) for this. The document evidencing the trust should therefore be done by way of a “deed”.
  • Deed of Guarantee: As discussed above in the section on “Personal Guarantee” and “Bank Guarantee”, it is not difficult to discern that a guarantor typically does not gain any benefit from entering into a guarantee. That is to say, there is no consideration for the guarantor to enter into the guarantee. It is therefore common for a guarantee to be executed in the form of a “deed”.

 

Further, the deed is often described as a legal instrument in writing which transfers the title of an asset to a new owner. For example an “Agreement for Sale and Purchase” signifies the parties’ readiness to buy and sell; but it does not confirm the actual act of buying and selling. The parties subsequently have to enter into a “Deed of Assignment” to actually transfer the title of the subject asset to the buyer.

 

You may also be interested in the following differences between an “agreement” and a “deed”:

  • An “agreement” can be made either orally or in writing; a “deed” must be made in writing.
  • An “agreement” in writing has to be signed by the parties; a “deed” must be signed, sealed and delivered. (Note: The act “signed” is obvious and probably does not require any explanation. The act “sealed” originally involves the use of sealing wax, but in modern days it only requires fixing a small red label onto the document. For delivered, the parties simply has to show an intention to be bound by the deed; in the case of companies, the law presumes that a document, if executed pursuant to certain procedures, is to be presumed to be delivered as a deed upon its execution (section 128 of the Companies Ordinance (Cap.622)).

 

Contemporary law has also dispensed with some of the above formalities regarding the execution of a deed. The law now only imposes a “face value requirement”. In other words, if a document describes itself as a deed, it is a deed. For example, the words “executed as a deed” in the document would suffice to make it a deed.

 

It may not be easy for a business person without legal training to decide whether to use an agreement or a deed to establish a contract. We strongly suggested that you should consult a lawyer before entering into any important contract, be it an agreement or a deed.

Last revision date:

移至主內容

2. 除了問題1提到的基本要素外,立約方在簽訂合同時還要注意哪些重要事項呢?

合同的私密性

 

根據普通法,第三方不能就合同提起訴訟或被起訴,只有立約方才能依賴合同的條款採取法律行動。但是,此原則也有一些例外情況,例如:

  • 如果合同是由代理人或代表代表一方簽署,則該代理人(雖然是第三方)如果行為欺詐或未經授權簽署合同,也可能需要以承擔賠償責任。
  • 保險合同中通常容許被保險人的權利由保險公司代位。例如,如果有人傷害了您,保險公司隨後支付了您的索賠,那麼該保險公司(作為第三方)可以接管您的合法權利,向施加傷害者提出索賠。

 

2016年1月1日生效的《合約(第三者權利)條例》(香港法例第623章)改革了普通法有關合同的私密性的原則。該條例確定,如果合同內的條款明確指明第三方可以執行該條款,或旨在賦予第三方利益,則第三方有權執行合同內的該條款。該條例適用於2016年1月1日或之後訂立的所有香港受法律規管的合同,但明文排除了某些類型的合約(例如僱傭合約)。如果締約各方不想給予第三方權利,應在合約中加入一項條款,以取消該條例的運作。

 

合約中的明示或隱含條款

 

一般來說,締約各方可以自由就合約的條款達成協議(除非該等條款是非法的)。但是,合約內可能藏有一些並未明確寫明,但的確存在於合約內的條款。即使立約方並未口頭提及或寫下來,這些被稱為「隱含條款」的條款,仍會根據法律或雙方之間的先前交易被納入合同內。

 

算定損害賠償

 

算定損害賠償是指,如果在履行合約期間發生某一事件而真實預先估計將造成的損失或損害。指定算定損害賠償的合約條款對立約方具有約束力。但合約中的「懲罰條款」(即在沒有真正的預估值且賠償數額是任意陳述的情況)則不具約束力。

 

合法性

 

某類合約在法律下屬于非法,以下是一些例子:保障某人生命的保險合約,但投保人並無可保權益、有關干犯罪行的合約、有關行賄公職人員的合約 ( 行賄政府官員 ) 、有關欺騙稅務局的合約,及有關剝奪法庭的司法管轄權合約

 

立約各方的真正同意

 

在草擬合約時,不得有涉及人身危險的威脅(即一方不能強迫另一方訂立合同)。否則,合約可能無效,需要受到保護的一方也可以尋求避免合同責任。

 

解除合約

 

關於履行合約的責任,法律要求當事人履行有關合約規定的所有責任。雖然如此,合約可以通過互相協定、履行合同義務、違約或合約受挫(發生某些不可預見的事件,致使合約無法履行)而被解除。

 

(注意:此答案僅突出顯示了幾個重要問題。在簽訂合約之前,您可能還需要瞭解其他資訊。在這種情況下,最好還是徵詢律師的意見。)

 

合約的形式

 

如上所述,合同可以口頭或書面訂定。然而,在現實中,證明口頭合同的內容,甚至它存在,總是困難重重。因此,最好還是以書面形式準備和簽訂生意上的合約。

 

在生意上的合約方面,您可能見過「協議」和「契約」這些字眼。那麼,它們之間的區別是甚麼呢?何時使用「協議」?何時使用「契約」?

 

通過「協議」,立約一方同意做出另一方希望獲取的事情。如在前文「代價」一節中所述,為使合約具有法律約束力,立約各方必須提供並從交易中獲得利益(即代價)。這無疑是典型商業世界的運作模式。但在一些非典型的情況又如何呢?如果立約一方願意在不獲得任何回報的情況下向另一方贈送某些東西呢?

 

這就是「契約」登場的地方了。在關於「代價」的一節中,我們曾簡要地提到使用「契約」來詮釋有關饋贈禮物的承諾。以下是一些「契約」的例子:

  • 承諾契約:承諾就是答應做一件事;在許多情況下,答應做事都不涉及任何「代價」的因素。例如,承諾契約經常被用來證明捐贈者承諾在固定時期內定期向慈善機構捐贈一定數額的捐款。
  • 信託契約:藉著信託,受託人將接受委託負責為他人持有和控制財產。受託人可因此獲得報酬(即代價),也可能不獲任何報酬。因此,證明信託的文件應當以「契約」的方式訂定。
  • 擔保契約:如前文關於「個人擔保」和「銀行擔保」的一節所述,不難看出擔保人通常不會從擔保中獲得任何好處。也就是說,擔保人是在沒有獲得任何「代價」的情況下提供擔保。因此,通常都會以「契約」的形式來簽訂擔保條款。

 

此外,契約經常被描述為一份把資產所有權轉讓給新擁有人的書面法律文書。例如,「買賣協議」表示立約方願意進行買賣,但它不會確認買賣的實際行為。立約方隨後必須訂立「轉讓契據」,以把目標資產的實際權益轉讓給買方。

 

您也可能對「協議」和「契約」的以下差異感興趣:

  • 「協議」可以藉口頭或書面方式達成;「契約」則必須以書面形式訂定。
  • 立約各方必須簽署書面「協議」;但「契約」必須簽署、蓋印及交付。(注:「簽署」行為顯而易見,大概不需要任何解釋。「蓋印」原本是指在蠟上蓋章,但在現代,只需要在文件上貼上一個小的紅色標籤,已等同「蓋印」。至於「交付」,立約方只需表明受契約約束的意圖;就公司而言,法律假定文件一經按某些指定程序簽署,須推定為作為契據而交付(《公司條例》(第622章)第128條))。

 

當代法律還免除了部份有關訂立契約的形式。法律現在只規定「面值要求」,即如果一份文件被描述為契約,那它就是契約了。例如,文件中「作為契約簽訂」一詞就足以使其成為契約。

 

沒有受過法律培訓的商人要決定是否使用協議或契約來訂定合約,大概並不容易。我們強烈建議,您在簽訂任何重要合約(不論是協議還是契約)之前諮詢律師的意見。

修訂日期: