Skip to main content

2. Under what circumstances can the police stop and search me in a public area?

As mentioned in the previous Q&A, police officers may stop a person acting in a suspicious manner. In addition to stopping and questioning, the police officers can search that person for anything that may present a danger to the police officers.

 

Under section 54(2) of the Police Force Ordinance (Cap. 232), police officers may also stop a person whom they reasonably suspect of having committed, or being about to commit, or intending to commit, an offence. The police officers may require that person show his ID card or passport and may detain that person on the spot for such time as is reasonable to make inquiries. The police officers can also search that person for anything likely to be of value to the investigation of the suspected offence. The suspicion on the part of the police officers in these circumstances must be “reasonable”, which is to be judged on an objective basis with valid reasons. For example, the actions of a person who is carrying a knife and waiting nervously outside a jewellery shop may give rise to a reasonable suspicion.

 

No matter whether the police officers exercise their power to search a person under section 54(1) or (2) of the Police Force Ordinance (Cap. 232), there is no power to seize anything found on the person being searched.

 

The police also have the power to stop, search and detain any vehicle in or upon which there is reason to suspect that anything stolen or unlawfully obtained may be found (section 55 of the Police Force Ordinance).

 

Where the police reasonably believe an unlawful assembly or riot has occurred, is occurring, or may occur in any place, and offensive weapons have been or may be used during such an offence, they may stop and search any person in a public place within the vicinity to ascertain whether or not that person is guilty of such an offence (section 33(6) of the Public Order OrdinanceCap. 245).

 

A person can be searched only by a police officer of the same sex . If there is no female police officer on the spot to search a female suspect, that woman should be brought to the nearest police station so that the search can be carried out by a female officer.

 

Under section 50(6) of the Police Force Ordinance, police officers may search an arrested person and take possession of anything they may reasonably suspect to be of value to the investigation of the suspected offence.

Last revision date:

跳转到主要内容

2. 在什么情况下,警务人员可以在公众地方截停及向我进行搜身?

正如之前的问答所述,警务人员可以截停任何形迹可疑的人。除截停及查问外,警务人员如发现有任何可能会危害到他们的物品,也可以向该人进行搜身。

 

根据《警队条例》(第232章第54(2)条,警务人员如合理地怀疑某个人已经犯罪、或即将犯罪、或有意图犯罪,便可截停该人。警务人员可要求该人出示身分证或护照,亦可当场把该人扣留一段合理时间以作出查问。警务人员也可以向该人搜查任何有调查价值的物品。在此情况下,警务人员的合理怀疑必须根据事实情况而作出客观判断,例如某人在珠宝店外慌张地等候并手持刀子,便可令警员有合理怀疑。

 

无论警务人员根据《警队条例》(第232章第54(1)条还是第54(2)条行使搜查某人的权力,警务人员都无权检取在被搜查人士身上发现的任何物品。

 

警方如有合理怀疑在任何车辆内,藏有偷窃或非法得来的物品,便有权截停、搜查及扣留该车辆(《警队条例第55条)。

 

当警方有相当理由相信,任何地方经已进行 / 正在进行 / 即将进行非法集会或暴乱,以及有人曾使用 / 可能使用武器,警方可以在邻近现场的任何公众地方截停及搜查任何人士,以确定该人是否干犯相关罪行(《公安条例》(第245章)第33(6)条)。

 

警务人员不可以向异性进行搜身。 如要向一位女性搜身,而当时没有女警在场,该女子便应被带到最就近的警署,由女警为她进行搜身。

 

根据《警队条例》 第50(6)条,警务人员可以向任何被捕人士进行搜查,并捡走任何有调查价值的物品。

修订日期: