Skip to main content

1. I have already purchased my air ticket and travel insurance for my next trip. However, it appears there is political instability in the country I am going to visit. What should I do?

Apart from your personal safety concern, you should note that there are two aspects of travel insurance that may be relevant to your travel plan.

 

The aspect is a common exclusion that loss arising from a direct or indirect consequence of war, invasion, act of foreign enemies, civil war, rebellion, revolution, riot, performing duties as a member of armed forces or other law enforcing agencies would be excluded for cover.   

 

The other aspect relates to trip cancellation or curtailment cover. Generally speaking, trip cancellation cover entitles you to claim back wasted expenses which are not recoverable from any other party (e.g. non-refundable air ticket fare) if your trip is cancelled as a direct result of an insured risk. Similar, there may as well be trip curtailment cover in your policy.  Generally speaking, cover for curtailment entitles you to claim back a pro-rata refund of any pre-paid accommodation, car hire or holiday excursions you will no longer be able to use following your return home. Under some policies, curtailment will also cover reasonable travel expenses you have had to pay on your return journey unless travel has been arranged for you by your travel insurer.

 

You should review your policy and consider whether it is appropriate for you to proceed with your trip. Contact your insurer and ask about scope of coverage in your policy, especially if you are planning not to proceed with your travel plan.

Last revision date:

跳转到主要内容

1. 我已经为下一个旅程购买了机票及旅游保险,但我将前往的目的地近来有政局不稳的情况。我应否继续我的旅程?

除需关注自身的人身安全外,阁下亦应注意已购买的旅游保险有两项事宜可能与阁下的旅程有关。

 

其中一项注意事项是常见的不保事项,即有关旅游保险一般不会就直接或间接由战争、侵略、外敌行动、内战、叛乱、革命、暴动、或作为军队或其他执法机构执行职务而引致的损失提供保障。

 

另一项注意事项关乎旅程取消或缩短的保障。一般而言,旅程取消的保障将就因受保的风险而导致旅程取消,令阁下未能向其他方申索但已花费的开支(例如不可退款的机票费用)提供保障。同样地,阁下的保单可能具旅程缩短的保障条款。该项保障一般就因阁下需要提早回程导致未能享用的已付费住宿、车辆租赁及假日行程,按行程缩短的比例作出退还有关开支。就某些保单而言,旅程缩短的保障亦可能于阁下的旅游保险公司未有作出回程安排时,弥偿阁下合理的回程交通开支。

 

阁下应审阅阁下的保单以考虑是否仍适合继续阁下的旅程,请阁下与保险公司联络以查询阁下保单的保障范围,特别是在阁下拟是否应继续有关旅游行程的情况。

修订日期: