Skip to main content

3. What should I be aware of when I consider obtaining an insurance policy from a virtual insurer, or to use Insurtech to deal with insurance-related matter?

Even though utilization of technology in the insurance sector brings tremendous benefits, you should be careful of the following:

 

As a rule of thumb, insurance products with simple features are suitable for buying and selling via a virtual insurer; On the other hand, if the insurance product of which you are considering is complex or involves a substantial and long-term commitment (e.g. a product with a long premium payment period, or with advanced features such as different payout options), you may want to purchase such products via an insurance intermediary who can explain the details of the insurance policy to you and assist you in handling matters in relation to the insurance policy.

 

Typically, if you choose to buy insurance policies from a virtual insurer, no insurance intermediary would explain the features of the insurance product and give you advice on whether such insurance product is suitable for you having regard to your financial conditions and insurance needs.  Hence you should make sure that you have read through and understand the terms and conditions of the insurance policy, including the insurance coverage and the existence of exclusion clauses. You should also be aware of the risks associated with the insurance policy, e.g. the surrender charge which can cause substantial loss if you fail to pay premiums on time.  If you do not understand any part of the policy, you should consult representatives from the virtual insurer, or consider obtaining an advice from an insurance intermediary.

 

Moreover, cybersecurity is a major concern for virtual insurers and other application of Insurtech with heavy reliance on the Internet.  To this end, the Insurance Authority has a Guideline on Cybersecurity and all insurance companies, including virtual insurers, must comply with at all times.  You should also strive to protect yourself against cyber risks when obtaining insurance policies via Internet or using online services provided by insurance company, e.g. to use private network connection and keep your passwords strictly confidential.

 

Also, the use of technology in our modern society causes a grave concern on privacy and personal data, and Insurtech has no escape from it.  In Hong Kong, all personal data collected by insurance companies are under the protection of the Personal Data (Privacy) Ordinance (Cap. 486).  You should pay attention to how your personal data collected by insurance company is handled, for instance you should read carefully the Personal Information Collection Statement (“PICS”) which would list out for what purpose(s) can the insurance company use your personal data.  When using a mobile application developed by an insurance company, you should check the privacy settings and what permissions are granted to this application.

Last revision date:

跳转到主要内容

3. 若我透过虚拟保险公司的全数码分销渠道购买保险,或使用保险科技来处理与保险相关的事务,有甚么要注意?

即使科技的应用为保险服务带来巨大的利处,阁下亦应注意以下各点﹕

 

一般而言,特性简单的保险产品适合透过虚拟保险公司购买﹔相反,若果阁下考虑的的保险产品性质复杂或涉及较长的年期 (例如供款期较长的产品或产品拥有不同的金额发放选项),你可能希望透过保险中介人购买此类产品,让他们为你讲解保单的条款及协助你处理与保单相关的事务。

 

普遍而言,当阁下选择透过虚拟保险公司投保时,没有中介人会为你讲解相关保险产品的特性,及就该产品是否适合阁下 (考虑到你的经济状况及保险需要) 给予意见。故此阁下必须自行阅读及了解相关保单的条款及细则,包括保单的保障范围及「不保项目」。同时阁下必须注意保单的潜在风险,例如当你未能依时缴交保费时可能会招致退保费用等损失。若阁下对保单的任何部分有疑问,应该向虚拟保险公司的职员查询,或者考虑咨询保险中介的意见。

 

再者,虚拟保险公司及很多保险科技均依赖互联网,令网络安全成为一大议题。有见及此,保监局已发出网络安全指引,所有保险公司 (包括虚拟保险公司)必须遵守。而阁下亦应该在网上购买保险或使用保险公司提供的网上服务时努力保障先自己的网络安全,例如使用私人的网络连接及保护你的登入密码。

 

另外,科技在现今社会的应用对私隐和个人资料的保障有莫大影响,保险科技亦无例外。在香港,保险公司所收集的个人资料均受到《个人资料 私隐 条例》(香港法例第 486 章) 的保障。阁下亦应该留意保险公司如何处理你的个人资料,例如阁下应小心阅读相关的《收集个人资料声明》,这份文件会列出所有保险公司收集个人资料后的用途。另一方面,在使用保险公司的手机应用程式时,阁下应查阅相关的私隐设定和该程式就你手机所拥有的权限。

修订日期: