Skip to main content

3. I am not the "registered owner" (my name is not written on the title deed of the flat which has been registered in the Land Registry) but I have paid part or all of the purchase money of the flat. Do I have a say in matters concerning the property? For example, can I prevent the "registered owner" from selling the property?

Although you are not the "registered owner", if whole or part of the purchase money comes from you, you may be the "beneficial owner" of the property. That is to say, the property may be held by the registered owner in trust either wholly or partly on your behalf. If you and the registered owner have respectively contributed half of the purchase money, your half share may be held by the registered owner on your behalf. You should immediately notify any intending purchaser and his solicitor of your beneficial interest. This could effectively stop the sale. Alternatively, you could claim against the registered owner for your share of the proceeds if the property is sold.

 

However, if you intended to buy the property and give it to the registered owner as a gift (in which you had clearly expressed that when you paid the money), your beneficial interest in relation to that property is arguable. That means you may not be able to stop the sale or claim for your share.

 

The above matters involve complex legal arguments in which legal advice must be sought.

Last revision date:

跳转到主要内容

3. 我不是物业的登记 / 注册业主(在土地注册处注册的楼契并无写上本人的姓名),但该物业的全部或部分楼价由我支付。我是否有该物业的话事权?我可否阻止「注册业主」出售物业?

虽然阁下并非物业的「注册业主」,但如确实支付了全部或部分楼价,则阁下仍可能是该物业的「实益拥有人」,而那位注册业主只是以信讬形式替阁下持有该物业的全部或部分权益。如果阁下与注册业主各付一半楼价,后者便可能是替阁下持有该物业的一半权益。阁下应立即通知买家及其代表律师有关上述权益,这可以有效地阻止该项买卖交易。如果物业经已卖出,阁下亦可向出售物业的注册业主追讨应得的款项 / 楼价。

 

但是,若阁下原本有意将物业送给那位注册业主(在早前付款时已清楚表明此意图) ,其后便未必能够讨回物业之实益权益。亦即是说,阁下未必可以阻止注册业主出售物业,或向业主追讨有关楼价。

 

上述事项涉及复杂的法律问题及争论,阁下必须寻求法律意见。

修订日期: