Skip to main content

1. Under what circumstances can the ICAC officers enter a private premises and search for items inside? Must the ICAC officers obtain a warrant beforehand?

 

Entry and search with a court warrant

 

The ICAC officers can enter and search any premises with a search warrant.

 

According to section 17 of the Prevention of Bribery Ordinance, an ICAC officer may apply to a Magistrate or a Judge of the High Court for a warrant to search any private premises. In order to obtain the search warrant, the officer must satisfy the c ourt that there are reasonable grounds to believe that there is evidence of an offence under the Prevention of Bribery Ordinance inside such premises. In urgent cases, the search warrant can be granted by the Commissioner of the ICAC instead of the court. Where the Commissioner reasonably believes the making of an application for the issue of such a warrant would seriously hinder the investigation, he may issue his own search warrant to direct his ICAC officers to enter and search the premises or place.

 

A further power of search can be found in section 10B of the ICAC Ordinance. A search warrant may be granted by a Magistrate for the purpose of entering and searching premises or places for evidence of specified offences under section 10 of the ICAC Ordinance (e.g. offences under the Prevention of Bribery Ordinance or the Elections (Corrupt and Illegal Conduct) Ordinance; or offences of theft, fraud, false accounting etc ).

 

Entry and Search without any court warrant

 

However, it is not always necessary for the ICAC officers to obtain a search warrant. Under section 10(3) of the ICAC Ordinance, the ICAC officers may enter and search private premises without warrant for the purpose of arrest ing a person if they reasonably believe that person is in side the premises . The officers must first identify themselves and state the purpose of the search. The officers must also produce their warrant cards upon request .

 

Otherwise the ICAC officers have no general power to enter into private premises without the consent of the owner or occupant

Last revision date:

跳转到主要内容

1. 在什么情况下,廉署人员可以进入私人地方及搜查内里物品?他们是否要先取得搜查令才可行动?

 

持有法庭手令下进入及搜查

 

若廉署人员持有法庭手令(又称搜查令),便可进入任何单位或地方进行搜查。

 

根据《防止贿赂条例》(第201章第17条,廉署人员可以向裁判官或高院法官申请搜查令,以搜查任何私人单位或地方。如法庭认为有理由相信在该单位内,有触犯《防止贿赂条例》的证据,法庭便会发出搜查令。但若果情况紧急,搜查令可由廉政专员而并非由法庭发出。如廉政专员认为经法庭申请搜令将会严重妨碍调查,他或会直接发出搜查令。

 

有关廉署搜查权力的进一步资料,可参阅《廉政公署条例》(第204章第10B条。为了收集某些罪行的证据(例如违反《防止贿赂条例》或《选举(舞弊及非法行为)条例》;盗窃、欺诈或伪造帐目等罪行),裁判官也可发出搜查令,授权廉署人员进入及搜查有关地方。

 

没有法庭手令下进入及搜查

 

廉署人员未必一定要持有搜查令才可采取行动。根据《廉政公署条例第10(3)条,如廉署人员须进行拘捕行动,并有理由相信须予逮捕的人已经身处有关单位内 ,便可进入及搜查该单位而毋须出示搜查令。廉署人员亦必须表明身分以及说明其搜查目的,若有任何人要求廉署人员提供身分证明,他们亦必须出示其委任证。

 

除上述之外,廉署人员无权进入私人地方,除非他们事先取得业主或占用人之同意。

修订日期: