Skip to main content

2. Situations Where Spent Convictions Must be Disclosed

There are many situations in the RHO where convictions must be disclosed even though they are spent. In these situations, there is no protection from disclosure of the criminal record. These situations relate to particularly sensitive areas or where the public interest justifies the requirement to disclose all convictions even if they are spent.

 

Under s. 4 of the RHO, all previous convictions, including spent convictions, must be disclosed when an application is made for employment as a police officer, a correctional services officer, a fire services officer, a barrister, a solicitor or an accountant. All previous convictions, including spent convictions, must be disclosed in disciplinary proceedings against a person practising as a barrister, a solicitor or an accountant, and in disciplinary proceedings against persons holding the prescribed offices set out in the Schedule to the RHO, such as a police officer, a correctional services officer or certain high ranking government employees.

 

Similarly under s. 4 of the RHO, all previous convictions must be disclosed by anyone applying to become a trustee or controller for a  Mandatory Provident Fund, a bank controller, a judicial officer or a probation officer; an employee of the Hong Kong Monetary Authority, Mandatory Provident Fund Schemes Authority, or Office of the Commissioner of Insurance and Securities and Futures; or Government officials who are paid on any Directorate or Directorate Pay Scale, or those above point 27 on the Master Pay Scale.

 

In all of the above cases, the overwhelming public interest in ensuring that only suitable people are appointed to those positions justifies full disclosure of any criminal convictions. The requirement to disclose does not automatically mean the application for employment will be rejected. Full disclosure is required so that the applicant’s suitability for the position applied for can be properly assessed.

 

Failure to disclose will justify termination of employment and possibly amount to the criminal offence of obtaining pecuniary advantage by deception, contrary to s. 18 of the Theft Ordinance (Cap. 210). Failure to disclose convictions which should be disclosed could lead to obtaining employment or a position which would not otherwise have been obtained. The pecuniary advantage gained by the failure to disclose is the opportunity to earn remuneration in that employment or position.

Last revision date:

跳转到主要内容

2. 必须披露已丧失时效之定罪的情况

罪犯自新条例》列明不少必须披露已丧失时效之定罪的情况。在这些情况下,法例并不保障相关刑事纪录不会被披露。当中有些情况是与特别敏感的范畴有关的,有些情况则因应公众利益而要求相关人士披露所有定罪,包括已丧失时效的定罪。

 

根据《罪犯自新条例第4条,所有希望申请成为警务人员、惩教署主任、消防员、大律师、事务律师或会计师的求职者,都必须披露他们所有的定罪纪录,包括已丧失时效的定罪。在对担任大律师、事务律师或会计师的人进行的纪律处分程序中,都必须披露当事人所有的定罪纪录,包括已丧失时效的定罪。这项规定同样适用于对担任订明职位的人所进行的纪律处分程序;订明的职位已详列于《罪犯自新条例》的附表,其中包括警务人员、惩教署主任或某些政府高官。

 

同样,希望申请以下职位的人士,都必须披露所有的定罪纪录,包括已丧失时效的定罪:强制性公积金受托人或控权人、银行控制人、司法人员或感化主任、香港金融管理局雇员、强制性公积金计划管理局雇员、保险业监理处雇员、证券期货事务监察委员会雇员、薪俸属首长薪级或首长薪级的政府官员、或薪俸在总薪级表第27薪点或以上的政府官员。

 

以上所述的情况都是基于公众利益,要求申请人必须披露所有定罪纪录,是确保唯有合适人选才获委任担任该些职位。要求他们披露这些资料,并不意味求职申请会自动被拒绝。要求详尽披露,是为了可以恰当地评估求职者是否适宜担任该职位。

 

任何人没有披露相关资料,不但会因此而被解雇,还有可能触犯《盗窃罪条例》(香港法例第210章第18条“以欺骗手段取得金钱利益”罪。若当事人有披露的定罪纪录,可能不会受聘于该工作或职位;而他/她没有披露理应披露的定罪纪录并获聘用,并且藉该工作或职位赚取报酬,便足以构成条例所指的“金钱利益”。

修订日期: