Skip to main content

6. As a purchaser, must I sign an estate agency agreement when I ask an agent to show me a flat?

With reference to section 45 of the Estate Agents Ordinance, you and your agent must sign an agency agreement before you purchase (or inspect) a residential property. Otherwise, the agent cannot serve you.

 

The Estate Agency Agreement for Purchase of Residential Properties in Hong Kong (Form 4) is designed for Purchasers . This agreement is provided by the Estate Agents Authority in accordance with the Estate Agents Ordinance. It must be duly signed by you and your agent. The items contained in this agency agreement include: the duties of the agent, the commission payable by the purchaser and the validity period of that agreement, etc.

 

You can download "Form 4" at Estate Agents Authority's webpage. You should read this agreement carefully before you sign it. If you do not understand any part of it, ask the agent or your solicitor. You should ask your agent to give you a copy of the agreement you have signed. You should also keep the agreement in a safe place for future reference if needed.

 

The estate agency agreement aims to provide protection to purchasers of residential properties who are mostly persons without much legal knowledge about property transactions. If you wish to purchase a non-residential property (such as commercial or industrial property) through an agent without signing an estate agency agreement, you still have protection from the statute laws of Hong Kong (e.g. the Estate Agents Ordinance), the regulations imposed by the Estate Agents Authority (e.g. the Code of Ethics), and Common Law. Nevertheless, your agent may ask you to sign an estate agency agreement. Since the Estate Agents Authority does not provide any recommended agreement form for non-residential property, you should read the agreement carefully before you sign it. If you have any questions, ask the agent or your solicitor.

Last revision date:

跳转到主要内容

6. 作为买方,如果我要求地产代理介绍楼盘及安排我视察单位,是否一定要签署地产代理协议?

根据《地产代理条例》(香港法例第511章第45条,在购买(或视察)放盘出售的住宅物业之前,阁下必须与地产代理签订代理协议,否则他们不能为阁下提供服务。

 

购买香港住宅物业用的地产代理协议(表格4)为买方而设,由地产代理监管局按《地产代理条例》提供,阁下与受讬的地产代理必须签订此协议。此代理协议的条款包括:地产代理的责任、买方须付的佣金及该协议的有效期等等。

 

阁下可透过地产代理监管局的网页下载「表格4」。阁下必须在签署前仔细阅读协议的内容,如果有不明白之处,请向受讬的地产代理或律师查询。在签署该协议后,阁下应该向地产代理索取一份副本,并好好保存以备日后翻阅。

 

因住宅物业的买家多数不完全了解物业交易的法律问题,地产代理协议之存在就是要保障他们。如果阁下打算透过地产代理买入非住宅物业(例如工商物业)而不签订地产代理协议,阁下仍会受香港成文法(例如地产代理条例)、地产代理监管局的规则(例如执业守则)及普通法的保障。不过,地产代理可能仍会要求阁下签订代理协议。因地产代理监管局没有就非住宅物业之代理协议提供范本格式,阁下必须详阅协议的内容才签署此类文件,如果有任何问题,请向地产代理或律师查询。

修订日期: