Skip to main content

F. Motor Insurance

A.   Overview

 

Motor insurance is designed to provide cover for loss or damage to your motor vehicle and that of third parties, and bodily injury or death of third parties. The scope of cover under a motor insurance policy varies, e.g. it may insure you against your costs of repairing / replacing your car following an accident or it may insure against your liability to pay compensation to an injured person following a traffic accident. Insurance coverage varies according to the terms and conditions of an insurance policy.

 

The major types of motor insurance are summarized as follows:

 

1. Third party liabilities

 

Third party liability covers you against liabilities of property damage claims and/or personal injury claims by third parties. Under the Motor Vehicles Insurance (Third Party Risks) Ordinance (Cap. 272) (“MVIO”), it is compulsory to take out a motor insurance policy with an authorized insurer covering the liability for bodily injury or death of any third party arising out of the use of your motor vehicle on a road. Please see section C “Compulsory Motor Insurance” below for further details. 

 

2. Damage or loss to your own motor vehicle

 

This type of insurance covers loss or damage to your own motor vehicle resulting from a traffic accident, fire, theft or other damage or loss howsoever caused. The insurance policy usually provides for an excess clause which sets out the initial amount of the claim that you need to pay before you are indemnified by the insurer under the policy.

 

3. Comprehensive cover

 

This is a composite cover which protect you against both liabilities of property damage claims and/or personal injury claims by third parties and damage or loss of your own motor vehicle. Generally speaking, premium for a comprehensive cover is higher than a mere third party liability cover or damage or loss to own motor vehicle.

 

Different types of motor insurance are offered by insurers.  You should choose the type of insurance that meets your needs.

 

B.   Common coverage issues

           

Insurance policies typically contain contractual provisions such as conditions and exclusions.  An insurance condition is an obligation on the insured to act in a particular way upon which the validity of the policy or of any claim may depend. An exclusion provision eliminates an insurer’s liability in certain circumstances by specifying the loss or damage that is not covered by a policy. Therefore, it is important that you carefully review your policy wording before purchase and comply with all conditions set forth in your policy. 

 

1. Limitation as to use of motor vehicle

 

A ‘limit as to use’ clause is commonly found in a motor insurance policy. The clause usually states insurance coverage under the policy is operative only when the motor vehicle is used for certain purposes, for example, social, domestic and pleasure purposes or for the insured’s business or profession. In these circumstances, the policy will not operate when the motor vehicle is used for other purposes (e.g. for hire or reward or racing).  Therefore, it is important that the use of the motor vehicle is in accordance with its permitted use in order to be eligible for claiming your loss or damage under the policy.

 

2. Authorized driver

 

In general, motor insurance policies cover the liability of the car owner and the driver(s) authorized or permitted by the owner to use the car. Hence, where the driver takes the car without authorization (e.g. by theft), the motor insurance policy would not cover the liability arising from the use or driving of the car by the unauthorized driver.  Further, no indemnity would be provided for the liability arising out of the use or driving of a car by any person not holding a valid driving licence.

 

Your driving history such as past claims history and traffic conviction records is one of the important matters for an insurer to evaluate risks and decide whether to accept the risks, set premium or other terms of the policy, for example, an excess clause for young and unexperienced driver (e.g. driver of age below 25 or holding a driving licence for less than 2 years).

 

3. Other conditions

 

It is a common condition in a motor insurance policy for the insured person to report to the insurer incident leading to the loss or damage within a specified period of time. If the car owner or the driver is prosecuted for an offence arising out of the use of the car, the car owner or the driver should report to the insurer the impending prosecution and also the progress of the case, and pass all relevant documents (e.g. summons, charge sheet, etc.) to the insurer in a timely manner and in accordance with the policy terms and conditions. Late reporting or failure to forward all relevant documents may be relied upon by the insurer as a ground to reject your claims. 

 

4. Exclusions

 

Like all other insurance policies, motor insurance policies contain exclusion clauses which exclude or exempt the insurer from paying your claims in certain circumstances. You should read through all the exclusions before you purchase a motor insurance policy so as to avoid your future claim from being denied. Below is a list of common exclusions of a motor insurance policy:

 

  1. the car is used outside a specified territory / jurisdiction;
  2. the owner or the driver fails to comply with the limitation as to use clause;
  3. the car is used by an unauthorized driver;
  4. the use of the car is by a driver under the influence of alcohol or drugs;
  5. liability arises from war, nuclear disasters, strike, riot, civil commotion, terrorism or any other specified incident; and
  6. the use of the car fails to comply with any laws or regulations relating to the carriage of dangerous goods.

 

C.   Compulsory Motor Insurance

 

1. Motor Vehicles Insurance (Third Party Risks) Ordinance (“MVIO”)

           

The scheme for compulsory motor insurance is prescribed under the MVIO. Section 4(1) of the MVIO obliges any person using (and any person permitting other to use) a motor vehicle on a road must be covered by an in force motor insurance policy in relation to the use in respect of third party risks in compliance with the statutory requirements. The effect is to require all drivers to be protected by insurance against any potential third party (e.g. passengers, pedestrians, other car users etc.) of bodily injury or death in Hong Kong.

 

The scope of compulsory cover does not extend to the liability in respect death or bodily injury arising out of and in the course of a person’s employment insured by other policy (e.g. risk insured under any statutory employees’ compensation insurance policy) or any contractual liability. 

 

The minimum amount of liability arising out of one event to be covered by a statutory motor insurance policy is prescribed under section 27 of the Motor Vehicles Insurance (Third Party Risks) Regulations (Cap. 272A) to be HK$100 million.

 

2. Consequence of failing to take out a compulsory motor insurance

 

Section 4(2) of the MVIO criminalizes any person (including the car owner or the driver) for using or permitting other in using a motor vehicle on a road without the required compulsory insurance. The maximum penalty of contravening section 4(2) is a fine up to HK$10,000 and imprisonment for 12 months. Further, a person convicted of this offence would be disqualified from holding or obtaining a driving licence for such a period as the court may determine being not less than 12 months nor more than 3 years from the date of conviction.

 

3. Effect of compulsory motor insurance against exclusions / breach of policy condition

 

In general, if the circumstances of the incident giving rise to liability falls within the scope of an exclusion or the insured has committed a breach of any policy condition under a policy, the insurer is not obliged to provide any indemnity to the insured or is entitled to repudiate policy liability against the insured for breach of policy condition. 

 

Having said that, section 10(1) of the MVIO provides that, in respect of the liability statutorily required to be covered under the MVIO (i.e. third party liability of bodily injury or death), the insurer of a compulsory motor insurance is generally liable to pay compensation to the injured person or deceased for liability arising out of the use of the insured motor vehicle notwithstanding the policy can be or had been cancelled or avoided.

 

The purpose of section 10(1) of the MVIO intends to offer a general protection to the victims (or the dependents of the victims) of traffic accidents a direct right against the insurers under the relevant compulsory motor insurance policies for seeking compensation and damages subject to certain procedural requirements under section 10(2). The direct recourse against the insurer exists regardless whether the insurer is entitled to repudiate policy liability against the car owner or the driver because of the operation of any exclusion or any breach of policy condition.  The insurer is nevertheless at liberty to seek contribution or indemnity against the default car owners or drivers pursuant to the provisions under the policy or other cause of action (if any).  For the avoidance of doubt, section 9(1) of the MVIO further provides that any policy condition providing no liability shall arise under a compulsory motor insurance policy shall be of no effect in connection with the claims under section 6(1)(b), i.e. the claim in respect of the third party liability of bodily injury or death arising out of the use of the insured motor vehicle on a road.

 

4. Effect of compulsory motor insurance against non-disclosure or misrepresentation of material facts

 

Although third parties’ direct right to seek compensation or damages against the insurer would not be affected by cancellation or avoidance of the motor insurance policy, such right may in certain circumstances cease. Under section 10(3) of the MVIO, an insurer may disclaim such right by obtaining a declaration that, apart from any provision contained in the relevant motor insurance policy, the insurer is entitled to avoid it on the ground that it was obtained by non-disclosure of a material fact, or by a representation of fact which was false in some material particular. 

 

The insurer must commence proceedings to obtain the declaration before or within 3 months after the third party’s action for compensation in respect of the liability of bodily injury or death. The insurer must also give notice to the relevant third party(ies) before or within 7 days after the commencement of the action initiated by the relevant third party(ies) specifying the non-disclosure or false representation.

 

Section 10(5) of the MVIO defines “material” as to the fact or information of such a nature as to influence the judgment of a prudent insurer in determining whether he will take the risk, and if so, at what premium and on what conditions.

 

D.   Motor Insurers’ Bureau of Hong Kong

 

The protection under the statutory compulsory motor insurance regime does not cover the following three situations: (i) the driver fails to take out any compulsory motor insurance policy in contravention with the MVIO, (ii) the liability of bodily injury or death is caused by an untraced driver, and (iii) the inability to pay compensation by the car owner and the driver coupled with the insolvency of the insurer concerned.

 

In order to remedy the above situations, the Motor Insurers’ Bureau of Hong Kong (“MIBHK”) was established in 1980 to administer a non-statutory compensation scheme.  All authorized insurers writing motor vehicle third party risks insurance are required by the Insurance Authority to become a member of MIBHK. The finance of MIBHK is generally supported by the levy and contribution made by the insurer members charged on its motor policy premium. 

 

Under this non-statutory scheme, MIBHK has undertaken to provide indemnity to the third party victims of uninsured drivers for liability subject of compulsory insurance under the MVIO, or compensation on an ex gratia and discretionary basis for untraced driver cases.  Insolvency fund is also maintained by MIBHK to avoid victims of traffic accidents left not compensated due to insolvency of the insurer concerned. 

 

Given the locality of the scheme, the victim (or the dependent of the victim) should note that the judgment for liability of bodily injury or death must be obtained at first instance (or on appeal) in a court of competent jurisdiction in Hong Kong, but not any court in other jurisdiction.

 

E.   Purchasing a suitable motor insurance

 

Apart from the level of premium, a car owner should also consider the nature and scope of coverage, the intended use of the vehicle, the amount of excess, the potential discount of “no claim bonus” (i.e. the rebate or discount of premium for no record of claim at subsequent renewal), and the jurisdictional / territorial issue where the vehicle is intended to be driven.

 

The opening of Hong Kong-Zhuhai-Macao Bridge (“HZM Bridge”) since 2019 illustrates a jurisdictional / territorial issue for motor insurance. The HZM Bridge is a cross-boundary connection between Hong Kong, the Mainland and Macao and the three jurisdictions are governed by different laws and have different statutory motor insurance requirements.  Vehicles from Hong Kong using the HZM Bridge are required to comply with the laws of all these jurisdictions. You may refer to the Frequently-asked Questions on HZM Bridge and the leaflet titled “Tips for Buying Insurance” available at the Insurance Authority’s website for the details and tips to consider in purchasing suitable motor insurance policy(ies) for your car.

Last revision date:

移至主內容

汽車保險

汽車保險的設計旨在為閣下及第三者的輛的損失或損以及為第三者身體受傷或死亡的法律責任提供保障汽車保險具不同的承保範圍例如該保險可承保閣下因意外而招致的維修 / 更換車輛的費用或可承保閣下因交通意外所需向傷者支付賠償的責任保障範圍會因應保單的條款及細則而有所不同

 

下述各段將概述汽車保險的主要類型:

 

1. 第三者責任保險

第三者責任險為閣下就第三者的財物損失申索及/或人身傷亡申索的法律責任提供保障。根據《汽車保險(第三者風險)條例》(272)(下稱「第三者風險保險條例」),必須就因汽車在道路上的使用所導致或引起任何人死亡或身體受傷而招致的法律責任,購買汽車保單。詳情可參閱第三節強制性汽車保險的內容。

 

2. 汽車的損失或損毀的保險

此類的保險承保閣下的車輛因交通意外、被火焚毁、盜竊或任何其他原因所引致損毀及損失。此等保單通常會訂明彌償的自負額(墊底費),即保單提供彌償前閣下需自行承擔的初始款額。

 

3. 綜合保

此類綜合保險同時就第三者財物損失申索及/或人身傷亡申索的法律責任,及閣下的車輛的損毀或損失,提供保障。一般而言,綜合保險的保費會較只承保第三者責任或汽車的損失或損毀的保險高。

 

保險公司會為受保人提供不同種類的汽車保險。閣下應選擇切合閣下需的有關保險。

 

B.  常見保險事宜

 

保單一般包含如保險條件及不保事項的合約條文保險條件是受保人以使有關保單或任何申索有效而需依循該條件作出特訂作為的義務不保事項條款於特定的情況下會免除保險公司的責任並訂明保單並不涵蓋的損失或損害故此閣下應於購買有關保單前小心謹慎地審閱有關條文的字眼並應遵從閣下保單載有的所有條款

 

1. 汽車使用限制條款

汽車保單普遍載有汽車使用限制條款該條款一般會述明承保範圍只會包括車用於特訂的用途例如用作日常社交及私人自用或用作受保人的業務或專業上的用途在此等情況下有關保單將不會承保車輛用於其他用途上例如汽車租、以收費形式接載乘客或賽車的用途)。故此為使閣下可以就招致的損毀或損失於保單下提出有效的申索遵從獲准的限制使用車輛是十分重要的

 

2. 獲授權司機

一般而言,汽車保單會為車主及獲授權或允許使用車輛的司機提供保障。如司機於未獲授權的情況下獲得有關車輛(例如透過盜竊的方法),該汽車保單將不會就未獲授權司機使用或駕駛該車輛而招致的責任提供保障。閣下亦應注意保單不會就並未持有有效駕駛執照的任何人士使用或駕駛該車輛而招致的法律責任提供彌償。

 

閣下的駕駛紀錄(如過往的索償紀錄及違反交通規例的紀錄)保險公司於評估風險和決定是否承保有關風險釐訂保費及其他保單條款。例如,就年輕及駕駛經驗不足的司機(例如法定年齡未及25歲或持有駕駛執照不足兩年的司機),保險公司可能會決定加置自負額(墊底費)條款的保單條款。

 

3. 其他條款

汽車保單普遍會具有要求受保人士於導致損失或損毀的事件發生後的特訂時間內向保險公司匯報該事件如車主或司機因使用該車輛而遭到檢控車主及司機應根據有關的保單條款及細則及時向保險公司報告該擬進行的檢控及有關案件的進度並將所有有關文件(例如檢控傳票、控罪書等遞交予保險公司延遲匯報受保事件或未有向保險公司遞交所有有關文件可能會構成保險公司拒絕受理閣下索償的理由

 

4. 不保事項

如所有其他類的保單,汽車保單載有不保事項條款,以免除或免保險公司於特的情況下向閣下支付賠償的責任。閣下應於購買汽車保單前細閱所有不保事項。以下列舉一些常見於汽車保單的不保事項供參考:

  1. 車輛於指定的地域 / 司法管轄區以外的地方使用
  2. 車主或司機未有遵守汽車使用限制條款
  3. 車輛由未獲授權的司機所使用
  4. 司機受到酒精或藥物影的情況下使用車輛
  5. 因戰爭、核能災難、罷工、暴動、騷亂、恐主義活動或任何其他特訂事件所招致的責任
  6. 車輛的使用未有遵從有關運載危險品的任何法律或規例

 

C.  強制性汽車保險

 

1. 第三者風險保險條例

第三者風險保險條例訂明強制性汽車保險的制度第三者風險保險條例4(1)條強制規定任何人在道路上使用汽車及允許其他人在道路上使用汽車任何人必須獲一份有效並符合法律規定就第三者風險承保的汽車保單所保障該規定旨在要求所有司機就潛在的第三方例如乘客、行人、其他車輛使用者等在香港可能招致的身體受傷或死亡的法律責任獲得保險的保障

 

強制性保險的涵蓋範圍並不延伸至受保人所僱用的人在受僱工作期間因工死亡或身體受傷所產生的法律責任即受強制性僱員補償保險承保的風險),及任何合約上的法律責任

 

汽車保險(第三者風險)規例》(272A章27條訂明法定汽車保單以一宗事故所引起的法律責任的最低承保款額為港幣100,000,000

 

2. 未有購買強制性汽車保險的後果

第三者風險保險條例4(2)條述明任何人包括車主或司機使用或允許其他人使用沒有強制性汽車保險承保的汽車屬干犯刑事罪行違反4(2)條規定的最高刑罰為可處罰款港幣10,000及監禁12個月。同時遭該條例定罪的人士將會被取消持有或領取駕駛執照的資格,取消的期間由法庭裁定,將為定罪之日起計不得少於12個月或多於3

 

3. 不保事項 / 違反保單條件對強制性汽車保險的影

一般而言,如事件發生的情況為不保事項的範圍內,或受保人違反了任何保單項下的保單條件,則保險公司無須向受保人提供任何彌償或保險公司將有權因受保人違反保條件就其保單責任拒絕作出

 

儘管如此,第三者風險保險條例10(1)條規定,就根據第三者風險保險條例規定須由保單承保的法律責任(即身體受傷或死亡的第三者法律責任),即使有關保單可被或已被廢止或取消,承保該強制性汽車保險的保險公司仍需就使用該受保汽車所招致的法律責任,向受傷人士或死者支付賠償。

 

第三者風險保險條例10(1)條的目的,旨在向遭受交通意外的受害人(或受害人的供養人)提供保障,以讓符合10(2)條規定的程序下,擁有可直接向承保該強制性汽車保險的保險公司申索及要求補償或損害賠償。該直接向保險公司申索的權利,並不會受到保險公司有權對車主或司機因不保事項或未有遵從保險條件而作出拒賠所影響。惟保險公司可自行選擇是否根據保單條款或其他訴訟因由(如有)違反保單的車主或司機追討分擔或彌償。為免生疑問,第三者風險保險條例9(1)條進一步訂明,任何導致就6(1)條的法律責任(即因汽車在道路上的使用所導致或引起任何人死亡或身體受傷而招致的法律責任)承保的強制性汽車保單作出的申索可免除責任的保單條件,將被視作為沒有任何效力。

 

4. 未有披露關鍵性事實或就關鍵性事實作出虛假陳述對強制性汽車保險的影響

儘管第三者直接向保險公司申索補償或損害賠償的權利並不會因有關保單的廢止或取消所影響,該等權利仍有可能於某特定情況下終結。根據第三者風險保險條例10(3)條,保險公司可透過獲取一項法宣布,表明在不涉及有關汽車保單所載的任何條文下,保險公司有權以保單是藉未有披露具關鍵性事實,或藉在具關鍵性項目上屬於虛假的事實陳述取得為理由,廢止該保單以終止該等直接申索的權利。

 

保險公司必須於第三者就身體受傷或死亡的法律責任索償提起訴訟前,或該訴訟提起3個月內,展開獲取有關宣布的法庭程序。保險公司亦必須於有關第三者提起訴訟前或該訴訟提起後的7天內,就其展開宣布申請的法庭程序通知該第三者,並指明有關未有披露或作出虛假述的關鍵性事實。

 

第三者風險保險條例10(5)條界定具關鍵性(material的事實或資料為其性質可影響任何審慎的保險人判斷是否接受有關風險,以及如接受有關風險則會以何種保費和以何種條件接受。

 

D.  香港汽車保險局

 

法定的強制性汽車保險並未能就下述的三個情況提供保障i) 司機違反第三者風險保險條例的規定未有購買強制性汽車保單;(ii 未能尋找到導致身體受傷或死亡的法律責任的肇事司機iii車主及司機並無財務能力支付賠償而有關保險公司同時面臨清盤

 

為處理上述情況,香港汽車保險局1980年成立旨在協助執行非法定的補償機制保險業監管局要求所有承保汽車第三者保險的獲授權保險公司均需成為香港汽車保險局的會員香港汽車保險局的財政一般由保險公司會員就汽車保單的保費收取的徵費及供款所支持

 

於該非法定的機制下,香港汽車保險局同意於司機未有承保的情況下向第三者受害人就第三者風險保險條例的強制性保險的法律責任提供彌償並於未能尋找肇事司機的案件中提供恩恤及酌的補償。香港汽車保險局同時亦維持清盤基金Insolvency Fund),以避免交通意外的受害人會因有關保險公司清盤而未能獲得補償

 

基於有關補償機制的本地性質交通意外的受害人或其供養人應注意必須於香港的司法管轄區的有關法院而不能在其他司法管轄區的法院),取得有關身體受傷或死亡法律責任的判決方可合資格根據有關機制申請補償

 

E.  購買合適的汽車保險

 

除了考慮保費的金額外車主於購買汽車保險時亦應考慮承保的範圍及性質、車輛擬作使用的用途、自負額(墊底費)的金額、保單是否包含無償折扣即於續保時保險公司同意因車主未有過往的索償紀錄所給予的保費回贈或折扣、以及車輛擬於哪些地域所使用

 

2019年通車的港珠澳大橋顯示了汽車保險的地域性問題港珠澳大橋為接通香港、內地及澳門三個不同司法管轄制度地域的交通樞紐而各地域具不同的適用法律及強制性汽車保險的規定由香港出發途經港珠澳大橋的車輛需要遵守該三地的不同法規閣下可參考刊載於保險業監管局網站上的「港珠澳大橋汽車保險安排」及「港珠澳大橋香港車輛投保貼士以了解更多詳情及為閣下的車輛購買合適的汽車保單所應考慮的資訊

修訂日期: