Skip to main content

VIII. Sale and purchase of property under construction

The term "property under construction" in this section covers both i) uncompleted buildings/development, or ii) buildings which have been erected but the developer has not yet obtained the occupation permit or a certificate of compliance from the Government. Sale and purchase of this kind of property is regulated by the Consent Scheme and the Non-Consent Scheme .

 

People in Hong Kong often purchase flats before the buildings in which the flats are located have been constructed. The above two schemes exist to protect purchasers in case the developer becomes bankrupt before the property is constructed.

 

In addition, the sale and purchase of a new first-hand residential property is further governed by the Residential Properties (First-hand Sales) Ordinance (Cap. 621) which came into operation in 2013.  The Ordinance sets out detailed requirements in relation to sales brochures, price lists, show flats, disclosure of transaction information, advertisements, sales arrangements, and the mandatory provisions for the Preliminary Agreement for Sale and Purchase and Agreement for Sale and Purchase for the sales of first-hand residential properties.

 

From a purchaser's perspective, the legal formalities for buying a new (first-hand) residential property are similar to that for buying a second-hand property. You need to sign a provisional sale and purchase agreement with the developer, followed by a formal sale and purchase agreement and an assignment upon the completion/ hand over day. The main difference is that the provisional agreement of a first-hand residential property does not bind the purchaser to buy the flat and sign the formal agreement.  The developer/vendor's remedies if the purchaser does not sign the formal agreement after signing the provisional agreement for a first-hand residential agreement is only to claim the forfeiture of the 5% deposit paid on the signing of the provisional agreement.  

 

For a first-hand residential property under the Consent Scheme, the standard form of the formal agreement for sale and purchase prescribed by the Lands Department provides that the property can only be transferred to the original buyer. Hence the property cannot be sub-sold by way of confirmor sale and the property cannot be resold before the assignment of the property by the developer to the purchaser. 

 

Depending on the circumstances (i.e. whether it is a Consent scheme or Non-Consent Scheme), the formal agreement may contain an estimated material date which generally means the estimated date on which new development is completed in compliance with the approved building plans or the conditions of the land grant of the new development are complied with. There may be provision in the agreement requiring the developer/vendor to apply for an occupation document/a certificate of compliance/consent to assign within 14 days after the estimated material date and the developer/vendor is to notify the purchaser in writing that the vendor is in a position to assign the property within a certain period after the issue of the occupation document/a certificate of compliance/consent. Normally, the completion date/handover of the new flat is within 14 days of the above notification from the developer/vendor to the purchaser.

 

Before you buy or invest in a property under construction, you may find it useful to study carefully the Outline Zoning Plan ("OZP") of the area in the vicinity. OZP is a statutory plan published by the Town Planning Board under the Town Planning Ordinance (Cap.131 of the Laws of Hong Kong). Once you have located the OZP of the area on which the property situates, you will be able to see the existing and/or proposed land-uses and major road systems in its surrounding areas. You can access the websites of the Planning Department or the Town Planning Board for further information. If you have any difficulties in reading the OZP, please consult an architect or other relevant professionals.

Last revision date:

移至主內容

VIII. 買賣興建中的物業(樓花)

「興建中的物業」一詞在本節包括 i) 未建成的樓宇 / 土地發展項目;或 ii) 已建成的樓宇但發展商未獲得政府簽發的佔用許可證(俗稱「入伙紙」)或完工證(俗稱「滿意紙」)。賣買這類物業會受到預售樓花的「同意方案」及 「非同意方案」管制。

 

香港人經常會在樓宇建成之前,便購買俗稱「樓花」的單位,如發展商在樓宇建成前面臨破產 / 清盤,買家便要承受極大風險。上述兩種方案主要保障買家免受這類風險。

 

此外,住宅樓花的買賣受 2013 年生效的《一手住宅物業銷售條例》(第 621 章)的進一步規管。條例就一手住宅物業銷售事宜,在售樓說明書、價單、示範單位、披露成交資料、廣告、銷售安排,以及臨時買賣合約和買賣合約須載有的條文等方面,訂立詳細規定。

 

從買方角度來看,購買住宅樓花的法律手續與購買二手物業之手續相近。閣下需要與發展商簽訂臨時買賣合約,其後再簽訂正式買賣合約,直至交易完成 / 交樓當天簽訂轉讓契。兩者之主要分別在於住宅樓花的臨時買賣合約並不約束買家購買單位並簽署正式合約。 如買家在簽署臨時買賣合約後未簽署正式合約,發展商/賣方的補救措施僅為沒收簽署臨時買賣合約時支付的5%訂金。

 

對於同意方案下的一手住宅物業,地政總署訂明的正式買賣合約的標準格式規定,物業只能轉讓給原買家。因此,該物業不能以確認人轉讓的方式轉售,並且該物業在發展商將物業轉讓給買方之前不得轉售。 

 

視乎情況(即同意方案或非同意方案),正式買賣合約可能載有預計關鍵日期,這通常意味著住宅項目遵照經批准的建築圖則的預計完成日期,或預計符合批地文件內條件的日期。合約可能規定發展商/賣方在預計關鍵日期後的 14 天內申請佔用文件/合格證明書/轉讓同意,並且發展商/賣方須以書面形式通知買方,表示賣方在發出佔用文件/合格證明書/轉讓同意後的一段時間內,可以轉讓物業。一般而言,新單位的完成交易日期/交吉日為發展商/賣方向買方發出上述通知後的 14 天內。

 

在決定購買樓花前,閣下或可先查閱物業所在地之「分區計劃大綱圖」,該大綱圖由城市規劃委員會根據《城市規劃條例》(香港法例第131章)而出版。當閣下找出相關的大綱圖後,便可看到物業附近環境之現時及 / 或建議中的土地用途和道路網絡。閣下可於規劃署城市規劃委員會的網頁內取得更多資料。如閣下在閱讀大綱圖時遇到任何困難,請尋求建築師或其他相關專業人士的意見。

修訂日期: