Skip to main content

6. I have taken out several insurance policies covering the same risk (e.g. hospital confinement or household damage). Can I claim for the sum insured under ALL policies or just the actual expenses/losses only? Is the claim for the death benefit under life insurance subject to different rules?

An insured person is not prevented by the law from purchasing any number of insurance policies covering the same item/person for the same risk. However, for insurance policies which are based in the indemnity principle, there is normally an "other insurance" clause in the insurance policy to address these situations so as to avoid the policyholder seeking to recover more than his loss.

 

The “other insurance” clause will set out the liability of the insurance company where the policyholder has also purchased "other insurance" to cover the same risk. The “other insurance” clause often provides for one of three results:

 

  • The most harsh “other insurance” clause provides that the insurance company will have no liability on the insured item/person in which the insured person has purchased other insurance (leaving all loss to be recovered from the other insurance policy).
  • The “other insurance” clause may provide that the insurance company will only be liable for the loss in excess of the cover for the risk provided by the other insurance policy (also known as an “excess” provision).
  • The “other insurance” clause may provide that the insurance company will only pay a pro-rata portion of the loss, with the other insurance policy.

 

The above are the types of “other insurance” clause commonly seen in medical, personal injury and property insurance policies (which are usually based on the indemnity principle).

 

“Other insurance” provisions aim to prevent the policyholder from obtaining unfair enrichment under the Common Law. In other words, the total amount of the claims payable under the "primary insurance" (the subject policy) together with the "other insurance" (the other policies) should not exceed the fair value of the repair or replacement of the insured item (i.e. the fact that the policyholder has multiple insurance policies should not enable him to recover more than his total loss or expenses incurred).

 

Accordingly, a policyholder can claim under all of his insurance policies. Depending on their terms, however, the claims may be adjusted according to the express provisions under the "other insurance" clauses in each of the policies. 

 

Example : You have taken out two medical insurance policies in which the sum insured for medical expenses is $10,000 for each policy (aggregate sum insured is $20,000). If your medical bill is $15,000, you can only obtain $10,000 from one of the policies and get $5,000 from the other one. (You cannot obtain $10,000 from one insurance policy and another $10,000 from the other insurance policy, because this would be more than your medical bill of $15,000).

 

The position as regards life insurance policy is different (as this is contingency insurance). Here, if there is nothing untoward (e.g. fraud or misrepresentation), the insurance company will be liable to pay in full regardless of there being other policies under which claims could also be made.

Last revision date:

移至主內容

6. 我為同一風險(例如住院或家居損毀)購買了幾份保單。我可以從所有保單索償全數保額,還是僅索償實際的開支/損失金額?人壽保險下的死亡賠償是否受不同規則約束?

法律不會阻止保人購買任何數量涵相同風險的同一項目/或同一人的保單。但是,對於賠償原則為基礎的保單,通常在保單中有一個「其他保險」條款來解決這些情況,從而避免保單持有人比損的還多

 

「其他保險」條款單持有人同時購買了「其他保險」以涵相同風險,保險公司將承擔責任。「其他保險」條款通常定以下三種結果之一:

 

  • 最嚴厲的「其他保險」條款規定,當投保人購了其險,保險公司對保項目/被保人承擔任何責任(所有損失可從其他保單中追討)。
  • 「其他保險」條款可規定,保險公司僅對超出其他保單所涵風險的損失承擔責任(也稱為「超額」規定)。
  • 「其他保險」條款可規定,保險公司將按照其他保單的比例支付損失的部分。

 

以上是「其他保險」條款的類型,於醫保單、人身傷害和財產保單(通常基於賠償原則)。

 

普通法「其他保險」條款旨在防止保單持有人獲得不公的致富。換句話說,根據「主要保險」(涉事保單)和「其他保險」(其他保單)應支付的賠總額不得超過被保項目的修或更換的理價值。(即,保單持有人有多種保單的實不應使他能夠追回超過其總損失或費用的額度)。

 

相應地保單持有人可以根據其所有保單進行索。但是,根據其條款,索償可以根據每保單中「其他保險」條款下的明確規定進行調整。

 

:購買了兩份醫療保險,其中每份保單的醫療費用保額為10,000美元(總保額為20,000美元)。如果的醫療費用為15,000美元,則只能從其中一份保單獲得10,000美元,而從另一份保單獲得5,000美元。 (不能從一份保單獲得10,000美元,而從另一份保單獲得10,000美元,因為這將超過的醫療費用15,000美元)。

 

於壽險保單的況有所不同(因為這是應急保險)。在這裡,如果沒有甚麼不妥當的地方(例如欺詐或虛假陳述),則保險公司將有任全額付款,論是否還有其他可提出索的保單。

修訂日期: