Skip to main content

1. Ms. A’s vehicle hit the rear of the vehicle in front.  The police officer who arrived at the scene found Ms. A unsteady on her feet, her voice slurred, and her breath smelt of alcohol.  Due to Ms. A’s condition as such, the police officer found that no screening breath test could be conducted at the scene.  Ms. A was later transferred to a hospital where she was still in an apparently drunken state.  A police officer then required her to provide a specimen of urine for a laboratory test.  Ms. A, seeing that no female police officer was present, refused to provide the urine specimen.  The police officer and the doctor at the hospital then sought Ms. A’s consent to provide a blood specimen; she again refused by saying: “I don’t trust your doctor and your equipment.  How do I know if your needle is contaminated with AIDS or not?  I won’t give blood to you.”  Eventually no breath, urine, nor blood specimen was taken.  Was Ms. A entitled to make the above refusals?

Ms. A’s refusal to provide the urine specimen is probably justified under those circumstances.  But given that she was being asked to provide her blood specimen in a hospital and in the presence of a medical practitioner, her refusal to provide a blood specimen probably would not stand up as a reasonable excuse.  In such circumstances, Ms. A would likely be liable for failing to provide a specimen under section 39C of the Road Traffic Ordinance (Cap.374 of the Laws of Hong Kong).

 

If a police officer suspects that Ms. A was under the influence of drugs (instead of drink), the police officer can require her to conduct preliminary drug test and to provide specimen of blood or urine for analysis.  As in the above hypothetical scenario relating to alcohol test, Ms. A’s refusal to provide blood specimen in a drug related case would probably render her liable for failing to provide a specimen under section 39S of the Road Traffic Ordinance (Cap.374 of the Laws of Hong Kong).

Last revision date:

移至主內容

1. A女士駕駛汽車時撞向前面的車輛。警務人員到達現場,發現A女士腳步虛浮,說話含糊不清,而且滿身酒氣。基於A女士這種情況,警員認為不能在現場為她進行呼氣測試。其後,A女士被帶到醫院,但她仍處於明顯醉酒的狀態。一名警員要求她提供尿液樣本作化驗。A女士發現當時沒有女性警務人員在場,遂拒絕提供尿液樣本。警員和醫院的醫生於是尋求A女士的同意,提取血液樣本。她再次拒絕,並說:「我不信任你們的醫生和設備。我怎麼知道你的針筒有沒有被愛滋病污染?我可不會把血給你。」A女士最終沒有提供任何呼氣、尿液或血液樣本。A女士上述的拒絕理由是否合理呢?

在當時的情況下,A女士拒絕提供尿液樣本的理由大概算是合理的。至於她拒絕提供血液樣本,鑑於當時她在醫院內,並有醫生在場,她拒絕提供血液樣本的辯解理由應該不足以構成合理解釋。在這種情況下,A女士理應要負上《道路交通條例》(香港法例第374章第39C條所述的刑責。

 

假如警務人員懷疑A女士當時正受到藥物(而非酒精)的影響,該警務人員可以要求A女士進行初步藥物測試及提供血液或尿液樣本作分析。正如上述涉及酒精測試的假設性情況一樣,A女士拒絕提供血液樣本作藥物測試,可致使她負上《道路交通條例》(香港法例第374章第39S條所述的刑責。

修訂日期: