Skip to main content

1. Mr. D, while driving, was stopped by the police for a random breath test.  Mr. D, who had just attended a rave party, was perfectly aware that the alcohol level in his body definitely exceeded the statutory prescribed limit.  In the hope of getting away with the charge of drink driving under section 39 or 39A of the Road Traffic Ordinance (Cap.374 of the Laws of Hong Kong), he made up an excuse: “The breath test tools may be infectious” and refused to take the screening breath test.  Would his plan work?

The answer here is yes and no at the same time.  Mr. D’s plan may enable him to get away with a drink driving charge.  However, he would at the same time contravene section 39B, which provides that it shall be an offence if any person “without reasonable excuse, fails to provide a specimen of breath when required”.  The excuse of being afraid of infection would not work unless there is medical evidence to prove that Mr. D is suffering from some kind of obsessive phobia.  As a matter of fact, the sentence for failing to provide a specimen of breath is equivalent to or even more serious than that for “driving a motor vehicle under the influence of drink or drugs” or “driving with alcohol concentration above prescribed limit”.  It is therefore really pointless for a driver to refuse to take a screening breath test.

 

Note that according to section 39B(5), the police officer must “warn a person at the time of requiring a specimen for a screening breath test…that a failure to provide it may render him liable to prosecution”.  A failure to give the warning would therefore invalidate a charge under section 39B.

 

If one refuses to provide the specimen, that of course constitutes failure. But the word “failure” here does not simply means refusal.  By section 39B(10), a person fails to provide the required breath specimen unless the specimen “is sufficient to enable the test to be carried out; and is provided in a way to enable the objective of the test to be satisfactorily achieved”.

Last revision date:

移至主內容

1. D先生在駕車時被警方截停,並被要求進行隨機抽樣呼氣測試。D先生剛參加完狂野派對,他清楚知道體內的酒精含量肯定超過法定限度。為逃避《道路交通條例》(香港法例第374章)第39或39A條的刑責,他編了一個藉口拒絕接受呼氣測試:「喂,那些呼氣測試工具可能含有傳染病細菌,我可不願做這種測試」。D先生這個做法行得通嗎?

這個問題的答案可以算「是」,也可以算「不是」。D先生的做法可能真的會使他避過被控酒後駕駛。不過,他同時亦違反了第39B條的規定;該條規定如「任何人無合理辯解…沒有提供呼氣樣本」,即屬犯罪。因此,除非D先生有醫生報告,證明他患有某種強迫症恐懼症,否則害怕受感染不足以構成合理辯解。事實上,沒有提供呼氣樣本一罪的刑罰,與「在酒類或藥物影響下駕駛」,或「在體內酒精濃度超過訂明限度的情況下駕駛」這兩項罪行的刑罰相比,是相同 /甚至更重。因此,駕駛者拒絕接受呼氣測試,根本毫無意義。

 

值得注意的是,根據第39B(5)條,警務人員「向任何人要求提供樣本以作檢查呼氣測試時,須警告該人沒有提供該樣本可遭檢控」。因此,若警務人員當時沒有發出這項警告,根據第39B條作出的檢控,便會因而失效。

 

拒絕提供樣本,當然已等於沒有提供。但「沒有」一詞並不單純指拒絕。根據第39B(10)條,駕駛者提供的樣本必須「足以使該測試得以進行;及其提供的方式能達到使該測試之目的而令人滿意」,否則即屬沒有提供樣本。

修訂日期: