Skip to main content

2. Further to the question above, if a piece of non-disclosed information is not related to a particular claim (e.g. I submit a claim due to an injury from playing football, but I had not previously mentioned my smoking habit), can the insurance company still reject such claim?

As indicated in the answer to Question 1, the question is whether the information is material (i.e. relevant) to the risk for which insurance is being sought. A medical insurance policy provides coverage for the medical costs when the person is ill or injured and needs to incur medical costs. If a person smokes that increases the risk of getting ill, so it is highly relevant (i.e. material) for an insurance company’s assessment of the risk of providing the person medical insurance. Indeed, it is likely the insurance company will charge a higher premium for the medical insurance policy if the policyholder is a smoker.

 

So if this fact is not disclosed, and the person later makes a claim under the insurance policy for medical costs arising from a football accident, the insurance company can reject the claim, avoid the policy and hand back the premium, even though the football accident has nothing to do with the person being a smoker. 

 

This may seem unfair. That, however, is the result of an insurance policy being based on the principle of utmost good faith and the duty of disclosure. If the non-disclosed information is vital enough to have affected the underwriting decision of the insurance company, it may be legitimate for the company to decline a claim (and avoid the insurance policy) even though the non-disclosed information is not related to the current disease or injury.

 

The disputes settled by the Insurance Complaints Bureau indicate that drinking and smoking habits are an important factor in the assessment of the risks in life or health insurance by insurance companies. As such, factors such as this (i.e. drinking or smoking habits) should be disclosed to the insurance company when buying these types of insurance policies.

 

Again, we would reiterate that it is imperative that when filling in an application for an insurance policy, a person answer the questions as fully and carefully as possible. If the person thinks of a fact which he is unsure whether it is material, it is better to be cautious and draw it to the insurance company’s attention.

Last revision date:

移至主內容

2. 除上述問題外,若一些沒有披露的資料與該項索償無關(例如,我因踢足球而受傷,但我之前沒有提過吸煙習慣),保險公司仍以拒絕這償嗎

問題1案所示,問是該資料求的保風險是否要(即相關)。當人生病或受傷需要承擔醫療費用時,醫療保險會為其提供醫療費用的承保。如果某人吸煙增加生病的風險,那麼這對於保險公司評估該人醫療保險的風險具有高度的關連(即是重要)。,如果投保人是吸煙者,保險公司醫療保單將會收取更高的保費。

 

事實沒有被披露,此人後根據保單對足球意外引致的醫療費用提出索償時,即使足球意外的發生與他是否吸煙者無關,保險公司也可以拒絕賠償銷保單並退還保費。

 

這似乎不公平。然而,這是因為保單是基於最大誠和披露本分披露資料是極其重要,足以影響保險公司的承保決定,則即使未披露資料與當前的疾病或傷無關,該公司拒絕賠償(並銷保單)也是合的。

 

保險投訴局解決的爭端表明,飲酒和吸煙習慣是保險公司評估人壽或健康保險風險的重要因素。因此,在購買這類保單時,應向保險公司披露諸如此類的因素(即飲酒或吸煙習慣)。

 

再次,我們重申,當填寫保單申請時,必須盡可能全面和仔細地回答問題。如果不確定其事實是否重大的,最好謹慎處理並提請保險公司注意。

修訂日期: