Skip to main content

a. Protective helmets

 

Probably we all know that drivers and passengers of motor cycles must wear helmets. But it is interesting to note the following:

  • Not all helmets are the same. We are not talking about the style or design of helmets. But drivers and passengers of motor cycles are required not just to wear any helmet; they must wear “approved protective helmets” which conform to the specifications and standards set out in Schedule 1 of the Road Traffic (Safety Equipment) Regulations (Cap. 374F of the Laws of Hong Kong of the Laws of Hong Kong).
  • Maximum penalty for not wearing an approved protective helmet while driving or riding as passenger on a motor cycle is a fine of $5,000 or imprisonment for 3 months (regulation 12 of the Road Traffic (Safety Equipment) Regulations (Cap. 374F of the Laws of Hong Kong) Road Traffic (Safety Equipment) Regulations (Cap.374F of the Laws of Hong Kong))). In most cases, the usual penalty would be a fine of $320 under the Fixed Penalty (Criminal Proceedings) Ordinance (Cap.240 of the Laws of Hong Kong).
  • Accordingly, it shall be an offence for anyone to sell or hire out any protective helmet other than an approved protective helmet; maximum penalty for doing so is also a fine of $5,000 or imprisonment for 3 months.
  • If a motor cycle is equipped with a side car, it is not compulsory for a passenger in the side car to wear an approved protective helmet (regulation 3(1) of the Road Traffic (Safety Equipment) Regulations (Cap. 374F of the Laws of Hong Kong) Road Traffic (Safety Equipment) Regulations (Cap.374F of the Laws of Hong Kong)).
  • While it is mandatory for riders and passengers of motor cycles to wear approved protective helmets, there is no such restriction in relation to motor tricycle.
  • According to regulation 10 of the Road Traffic (Safety Equipment) Regulations (Cap. 374F of the Laws of Hong Kong) Road Traffic (Safety Equipment) Regulations (Cap.374F of the Laws of Hong Kong), the Commissioner for Transport may exempt any person or any class of persons from the mandatory requirement of wearing approved protective helmets while driving or riding as passenger on a motor cycle. Religious reason is the most common grounds for application for exemption.
Last revision date:

移至主內容

a. 防護頭盔

 

相對大家都知道,電單車駕駛人及乘客必須戴上頭盔。但不妨也注意以下的事項:

  • 頭盔並不是全部一樣的。這裡說的並非指頭盔的款式或設計。法律要求電單車駕駛人及乘客戴上頭盔,並不是指任何頭盔,而是必須戴上符合《道路交通(安全裝備)規例》(香港法例第374F章)附表1所列明的規格及標準的「認可防護頭盔」。
  • 在駕駛或乘坐電單車時沒有戴上認可防護頭盔,可處罰款$5,000及監禁3個月(《道路交通(安全裝備)規例》(香港法例第374F章)《道路交通(安全裝備)規例》(香港法例第374F章)第12條)。但在大多數情況下,將依據《定額罰款(刑事訴訟)條例》(香港法例第240章)判罰$320。
  • 因此,若出售或出租任何非認可防護頭盔,同樣是干犯罪行。違者同樣可處罰款$5,000及監禁3個月。
  • 如果一部電單車附有側車,法例並無規定側車內的乘車也必須戴上認可防護頭盔(《道路交通(安全裝備)規例》(香港法例第374F章)《道路交通(安全裝備)規例》(香港法例第374F章)第3(1)條)。
  • 雖然電單車駕駛人及乘客必須戴上認可防護頭盔,但就機動三輪車而言,並無此等規定。
  • 依照《道路交通(安全裝備)規例》(香港法例第374F章)《道路交通(安全裝備)規例》(香港法例第374F章)第10條,運輸署署長有權豁免任何人或任何界別的人,在駕駛或乘坐電單車時必須戴上認可防護頭盔的規定。最常見申請豁免的理由就是宗教原因了。
修訂日期: