Skip to main content

A. Life insurance (including retirement products)

Life insurance typically provides a cash sum on the death of an individual (i.e. the insured person) or on him/her becoming incapacitated in consequence of an injury or sickness. Some of the major types of life insurance are summarized as follows:

 

Term Life

 

A "Term Life" policy pays a lump sum (also called "death benefit") only upon the death of the policyholder/the insured person. It does not provide any dividends or savings, but pure protection against death. Term policies are of a fixed duration, for example 10 or 20 years. If no claim is made, the policy will expire at the end of the term.

 

Whole Life

 

A "Whole Life" policy pays a lump sum upon the death of the policyholder/the insured person or at the termination of the policy. It usually covers a longer and unfixed duration (usually up to age of 100 of the policyholder/the insured person) as long as the premiums are paid. Premiums for a whole life policy are usually fixed based on the age of the insured person when the policy is issued and they do not increase as time passes. Unlike a term life policy which may expire without paying out, a whole life policy would always pay out eventually. Hence, the premiums for a whole life policy are typically much higher than those of a term life policy.  Some whole life polices (known as “participating policies” or “with-profits policies”) provide dividends to policyholders, for the insurance company will share its excess profits with the policyholders. Premiums for such participating policies are typically higher than those of non-participating policies

 

Endowment

 

An "Endowment" policy pays out a lump sum after a specific term (usually 5, 10 or 20 years) or if earlier, upon the death of the policy holder / the insured person. It is designed to provide the policyholder savings for future living, as well as a life insurance protection.

 

Annuity

 

An annuity is typically used for retirement planning which helps policyholders accumulate savings for getting a steady income after retirement or over a long term in future. A policyholder pays premiums to an insurance company, who in turn provides the policyholder with a regular payment for a period specified in the contract after a designated period of time or when the policyholder reaches a certain age.

 

Qualifying Deferred Annuity Policy

 

A deferred annuity is one type of annuities. The policyholder pays premiums regularly over a period of time (i.e. the accumulation phase), in return he will receive regular income for a period of time in future (i.e. the annuitization phase).

 

To promote voluntary retirement savings, the Government of Hong Kong in 2019 introduced tax reliefs in respect to certain deferred annuities that are certified by the Insurance Authority as Qualifying Deferred Annuity Policies (QDAP). The policyholder (as taxpayer) of a QDAP can claim for potential tax deductions on premiums paid up to HKD60,000 per tax assessment year.

 

Investment-linked assurance schemes

 

An investment-linked assurance scheme (ILAS) is a life insurance policy issued by an insurance company which provides the policyholder with life insurance cover plus investment options (usually funds).  Its policy value is determined by reference to the performance of the “underlying or reference funds”. While the policyholders have the ownership of the life insurance policy, the underlying assets (normally the underlying or reference funds) are owned by the insurance company.

 

Mandatory Providential Fund Schemes (“MPF”)

 

Following the implementation of the MPF (an employment-based retirement protection system) on 1 December 2000 , both employers and employees should know more about their rights and obligations relating to MPF schemes.

 

For more information regarding MPF matters, please visit the website of the Mandatory Provident Fund Schemes Authority.

Last revision date:

移至主內容

A. 人壽保險 (包括退休保障產品)

人壽保險一般是在 受保人) 過身後、或因意、疾病而喪失工作能力下,提供一筆現金。以下簡述一些主要的人壽保險種類:

 

定期壽險

 

定期壽險在在投保人/受保人去世後,才會提供一筆賠償(亦稱「死亡賠償」)。這類保險不會提供紅利或儲蓄,而單純為死亡提供保障。定期壽險有固定的期限,例如10 年或 20 年,若在保險期內沒有索償,保單合約就會在限期過後到期

 

終身壽險

 

終身壽險在投保人/受保人去世、或保單中止時,提供一筆過款項。它通常保障一段較長及不固定的時間(通常直至投保人/受保人年滿100歲),只要保費獲支付。終身壽險的保費通常是根據受保人投保時的年齡所厘定的固定款項,並不會隨時間增長而增加。有别於定期壽險(它有可能在到期時並沒有支付任何款項),終身壽險必會在最終支付款項。故此,終身壽險的保費通常比定期壽險的保費高。一些終身壽險(稱為分紅保單可分紅保單 向投保人支付紅利,因保險公司會向投保人分享較預期佳的業績。該分紅保單的保費一般較非分紅保單的保費高。

 

儲蓄壽險

 

儲蓄壽險在指定的保險期限(通常51020年)屆滿後,或在此之前,在投保人/受保人去世時,提供一筆過款項。因而為投保人帶來儲蓄作用,亦提供人壽保險的保障。

 

年金

 

年金是一種用作規劃退休的工具,幫助投保人把累積的儲蓄轉化為在一段時間內的穩定收入。年金有多種類型,延期年金屬其中一種。在累積期,投保人在一段特定時間內定期支付保費。到了年金領取期,投保人可在期內定期收取年金。

 

為鼓勵市民為退休生活作自願性儲蓄,政府自2019年向購買由保險業監管局列為「合資格延期年金保單」(Qualifying Deferred Annuity Policy,簡稱「QDAP」)的延期年金的納稅人,提供稅務扣除的優惠。投保人(作為納稅人)可就其合資格延期年金保費申請稅務扣除,扣除總額以每課稅年度60,000港元為上限。

 

投連壽險

投連壽險是一種兼備投資成分的人壽保險保單,它為保單持有人同時提供人壽保障及投資選項(一般為基金)。保單價值根據「相關或參考基金」的表現而釐定。保單持有人擁有投連壽險保單;投連壽險的相關資產(一般為相關或參考基金)由保險公司擁有。

 

僱員補償與強制性公積金(MPF

 

為退休保障而設的強制性公積金計劃 MPF 2000 12 1 日實施後,僱主及僱員都應了解各自的權利和義務。

 

欲知更多有關僱員補償或強積金的事宜,請登入另一題目 ─ 勞資糾紛,或瀏覽強制性公積金計劃管理局之網站。

修訂日期: