Skip to main content

4. I am a car owner. Am I bound to purchase third party liability insurance for my car under the law? What are the consequences if I fail to do so?

Section 4 of the Motor Vehicles Insurance (Third Party Risks) Ordinance (Cap. 272) requires all users (including a car owner and all permitted users or drivers) to have third party insurance covering the relevant motor vehicle. A car owner should arrange motor insurance for your car.

 

Any person who fails to purchase motor insurance for your car is liable for a fine of up to HK$10,000 and to an imprisonment of 12 months. The person convicted of the offence may also face a disqualification from driving for a period of between 12 months and 3 years.

 

In addition, you and the permitted driver(s) would have to bear the civil liability of bodily injury or death caused to any third party by any accident arising out of the use of your car without insurance cover. The potential amount of compensation payable by yourself or the driver could be substantial which may adversely affect your financial status or even results in your bankruptcy or insolvency.

Last revision date:

移至主內容

4. 我是一位車主法律是否規定我必須購買第三者責任保險如果我沒有購買有關保險會有甚後果

汽車保險(第三者風險)條例》(272章4條規定,任何人在道路上使用汽車(及允許其他人在道路上使用汽車的任何人),必須獲一份有效並符合法律規定就第三者風險承保的汽車保單所保障。因此,車主應該為其車輛安排購買有關汽車保險

 

任何人未有根據上述規例為其車輛購買汽車保險可被處以罰款港幣10,000元及監禁12 個月被定罪的人士更可能面臨被吊銷駕駛執照12個月至3

 

此外閣下及獲授權司機有可能需要承擔於使用閣下的車輛所引致意外導致任何第三者身體受傷或死亡所招致的民事法律責任有關閣下或司機所需承擔的賠償金額可能十分高昂並可能對閣下的財政狀況構成不良的影響,甚至乎導致閣下面臨破產或清盤

修訂日期: