Skip to main content

I. General matters concerning all types of insurance

Why is insurance so important to society?

 

Life has its unexpected moments. Sometimes these moments are good. Sometimes they bring times of challenge, like illness or accident or damage to your home when a typhoon hits, or even the premature death of a love one. The unexpected also means life is unpredictable and we have to think of the future, like how can we finance our retirement.

 

Society has found a way coping with the unexpected. It’s called insurance. Insurance doesn’t stop the unexpected from happening, but it can make things a bit more bearable when it does. Insurance can also help us face the future with confidence. Although it’s not glamourous, insurance provides society with a foundation of resilience. That’s why insurance is so vital and has been around for thousands of years, almost as long as humanity itself.

 

Insurance is provided by insurance companies. They provide insurance through the thousands of contracts they enter into every day. Like any industry, insurance has its own form of jargon, but it’s easy to understand if you take a minute:

 

Insurance jargon is easy to understand

 

  • The contract which an insurance company enters into to provide insurance is called an insurance policy. It sets out all the terms and conditions on which the insurance is provided.
  • A person who buys insurance by entering into an insurance policy with the insurance company, is called a policyholder.
  • Under the terms and conditions of an insurance policy, the policyholder agrees to pay the insurance company a price called a premium.
  • In return or the payment of premium, the insurance company commits to pay the policyholder if a specified event or accident stated in the insurance policy happens during a set period of time in the future called the policy period.
  • The commitment by the insurance company to pay if the specified event or accident happens during the policy period, is called insurance coverage. The policyholder who has purchased the insurance policy is said to be protected or covered for the specified events or accidents in the insurance policy. The protection or coverage are also sometimes termed as the insurance benefits under the insurance policy. The policyholder in purchasing an insurance policy is also said to have transferred the risk of the specified event or accident, to the insurance company.
  • When the specified event or accident happens, to obtain payment from the insurance company, the policyholder makes a claim under the insurance policy.
  • In order for a claim to be covered under the insurance policy, the claim must arise from the specified event or accident in the insurance policy and not fall within any of the exclusions stated in the insurance policy. Exclusions denote situations which are not covered under the insurance policy.
  • The insurance policy often sets a cap on the maximum amount the insurance company has to pay the policyholder, called the policy limit.
  • Sometimes the insurance policy also specifies an amount of loss which the policyholder has to bear himself if specified event or accident happens, before he can claim under the insurance policy. This is called the excess or deductible.
  • A person can buy an insurance policy through one of the distribution channels which an insurance company uses to offer insurance policies. Licensed insurance brokers are one these distributions channels. A person looking to buy insurance can appoint a licensed insurance broker obtain advice and to approach numerous insurance companies to find the most suitable insurance policy to meet the person’s needs. A person can also approach an insurance company through one of the company’s appointed licensed insurance agents (appointed by a licensed insurance company to sell its insurance policies).  A person can also approach an insurance company directly and apply for insurance through, for example, the internet platform provided by the insurance company. Indeed, as technology progresses, a number new technology based alternative distribution channels are being used by insurance companies to offer insurance policies (also known as Insurtech).

 

The basic legal issues you need to know about an insurance policy

 

Despite all this jargon (and despite the technology being used), an insurance policy is just the same as any other contract. It is entered into by "offer" and "acceptance", supported by consideration in the form of the premium paid by the policyholder and the insurance company’s commitment to provide cover for the specified event or accident, and intent to create contractual relations. However, there are certain additional legal characteristics which apply to insurance policies that do not apply to other contracts. These are as follows:

 

An insurance policy must protect against uncertainty

 

An insurance policy can only protect against the happening of an uncertain event. For example, an accident policy protects against loss arising from an accident; medical and critical illness insurance policies protect a policyholder for the costs of getting ill or sick or having to go to hospital; motor insurance protects against the loss arising from a car accident. All of these events may or may not happen and are therefore uncertain.

 

With regards to life insurance, sad though may be, it is certain that we will all die one day. However, it is uncertain when we will die. Life insurance cannot stop you from dying but it can protect your loved ones (i.e. your beneficiaries) for the loss of your financial support, in the uncertainty of you dying too soon. An annuity policy – being a type of life insurance policy - also protects a policyholder for the extra costs of living longer than expected (again, an uncertainty) and, in this way, provides crucial retirement protection.

 

The fact that insurance policies cover uncertain events means that there is a wide variety of different types of insurance policies offered by insurance companies. Insurance policies can cover you for risk of death, accident, illness, the cost of going to hospital, damage or loss or theft to your household possessions, damage to your car or property, the risk of incurring liability to third parties, your flight getting cancelled and other related risks when you go on holiday. Insurance policies also support the risks of entire industries (like marine insurance which supports the maritime industry, or aviation insurance which supports associated with the aviation industry). There are insurance policies to cover risks associated with doing business or trade (like employee’s compensation and public liability insurance, professional indemnity insurance, directors and officers insurance, and trade credit insurance). Further as society achieves progress through innovation, so new risks emerge and insurance adapts to cover these new risks. Hence, we now see the emergence of cyber insurance policies and specific coverages which you can buy for your Smartphone and other gadgets.  

 

An insurance policy is based on utmost good faith and the duty of disclosure

 

Unlike most other types of contracts, an insurance policy is a contract based on the duty utmost good faith. The duty of utmost good faith applies to all insurance policies. The most important aspect of the duty of utmost good faith is the duty of disclosure which a person looking to buy an insurance policy (i.e. a prospective policyholder) has.

 

The duty of disclosure means that a person looking to buy an insurance policy from an insurance company, must disclose all material facts about the risk which the person is looking to insure.

 

The law imposes this duty of disclosure because the person looking to buy insurance has all the relevant information in relation to the risk he is looking to insure, whereas the insurer has none. For example, a person looking for life insurance knows what illnesses he has had in the past, whether he has any ongoing medical issues, what his lifestyle is like and what information was in his last health check-up. All of this is highly relevant to the risk he is looking to insure (i.e. the risk of him dying sooner than expected). The insurance company knows none of this information and needs the person to disclose it to the company, so the risk can be assessed, the amount of premium estimated and a decision made as to whether or not enter into the insurance policy. As such, the law requires the person seeking insurance to be honest and make full disclosure to the insurance company of all pertinent information in relation to the risk so that the insurance company is fully informed before deciding to enter into the insurance policy.

 

Failing to disclose such information has serious consequences. It will entitle the insurance company to “avoid” the insurance policy. This means the insurance company, on discovering the non-disclosure by the policyholder, can simply pay back the premium and act as if the insurance policy never existed (denying insurance coverage to the policyholder). It is, therefore, imperative that a person disclose all pertinent information in relation to the risk when buying insurance.

 

A person buying an insurance policy must have an insurable interest

 

In order to buy an insurance policy to cover a risk, the person buying the insurance should have an interest in the risk to be insured. This called an “insurable interest”.

 

A person has an insurable interest in the risk to be insured, if the harm or damage to the item being insured (whether it is the person’s life or property) would cause that person to suffer loss.

 

In the case of a life insurance policy, a person who buys insurance on his life, has an obvious insurable interest (in that he has an interest in not dying – the loss of his life being the risk insured). If a person wishes to purchase the insurance to cover another person's life, the purchaser will have an insurable interest provided the relationship between the purchaser and the insured person is one whereby the purchaser will suffer either emotional loss or financial loss if the insured person dies. An insurable interest based on emotional loss certainly arises from a relationship of marriage. Further, (by reason of section 64A of the Insurance Ordinance (Cap. 41)) a parent of a minor or a guardian of a ward under 18 years of age are deemed to have an interest in the life of the minor or ward (and therefore the parent or guardian can purchase insurance on the life of the minor or ward). An insurable interest based on financial loss, could arise by reason of a debt owed (as the person who is owed the debt has an interest in the life of the person owing the debt). A company may have an insurable interest in the life of a key employee. A person may have an insurable interest in the life of any person on whom they are financially dependent.

 

In the case of most property insurance, the risk being insured is the risk of damage to a physical object (an apartment, or a car, or a ship, for example). The person buying the insurance must have an interest in the physical object being insured i.e. the person must stand to lose if the physical object is damaged. For example, if a car is stolen, the car owner would suffer a loss (and therefore has an insurable interest in the car). The principle of indemnity (whereby certain types of insurance policies only indemnify a person for loss caused – see below) is linked to this as the person can only suffer loss from damage to the property, if he has an interest in the property.

 

One of the reasons the law requires a person to have an "insurable interest", is to prevent insurance being used by a person to gamble on the lives of other people with whom they have no relationship whatsoever. The requirement for “insurable interest” also prevents what is known as moral hazard. By requiring a person to have an insurable interest in the risk insured (for example a property), it removes any incentive for a person to act immorally by deliberately damaging the property (or recklessly not safeguarding the property) in order to bring about a claim under the insurance policy.

 

Insurance policies and the principle of indemnity

 

Many (but not all) insurance policies are based on the principle of indemnity. This means that the insurance company indemnifies the policyholder for the loss caused to the policyholder as a result of the specified event or uncertainty (up to the amount of the policy limit). For example, a motor insurance policy will indemnify a car owner for the costs of having to repair his car (i.e. his loss) if it is damaged. In other words, the insurance company only pays a claim if (and to the extent) the policyholder has suffered loss from the specified event or uncertainty in the policy.

 

There are however exceptions of this, namely insurance policies which are “contingency” insurance policies. A contingency insurance policy is one whereby a set amount (as stated in the insurance policy) is paid out to the policyholder by the insurance company on the happening of the specified event or uncertainty. A life insurance policy is a type of contingency policy in that it specifies a set amount which aims to reflect the value placed on the life of the policyholder. It is that set amount which is paid by the insurance company in the event of the policyholder’s death during the policy period. This is so even if the actual loss to policyholder’s dependents in financial terms resulting from his death, is different from the set amount which is paid.

Last revision date:

移至主內容

I. 與各類保險有關的事項

為甚麼保險對社會如此重要?

 

有其意想不到的時刻。這些時刻有時候是好的,有時會帶來挑戰。如生病、外、或颱風來襲時導致房屋損、甚至是人過早死亡。意想不到的情況也意味著生是不可預測的,我們必須考慮未來,如我們如何為退休備資金。

 

社會找到了應對意想不到的方法: 這就是保險。保險並不能阻止突如其來況發生,但是它可以使事情變得更容易承受。保險還可以幫助我們信心地面對未來。保險雖然不算是令人嚮,但卻為社會提供了恢復的基。這就是為保險如此重要並存在了數千年,幾乎與人類一樣長的原因。

 

保險由保險公司提供,他們過每天簽訂數計的提供保險。像任何行業一樣,保險也有自己的語,你只要花少時間就很容易明白

 

保險語很容易理解

 

  • 保險公司提供保險簽訂的合稱為保單。它列出了所有條款和則。
  • 過與保險公司購買保險訂立保單的人稱為保單持有人
  • 根據保單的條款和則,保單持有人同意向保險公司支付的額稱為保費
  • 作為付保費的回報,如果保單中指出的特定事件或外發生在將來的一段特定時期(稱為保單期),保險公司承諾向保單持有人支付項。
  • 保險公司在保單期內發生特定事件或外時支付承諾被稱為保險承保範圍就是購買保單的保單持有人在保單中的特定事件或受到保障或承保。根據保單,有時也將保或承保稱為保險利益就是購買保單的保單持有人已將特定事件或外的風險轉移給保險公司。
  • 發生特定事件或外時,保單持有人根據保單,從保險公司獲得項。
  • 為了使索涵蓋在保單中,索必須來自於保單中定的事件或外,且不屬於保單中任何定的不保項不保項目表示保單中不被涵蓋的情況。
  • 保單通常設定保險公司向保單持有人支付的最高金額上限(稱為保單限額)。
  • 有時,保單還指明,在發生特定事件或外時,保單持有人必須承擔特定的損失金額,然後他才能根據保單提出索。這稱為免賠扣除金
  • 人可過保險公司其中之一分銷渠道購買保單。持牌保險經紀就是這些提供保單的渠道之一。要購買保險的人可以持牌保險經紀獲取建議並與眾多保險公司接洽,以找到最適合自己需要的保單。人還可過保險公司任的持牌保險代理人(由持牌保險公司任出售其保單)與保險公司接洽。人還可以直接與保險公司接洽買保險,例如過保險公司提供的互聯網平台。實際上,隨著技術的發展,保險公司正在使用新技術為基礎的他分銷渠道來提供保單(稱為Insurtech)。

 

需要了解關保單的基本法律問題

 

儘管有這些術語(儘管當中使用了技術),保單與他合約都是一樣。它以「出要約」和「接受要約的形式簽訂,以保單持有人付保費,保險公司承諾特定事件或外提供保障的,建立關係。但是,某些適用於保單加法律特質並不適用於其他合。如下所示:

 

必須不確定性提供保障

 

保單只能不確定事的發生提供保障。例如,保單可以防止外造成的損失;醫療和疾保單可保保單持有人生病的代價或住院的費用;保險可以防止因車禍造成的損失。所有這些事,可不會發生,因此不確定

 

關於人壽保險,儘管令人傷心,但可以肯定我們一天死是,我們何時不確定。人壽保險不能阻止死亡,但可以在你確定快將死亡保護的親人(即的受益人)經濟上的損失。年金保單是一種壽險保單,亦可障保單持有人其壽命比預期更長的額外生活費用(是不確定性),並此提供重要的退休保障。

保單涵蓋不確定事意味著保險公司多種不同類型的保單提供。保單可以涵蓋死亡、外、疾病、療費用、家庭財的損失或被盜、汽車或財產的損壞、對第三方承擔責任的風險、度假時航班取消和其他相關風險。保單還支整個行業的風險(例如支海運業的海上保險或支與航空業相關的航空保險)。有些保可以涵蓋有關開展業務或貿易的風險(例如員工補償和公共責任保險,專業賠償保險,董事和高級職員保險以及貿易信用保險)。隨著社會過創新取得進步,新的風險出現了,保險也涵蓋了這些新的風險。因此,我們現在以看到網絡保單的出現為智能手機和其他機件購買特定承保覆蓋。

 

保單是基於盡最大誠信和披露的

 

與大多數類型的合不同,保單是基於盡最大誠信分的合。最大誠信分適用於所有保單。最重要部份是購買保單的人(即潛在保單持有人)披露的本分

 

披露的本意味著,想要從保險公司購買保單的人必須披露有關該人所投風險所有重要事實。

 

法律規定了披露的分,因為購買保險的人擁有與他所投保風險所有相關資料,而保人則沒有。例如,一個欲購買人壽保險的人知道過去曾患過甚麼疾病,是否有持續的醫療問題,他的生活方式是,以及他上次健康檢查中得到了甚麼資料。這些所有都與他要保的風險(即他快於預期死亡的風險)高度相關。保險公司不知道這些資料,因此需要個人披露給公司,以便評估風險,估保費金額,以及決定是否簽訂保單。因此,法律要求保人誠實,並向保險公司充分披露與風險有關的所有相關資料,以便在作出訂立保單決定之前充分了解。

 

有披露此類資料會造成嚴重後果。它將使保險公司有權「銷」保單。這意味著,保險公司在發現保單持有人未披露資料後,可以是償還保費,並採取行動,就好像保單從沒有存在一樣(拒絕向保單持有人提供保險)。因此,極重是個人在購買保險時必須披露與風險有關的所有相關資料

 

購買保單的人必須具有可保利益

 

為了購買保單以承擔風險,購買保險的人對被保風險應具有可保利益。這被稱為「可保利益」。

 

如果被保項的損毀(無論是生命還是財產)將導致該人蒙受損失,則該人對被保險風險具有可保利益。

 

就人壽保單而言,為自己生命購買人壽保險的人具有明顯的可保利益(因為他的不死是利益–喪失生命是被保風險)。如果某人希望購買保險以涵蓋他人的生命,則購買者將享有可保利益,但前提是購買者與被保人之間的關係是如果被保人去世,則購買者將遭受精神或經濟損失。基於感情損失的可保利益當然源於婚姻關係。此外,(由於《保險業條例》(第41章第64A條),未成年人的父母或監護人被視為與未成年人或未滿18歲的監護人的生命息息相關(因此,父母或監護人可以未成年人或監護人的生命購買保險)。基於經濟損失的可保利益可由欠債產生(因為債人在欠債人的命中擁有利益)。公司可能在關鍵員工的命中擁有可保利益。一個人可在任何經濟上有所依賴的命中有可保利益。

 

對於大多數財產保險,被保的風險是對實物(例如,公寓,汽車或輪船)損壞的風險。購買保險的人必須對被保的實物有益,即實物被損壞時投保人必須承擔損失。例如,汽車被盜,則車主將蒙受損失(因此對汽車擁有可保利益)。賠償原則(此某些類型的保單僅對個人的損失進行賠償(見下文))與此相關,因為該人擁有財產權益,才能財產受損失。

 

法律要求個人具有「可保利益」的其中一個原因,是防止個人利用保險用與他們毫無關係的他人生命作「可保利益」還可以防止道德風險。過要求人對被保的風險(例如財產)具有可保利益,消除任何人故意破壞財產(或不顧後果地不保護該財產)的不道德動機,以提出保單索償

 

保單和賠償原則

 

許多(但不是全部)保單都基於賠償原則。這意味著,保險公司由於特定事件或不確定性造成的損失(不超過保限額)向保單持有人作出賠償。例如,汽車保單賠償車主在汽車損壞時須修理的費用(即他的損失)。換句話說,只要在保單持有人因特定事件或保單不確定性受損失時,保險公司才支付賠並以此為限)。

 

是,也有例外,那就是保單作為「應急」的保單。應急保單是指保險公司在特定事件或不確定性發生時向保單持有人支付已設定金額(如保單中所述)的保單。人壽保單是一種應急保單,定了一個已設定金額,旨在反映保單持有人生命中的價值。這是在保單持有人在保單期內死亡保險公司支付的設定金額。即使保單持有人的死亡至使其家屬在濟上造成的實際損失與所支付的設定金額不同,也是如此。

修訂日期: