Skip to main content

14. If I am detained in the police station and I want to be released, what should I do?

You should first ask the police whether you can be released on bail. The police should grant bail to an accused person unless the alleged offence is serious or there is other good reason to detain the accused. Bail will usually be granted subject to a cash deposit or conditions of recognizance. The police will direct the accused to return to the police station or to appear in court on a specified date.

 

If bail is not granted by the police, then the police will have a duty to bring the accused to the Magistrates' Court as soon as practicable (normally in the following morning). The accused may apply to the Magistrate for bail at the first hearing. If bail is refused by the Magistrate, the accused may apply to a judge of the Court of First Instance of High Court for the grant of bail.

 

Bail should generally be granted by the court unless there is substantial ground for believing that the accused will fail to appear at the next scheduled hearing, or commit other offences whilst on bail, or interfere with witnesses or the investigation. For more details on this matter, please refer to section 9D and section 9G of the Criminal Procedure Ordinance.

Last revision date:

跳转到主要内容

14. 如果我被扣留在警署内,而我想保释外出,可以怎办?

首先,阁下应询问警方可否申请保释外出。如果被控的罪行不严重,而警方又没有理由去继续扣留被告,便应该会批准保释。被告可以现金或承诺遵守担保条件保释外出。警方会指示被告在何时要返回警署,或到法庭应讯。

 

如果警方不批准保释,便有责任尽快将被告带往裁判法院提讯(通常在落案控告之后那个早上)。被告可在裁判法院首次聆讯时申请保释。如裁判官仍拒绝其保释申请,被告可再向高等法院原讼庭法官申请。

 

除非法庭认为被告有可能在下次聆讯时缺席、在保释期间再犯案、骚扰证人或阻碍调查,否则便通常会批准保释。有关这方面的更多资料,可参阅《刑事诉讼程序条例》(第221章第9D条9G条

修订日期: