Skip to main content

C. Implications of Spent Convictions

Subject to some important exceptions in s. 4 of the RHO, where a conviction is spent, no evidence tending to show that the person was convicted in Hong Kong is admissible in any proceedings in Hong Kong. Subject to the exceptions in s. 4 of the RHO, the conviction, or its non-disclosure, is not a lawful or proper ground for dismissal or exclusion from any office, profession, occupation or employment or for prejudice against that person in the person’s office, profession, occupation or employment. This means that an employee with a spent conviction must not be treated less favourably than other employees because of that conviction.

 

Section 3(1) of the RHO provides that the provisions about spent convictions in s. 2(1) of the RHO do not affect the recovery of any fine ordered on that conviction. An offender given time to pay might, for example, leave Hong Kong without paying the fine. The fine is still enforceable even if that person returns to Hong Kong more than three years after the date of the sentence. Even if the conviction is spent under s. 2(1) of the RHO, there is still an obligation to pay the fine.

 

Section 3(3) of the RHO states that previous convictions, even if spent, can come into evidence on sentencing for subsequent offences. It is important that the court has the full picture of an offender before sentencing. Though a previous record is not a reason to increase a sentence, a repeat offender cannot expect to be treated as a first offender. However, in practice courts tend to disregard spent convictions, especially if there has been a long period between the offences.

Last revision date:

移至主內容

C. 「已喪失時效」的定罪之含義

除《罪犯自新條例第4條另有規定外,如定罪已喪失時效,所有傾向顯示該罪犯在香港曾被如此定罪的證據,均不得在任何程序中被接納。除《罪犯自新條例第4條另有規定外,任何人不得以該項定罪本身為由、或以罪犯沒有披露該定罪為由,令該罪犯從任何職位、專業、職業或受僱工作中被解僱、排除或蒙受不利,這並非合法或正當理由。也就是說,如果一名曾犯罪的僱員,其定罪已喪失時效,他/她不得因該定罪而受到比其他僱員較差的待遇。

 

罪犯自新條例第3(1)條規定,條例第2(1)條有關已喪失時效之定罪的條文,並不影響法庭追討定罪判處的罰款。例如,罪犯獲准於若干時間內繳交罰款,但他/她可能未繳付罰款便離開香港;即使他/她在判刑後3年以上才回港,法庭仍然可以向他/她强制執行該罰款令。也就是說,即使他/她的定罪已根據《罪犯自新條例》被視為已喪失時效,仍然有責任繳付罰款。

 

罪犯自新條例第3(3)條規定,如某人其後再被定罪,他/她那已喪失時效的定罪是可以被接納為證據,作為法庭量刑之用。法庭判刑前必須全面了解罪犯的刑事紀錄。雖然以往曾被定罪不是加重刑罰的原因,但再次犯罪的罪犯,不能期望刑罰會與初次犯罪一樣。然而,法庭一般傾向不理會已喪失時效的定罪,尤其該定罪已事隔多年。

修訂日期: