Skip to main content

B. Medical Insurance

What is Medical/Health insurance?

 

Medical/health insurance is a type of insurance coverage that indemnifies the insured person for the cost incurred for surgeries, hospital care, dental services and other types of health care services. Depending on the terms of the particular insurance policy, the insurers may reimburse the insured person upon receiving a claim, or the insurers may pay the healthcare provider directly after the insured person has already received the medical services.

 

Different types of medical/health insurance

 

It is important for consumers to understand basic concepts when shopping around for the most suitable medical/health insurance product that meets their needs.  Below are explanations of the common terminologies used on the market to describe different types of medical/health insurance:

 

Hospital cash insurance refers to policies that provide payment for income replacement or for reducing the burden of hospital expenses during the duration of the insured person’s hospitalization. This payment may be calculated on a daily basis and is usually non-accountable (i.e. the hospital cash may be used on anything not necessarily related to hospital expenses).

 

Personal accident insurance refers to policies that provide lump-sum payment upon the insured person suffering certain personal accidents, injuries, or death.  Payment is usually contingent upon the “trigger” event, i.e. the occurrence of the “accident” as defined by the particular policy, and may cover reimbursements of medical cost.  Most personal accident insurances are able to provide a single indemnity to the insured if he/she suffers permanent disablement or accidental death which would help cover the daily living expenses of the insured and his/her family.

 

Critical illness protection insurance refers to policies that provide lump-sum payment upon the insured person falling ill to certain catastrophic illnesses or medical emergencies.  Payment is not dependent upon incurred medical costs but is triggered by the occurrence of the specific illness covered under the policy. Coverage depends on the definition of critical illness and will vary product to product. 

 

Q&A on Medical Insurance

Last revision date:

跳转到主要内容

B. 医疗保险

甚么是医疗/健康保险?

 

医疗/健康保险是一种会就受保人的手术,医院护理,牙科服务和其他类型的医疗服务所产生的费用提供赔偿的保险产品。受一般保单条约限制,保险公司在收到索赔后向受保人偿还费用,或者保险公司可向受保人的医疗服务提供者于完成医疗服务后直接付款。

 

不同类型的医疗/健康保险

 

为确保能购买因应自己需求而最合适的医疗/健康保险产品,消费者对于有关基本概念的了解是非常重要。以下简介是市场上用于描述不同类型的医疗/健康保险的常用术语:

 

  • 医院现金保险:在受保人住院期间可提供收入补偿或减轻医院费用负担的保单。赔偿付款可能是以每日计算的,通常不用实报实销(即医院现金可用于不一定与医院费用有关的任何款项)。
  • 个人意外保险:于受保人遭受某些人身意外,伤害或死亡时提供一次性赔偿的保单。赔偿通常取决于触发事件,即该保单所定义的事故发生,并且可能涵盖医疗费用的报销。如果大多数人身意外伤害保险人遭受永久性残疾或意外死亡,则能够为被保险人提供单项赔偿,这将有助于支付被保险人及其家人的日常生活费用。

危疾保险:投保人在某些灾难性疾病或紧急医疗情况下生病时提供一次性赔偿的保单。此类保单的赔偿并不取决于医疗费用之报销,而是因受保人得到保单内指定疾病因而触发的。承保范围取决于危疾的定义,并且会因产品而异。

 

有关医疗保险的问与答

修订日期: