Skip to main content

5. Do I need to disclose the traffic accident(s) I have previously been involved as a driver when I apply for motor insurance? Will I be charged of a higher premium if I disclose I have recently been convicted of any traffic offence such as illegal parking?

You should refer to the full wording of the questions asked or the information requested in the motor insurance application form. In general, insurers would pose questions relating to your personal particulars (e.g. age and driving experience), your car’s particulars (e.g. model, engine number, chassis number, etc.) and the driver’s previous driving history (e.g. whether you have been involved in any traffic accident or been convicted of any traffic offence within a specified period of time). You should make full and frank disclosure in answering those questions and providing the requested information in the application form. The actual scope of disclosure (for example, what kind of traffic offence conviction is required to be disclosed) is subject to the relevant wording in the application form.

 

If you have omitted to provide any required particulars or (innocently or otherwise) provided false particulars in answering the questions stated in the application form, your insurer may apply for a declaration to avoid your motor insurance policy based on non-disclosure or misrepresentation of facts if such particulars are material, i.e. the particulars are of such nature as to influence the judgment of a prudent insurer in determining whether the insurer will take the risk, and if so, at what premium and on what conditions.

 

Regarding the amount of premium, it is generally calculated in accordance with a set of data including your age, occupation, driving experience and records, the type of motor insurance policy being applied for, the model and valuation of your vehicle, as well as your past claim history and traffic conviction records (different insurers may have different formula of calculation). However, you should note that in most of the cases, the amount of premium potentially saved by withholding / misrepresenting material particulars would be outweighed by the potential adverse impact of the avoidance of your motor insurance subsequently by your insurer (which results in you being personally liable for paying compensation to the any third party claim). Hence, if you are in doubt as to whether certain particulars need to be disclosed, it would be prudent to disclose it to the insurer.

Last revision date:

移至主內容

5. 我是否需要於申請購買汽車保險時就我早前作為司機所涉及的交通意外紀錄作出披露?如我披露最近與交通規例相關的刑事定罪例如違例泊車),我會否被要求繳交較高的保費?

閣下應查閱汽車保險申請表上的問題或所索取的資料的用詞以了解詳情保險公司一般會詢問閣下的個人資料例如年及駕駛經驗、閣下車輛的資料例如型號、引號碼、車輛底盤號碼等及司機過往的駕紀錄例如閣下有否於指定的一段時間內曾涉及交通意外或曾就違反交通規例被定罪)。閣下應於作答有關問題及提供申請表所索取的資料時作出全面坦誠的披露實質披露的範圍例如何種與交通規例相關的定罪紀錄需要作出披露將取決於申請表上所使用的用及字眼

 

如閣下就申請表的問題作答時因遺漏未有提供所要求的資料或因無意或其他原因提供不實的資料閣下的保險公司可以向法庭申請一項法庭宣布以基於未有披露具關鍵性事實,或藉在具關鍵性項目上作虛假陳述為由廢止閣下的汽車保單關鍵性事實為具可影響任何審慎的保險公司判斷是否接受有關風險,以及如接受有關風險將以何種保費和以何種條件接受的性質的事實或資料

 

保費金額一般將根據一系列的資料所釐定當中包括閣下的年、職業、駕經驗及紀錄、所申請的汽車保單類別、車輛的型號及估值、以及閣下過往的保險申索紀錄及與交通規例有關的定罪紀錄而不同的保險公司將引用不同的公式計算保費然而閣下應注意因閣下未有披露 / 作出處假陳述關鍵性事實以可能節省的保費在大多數的情況下不能與閣下因汽車保單被廢止所需面對的不良影響即令閣下需自行承擔第三者申索的賠償所比擬故此如閣下對是否需要披露某資料有任何疑問閣下應徵求持牌保險中介人的意見或作出較謹慎的選擇向保險公司披露該等資料

修訂日期: