Skip to main content

b. Revocation under other circumstances

Apart from a revocation initiated by the donor, there are other circumstances which may render an EPA automatically revoked.  They are:

 

  • An EPA will be revoked on the bankruptcy of the attorney.  The basic idea is: if the attorney cannot manage his/her own financial affairs, how can he/she be expected to be capable of managing the donor’s? The automatic revocation under this circumstance is therefore very reasonable.
  • An EPA will be revoked if the Court makes an order under section 11(1)(b) or section 11(1)(c) of the Enduring Powers of Attorney Ordinance (Cap.501 of the Laws of Hong Kong) to revoke an EPA or to remove the attorney.  These sections will be triggered when the Court finds an EPA defective, or when it finds the attorney acting in breach of his duties.  Under either of these circumstances, the revocation of the subject EPA is a logical consequence.
  • An EPA will be revoked on the appointment of a committee under Part II of the Mental Health Ordinance(Cap.136 of the Laws of Hong Kong).  As discussed above, an EPA deals only with financial matters.  It does not touch on decisions regarding the personal affairs of the donor, for example medical treatment and residence.  On the other hand, Part II of the Mental Health Ordinance (Cap.136 of the Laws of Hong Kong) gives an appointed committee the wide power to do “all such things in relation to the property and affairs of the mentally incapacitated person” (section 11).  The appointment of a committee will therefore annul the necessity of the attorney under an EPA.
  • An EPA will be revoked on the death of the donor.  The underlying essence of an EPA is the maintenance and management of the donor’s assets while he/she is mentally incapacitated.  If the donor passes away, the attorney no longer has the duties nor the legal authority to deal with those assets which will be governed by the donor’s Will (if any) or the laws on intestacy.    
  • An EPA will be revoked on the death of the attorney.  The attorney’s death is fatal to the operation of an EPA because an EPA represents the donor’s personal trust and confidence in the attorney.  When the object of such trust and confidence has passed away, the EPA naturally has to cease to be operative.

An EPA may also be revoked on any grounds on which a power of attorney is revoked under common law (see section 13(g) of the Enduring Powers of Attorney Ordinance (Cap.501 of the Laws of Hong Kong)).  The usual and recognized common law grounds on which a power of attorney will be revoked are: the death, lunacy and bankruptcy of the donor.

 

  • The consequence of a donor’s death is discussed above.
  • As for lunacy, if we equate lunacy with mental incapacity, lunacy will actually activate an EPA instead of revoking it.  However, if a committee is appointed under Part II of the Mental Health Ordinance (Cap.136 of the Laws of Hong Kong) to take care of the property and affairs of a donor who has become mentally incapacitated, it would have the effect of automatically revoking that donor's EPA. 
  • If the donor is bankrupt, his/her assets will be taken up by the liquidator for the satisfaction of his/her debts.  An EPA made by the donor will therefore be meaningless and should be revoked.
Last revision date:

跳转到主要内容

b. 其他情况下撤销持久授权

除授权人主动撤销持久授权书外,下列情况可致使持久授权书自动撤销:

 

  • 若受权人被颁令破产,持久授权书将被自动撤销。基本概念是:如果受权人无法管理好自己的财政事务,如何能期望他/她可以有能力管理授权人的财政事务?因此,在此情况下,持久授权书被自动撤销,是非常合理的。
  • 若法院依据《持久授权书条例》(香港法例第501章第11(1)(b)条 或第11(1)(c)条命令撤销持久授权或将受权人免任,有关的持久授权书即已被撤销。该两条乃在法院发现一份持久授权书存在缺陷,或受权人违反其责任行事的情况下,才会发生。若出现上述情况,撤销有关持久授权书也是合理必然的结果。
  • 若受讬监管人依据《精神健康条例》(香港法例第136章第II部获得委任,持久授权书将被撤销。如上所述,持久授权书只涉及财务事项,并不触及授权人的个人事务方面之决定,例如医疗和居住。《精神健康条例》(香港法例第136章第II部则赋予广泛权力予获委任的受讬监管人:「如原讼法庭…授权该产业受讬监管人就该精神上无行为能力的人的财产及事务作出某些事情,则该产业受讬监管人可就该等财产及事务作出任何该等事情」(第11条)。因此,若受讬监管人已获任命,持久授权书下的受权人再无需要继续存在。
  • 在授权人死亡的情况下,持久授权书即被撤销。持久授权书的基础,是在授权人精神上无行为能力时维护和管理其资产。如果授权人去世,受权人就再没有职责或法律权力去处理这些资产。该等资产将受到授权人的遗嘱(如有)或有关无遗嘱者遗产的法律所规管。
  • 在受权人死亡的情况下,持久授权书即被撤销。持久授权书显示着授权人对受权人个人的信任和信心。因此,受权人去世对持久授权书的运作是致命的。既然被予以信任和信心的人已经离世,持久授权书自然不得不停止生效。

持久授权书亦可按普通法下撤销授权书的理据而被撤销(见《持久授权书条例》(香港法例第501章第13(g)条)。在普通法下,一般常见及获确认的撤销授权书理据,包括:授权人死亡、精神错乱及被颁令破产。

 

  • 授权人死亡对持久授权书的影响已于上述。
  • 精神错乱方面,如将精神上无行为能力视为等同精神错乱,则精神错乱会启动持久授权书,而非令持久授权书被撤销。不过,如受讬监管人依据《精神健康条例》(香港法例第136章第II部获得委任,为精神上失去行为能力的授权人处理其财产及事务,持久授权书就等同自动撤销。
  • 如授权人被颁令破产,其财产将会被清盘人接管,以偿还债务。持久授权书因此已变为无效用,应被撤销。
修订日期: