Skip to main content

2. Under what circumstances can the ICAC officers arrest a person? Must they obtain a warrant of arrest beforehand?

A warrant of arrest is not required. The ICAC officers may arrest a person they reasonably suspect of being guilty of an offence under the Independent Commission Against Corruption Ordinance, the Prevention of Bribery Ordinance, or the Elections (Corrupt and Illegal Conduct) Ordinance. What constitutes reasonable suspicion in a particular case is to be judged on an objective basis with valid reasons.

 

Examples of these offences include: a civil servant accepted advantages without the Chief Executive's permission when performing an official duty, or staff of a private company released tendering information to bidders in return for some advantages and such information has assisted those bidders in securing a contract. If you want to view more examples concerning corruption, please visit the ICAC webpage.

 

The ICAC officers have a duty to explain to the person under arrest the reason for the arrest, and to inform the arrested person that he has a right to remain silent. Hence, the arrested person can choose not to answer any questions asked by the ICAC officers .

 

It should be noted that a person is not under arrest if that person is merely asked by the ICAC officers to assist in their investigation or to go to the ICAC Office. Unless the person is formally arrested, he is free to decide whether or not to go with the ICAC officers, and is free to leave at any stage.

Last revision date:

跳转到主要内容

2. 在什么情况下,廉署人员可以拘捕一个人?他们是否要先取得拘捕令才可行动?

未必需要拘捕令。廉署人员如合埋地怀疑某人可能已触犯《廉政公署条例》、《防止贿赂条例》或《选举(舞弊及非法行为)条例》,便可拘捕该人。至于怎样才算是合埋怀疑,则由廉署人员按现场的事实情况而作出客观判断。

 

上述罪行的例子包括:一名公务员在履行公职时,在未经行政长官许可下而收受利益;或一名私人公司职员为了协助竞投者成功取得合约,向竞投者透露投标资料,而职员因此获得利益。如果阁下想知道更多有关贪污的例子,可浏览廉政公署网页

 

廉署人员需要即时告知被捕人其被捕原因及享有保持缄默的权利。因此,被捕人可选择是否回答廉署人员的问题。

 

如有人纯粹被廉署人员要求协助调查,或被要求前往廉署办公室,此人未有被正式拘捕。在此情况下,他可自行决定是否跟随廉署人员返办公室,若然已经身在廉署,亦可随时离开。

修订日期: