Skip to main content

3. If the value of the deceased’s estate does not exceed $50,000, will the application procedure be different?

  1. With effect from 1 st April 2007 , under the delegated authority from the Secretary for Home Affairs, the Director of Home Affairs takes over from the Commissioner of Inland Revenue the provision of various services for estate beneficiaries through the establishment of an "Estate Beneficiaries Support Unit".

  2. If the value of the estate does not exceed $50,000 and the estate consisted wholly of cash, the person who intends to apply for the Grant of Probate or Letters of Administration ("the Applicant") can file an application form (HAEU5) and an affirmation/affidavit with the Home Affairs Department . This affirmation must declare that the total value of the estate of the deceased does not exceed $50,000 and the estate is wholly made up of money, and be filed together with a schedule in duplicate setting out the details of the estate. Details of the application procedure can be viewed from the  website of the Home Affairs Department (Estate Beneficiaries Support Services).

  3. If the affirmation/affidavit is in order, the Secretary for Home Affairs will issue a confirmation notice exhibiting a duplicate of the schedule of assets of the estate. The Applicant or other third parties dealing with the estate would then be exempt from the relevant statutory restrictions concerning the intermeddling of the estate (handle the estate without permission).

  4. If the banks agree to release the balance in the accounts to the Applicant upon issuance of the confirmation notice, it will not be necessary for the Applicant to proceed further with an application to the Probate Registry either for summary administration or for a Grant of Probate/Letters of Administration. Please note that the banks have the discretion to decide whether to release the balance in the bank accounts stated in the schedule annexed to the confirmation notice.

  5. If more assets are found later resulting in the value of the estate exceeding $50,000, the Applicant should apply for summary administration or a Grant of Probate/ Letters of Administration (as the case may be).
Last revision date:

移至主內容

3. 如果死者的遺產總值不超過50,000元,申請程序是否有所不同?

  1. 由 2007年4月1日起,民政事務總署署長獲民政事務局局長授權,成立「遺產受益人支援組」,從稅務局局長接手提供遺產受益人支援服務。

  2. 如果有關遺產總值不超過 50,000 元且全部是現金,打算申請授予遺囑認證書或遺產管理書的人士(申請人),可以將申請表格(HAEU5)以及一份誓詞 / 誓章呈交民政事務總署。該誓詞 / 誓章必須聲明死者的遺產總值不超過 50,000 元而且全部是現金,同時附上一式兩份的清單以列明遺產的詳情。有關申請手續的細節,請瀏覽民政事務總署遺產受益人支援服務之網頁

  3. 如果誓詞 / 誓章正確無誤,民政事務總署便會發出確認通知書,該通知書亦會夾附死者遺產的清單。申請人或其他處理遺產的第三者,便可獲得豁免而不受擅自處理遺產的條文約束。

  4. 當發出確認通知書後,如果銀行同意向申請人發放死者的戶口結餘金額,申請人便毋須再向高等法院之遺產承辦處申請以簡易方式管理遺產,或申請授予遺囑認證書 / 遺產管理書。但請留意,銀行可酌情決定是否把夾附於確認通知書內的清單所列明的戶口存款,付予遺囑執行人或有權優先管理死者遺產的人士。

  5. 如果其後發現更多遺產,而令總值超過 50,000 元,申請人應向遺產承辦處申請以 簡易方式管理遺產或申請授予遺囑認證書 / 遺產管理書
修訂日期: