II. Hong Kong permanent residence

The legal status of permanent resident of Hong Kong may be acquired by any person, regardless of whether they have Chinese nationality.

Article 24 of the Hong Kong Basic Law and paragraph 2 of schedule 1 to the Immigration Ordinance set out in concise terms for who is entitled to Hong Kong permanent resident status. In summary, they state that the following persons are the permanent residents of Hong Kong:

  1. Chinese nationals who were born in Hong Kong.
  2. Chinese nationals who were born outside Hong Kong but who are lawfully permitted to live in Hong Kong and have done so for 7 years.
  3. Chinese nationals who were born outside Hong Kong to a parent (father or mother) who, at the time of birth, was already a Hong Kong permanent resident.
  4. Foreigners (persons not of Chinese nationality) who have lived in Hong Kong lawfully for 7 years and have taken Hong Kong as their permanent place of residence (*note).
  5. Foreigners under the age of 21 who were born in Hong Kong to a parent who is a permanent resident as defined in category (iv). On reaching the age of 21, these persons must establish their own permanent resident status under one of the above categories, otherwise they will cease to be permanent residents of Hong Kong.
  6. Persons who had no right of abode anywhere other than Hong Kong before the establishment of the Hong Kong SAR.

(*Note: In practice, the Immigration Department may impose additional requirements on foreigners who apply for Hong Kong permanent resident status under article 24 of the Basic Law, including the proof that they have paid all taxes that have been levied on them.)

In addition, the Immigration Ordinance contains other provisions that relate to the entitlement to Hong Kong permanent resident status. For example, paragraph 6 of schedule 1 of the Immigration Ordinance provides for the continuation of the permanent resident status that was enjoyed by certain non-Chinese persons before the transfer of sovereignty of Hong Kong in 1997. Section 2(4) of the Ordinance excludes certain occupational categories, such as foreign domestic helpers and Mainland government officials, from acquiring Hong Kong permanent resident status.

Generally speaking, no one is entitled to exercise the right of permanent residence until their status as such has been verified by the Immigration Department. For residents of Mainland China, this is achieved by applying for a "certificate of entitlement" (issued by the Immigration Department of the Hong Kong SAR). Other nationalities can apply at the Immigration Department for verification of eligibility for a permanent identity card. More details are given in the following sections.

  1. Do I have to be present in Hong Kong for 7 years continuously before I can acquire the status of permanent resident?
  2. What legal rights do Hong Kong permanent residents enjoy?
  3. Can Hong Kong permanent resident status be lost?
  4. Can former residents return to Hong Kong and renew their status as Hong Kong permanent residents?
  5. Are all children who are born in Hong Kong automatically entitled to right of abode?
  6. Are non-Chinese persons or ethnic minorities entitled to the same rights as Chinese persons in Hong Kong?
Top

移至主內容

II. 香港永久性居民身分

任何人士均有機會獲得香港永久性居民的法定地位,不管他們是否擁有中國國籍

 

基本法第24條和《入境條例附表1第2段扼要地列出甚麼人可以享有香港永久性居民地位。總括來說,它們列明以下人士是香港永久性居民:

 

  1. 在香港出生的中國公民(中國籍人士)。
  2. 在香港境外出生而合法地獲准在香港居住,並已在港居留七年的中國公民。
  3. 在香港境外出生,而其雙親之一(父親或母親)在其出生時已是香港永久性居民的中國公民。
  4. 已合法居住在香港七年,並以香港作為其永久居住地的外籍人士(非中國籍人士)(* 註)。
  5. 在香港出生時,其雙親之一已按照類別 (iv) 獲界定為香港永久性居民,而現時未滿二十一歲之外籍青少年。這類人士於年滿二十一歲時,便須按照上述其中一個類別去確立本身的永久性居民地位,否則將不再是香港永久性居民。
  6. 在香港特區於一九九七年七月一日成立前,除香港外並無擁有其他地區之居留權的人士。

(* 註:實際上,香港特區政府入境事務處對於根據《基本法第24條申請成為香港永久性居民的外籍人士,可實施附加規定,包括要求他們證明經已清繳所有應付的稅項。)

 

《入境條例》包含其他關於香港永久性居民地位的條文。舉例,《入境條例附表1第6段列明,若干在香港於一九九七年主權回歸中國前已享有永久性居民地位的非中國籍人士,在主權回歸後其香港永久性居民地位得以延續。另外,《入境條例第2(4)條規定某些職業類別的人士,例如是外籍家庭傭工和大陸政府官員,均不獲香港永久性居民地位。

 

一般而言,任何人士在其身分獲得入境事務處核證前,均不可行使香港永久性居民身分的權利。至於中國大陸居民,如欲獲得香港居留權,則可申辦由入境事務處發出的「居留權證明書」。其他國籍人士亦可向入境事務處申請,核實其獲取香港永久性居民身分證的資格。有關上述事項的細節,請參閱本題目的各部分。

修訂日期: