Skip to main content

13. Related to cycling

A bicycle or tricycle basically has the same right to use a road as a motor vehicle. Needless to say, the rider of a bicycle or tricycle also has the duty to exercise due care when using the road and to comply with all traffic regulations (e.g. to comply with all traffic signs, traffic lights and road markings) as if he/she is the driver of a motor vehicle. Major offences related to cycling include:

 

  1. Reckless cycling under section 45 of the Road Traffic Ordinance (Cap.374 of the Laws of Hong Kong), where the maximum sentence is: a fine of $500 for a first conviction, and a fine of $1,000 and imprisonment for 3 months for the second or subsequent conviction;
  2. Careless cycling under section 46 of the Road Traffic Ordinance (Cap.374 of the Laws of Hong Kong), where the maximum sentence is a fine of $500;
  3. Cycling under the influence of drink or drugs under section 47 of the Road Traffic Ordinance (Cap.374 of the Laws of Hong Kong), where the maximum sentence is: a fine of $500 for a first conviction, and a fine of $1,000 for the second or subsequent conviction and imprisonment for 3 months; and
  4. Regulation 87 of the Road Traffic (Construction and Maintenance of Vehicles) Regulations (Cap.374A of the Laws of Hong Kong), which provides that every bicycle/ tricycle shall be equipped with at least one braking system which is efficient and in proper working order.  The maximum sentence is a fine of $10,000 and imprisonment for 6 months;
  5. Regulation 88 of the Road Traffic (Construction and Maintenance of Vehicles) Regulations (Cap.374A of the Laws of Hong Kong), which provides that every bicycle/tricycle shall be fitted with a bell capable of giving sufficient warning of its approach or presence.  The maximum sentence is a fine of $10,000 and imprisonment for 6 months
  6. Regulation 51 of the Road Traffic (Traffic Control) Regulations (Cap.374G of the Laws of Hong Kong), which provides that no person riding a bicycle or tricycle on a road shall carry any other person, a person riding a bicycle or tricycle on a road shall do so with at least one hand on the handle bars, and no person shall ride a bicycle or tricycle during the hours of darkness or in poor visibility conditions unless he shows a white light at the front and a red light at the rear.  The maximum sentence for breaching this Regulation 51 is a fine of $2,000; and
  7. Section 4(8) of the Summary Offences Ordinance (Cap.228of the Laws of Hong Kong), which prescribes that it shall be an offence if someone “rides or drives on any foot-path without obvious necessity” or “in any public place rides or drives recklessly or negligently or at a speed or in a manner which is dangerous to the public, having regard to all the circumstances of the case”.  The maximum sentence is a fine of $300 or imprisonment for 3 months.

One could easily observe that there is no offence like “dangerous cycling” or “dangerous cycling causing death”, as if the act of cycling cannot possibly be dangerous nor cause death.  That is obviously not true.  Common sense will tell us that a bicycle can also be dangerous.

Last revision date:

移至主內容

13. 與騎踏單車有關

單車或三輪車基本上享有和汽車一樣的使用道路的權利。同樣地,單車或三輪車使用者在使用道路時也有適當相應的責任,並須遵守一切交通規則(例如遵守所有交通標誌、交通燈號及道路標記),猶如他/她是在駕駛汽車一樣。有關騎踏單車或三輪車的主要罪行包括:

 

(a) 《道路交通條例》(香港法例第374章第45條 提及有關魯莽使用或騎踏單車、三輪車或多輪車的罪行。如屬首次被定罪,可處罰款500元,再犯者可處罰款1,000元及監禁3個月。

 

(b) 《道路交通條例》(香港法例第374章第46條 提及有關不小心使用或騎踏單車、三輪車或多輪車的罪行;其最高罰則為500元。

 

(c) 《道路交通條例》(香港法例第374章第47條 提及有關在受到酒類或藥物影響下使用或騎踏單車、三輪車或多輪車的罪行。如屬首次被定罪,可處罰款500元,再犯者可處罰款1,000元及監禁3個月。

 

(d) 《道路交通(車輛構造及保養)規例》(香港法例第374A章)第87條規定:每輛單車/三輪車須配備至少一個有效並能適當運作的制動系統。違反此條,可處罰款10,000元及監禁6個月。

 

(e) 《道路交通(車輛構造及保養)規例》(香港法例第374A章)第88條規定:每輛單車/三輪車必須裝配一個能就其駛近或出現而發出充分警報的鐘。違反此條,可處罰款10,000元及監禁6個月。

 

(f) 《道路交通(交通管制)規例》(香港法例第374G章)第51條述明:在道路上騎單車或三輪車的人,不得運載任何其他人;在道路上騎單車或三輪車的人,須至少用一隻手握着手柄;任何人不得在黑夜時間或能見度低的情況下,在道路上騎單車或三輪車或掌管人力車,除非他在車頭展示一盞白燈及在車尾展示一盞紅燈。違反此51條,可處罰款2,000元。

 

(g) 《簡易程序治罪條例》(香港法例第228章第4(8)條亦指出,任何人如「無明顯需要而在行人路上策騎或駕駛」,或「在顧及一切有關情況下,在公眾地方罔顧後果或疏忽地策騎或駕駛,或其策騎或駕駛的速度或方式會對公眾產生危險」,即屬犯罪,可處罰款500元或監禁3個月。

 

大家很容易察覺,似乎並沒有「危險騎踏單車」或「危險騎踏單車引致他人死亡」的罪名,猶如騎踏單車這個行為不可能屬於危險;也不可能引致死亡一樣。事實當然並非如此。單憑常識,已知單車也可以是極其危險的。

修訂日期: