Skip to main content

3. What will normally happen after a person is arrested by the ICAC officers? What are his rights during detention and questioning by the ICAC officers?

 

Detention

 

A person arrested by the ICAC may be taken to a police station and dealt with under the Police Force Ordinance, or may be taken to an ICAC office. If an arrested person is taken to an ICAC office, he may be detained there if an officer of the rank of a Senior Commission Against Corruption Officer or higher considers it necessary for the purpose of further inquiries.

 

The rights of a person in ICAC custody can be found in the Independent Commission Against Corruption (Treatment of Detained Persons) Order (Cap. 204A) . According to the Order, a "Notice to Persons Detained" setting out the general rights of a detained person must be conspicuously displayed in every detention room. These rights include:

 

  • Requesting that the detained person's relatives or a friend be informed of the detention;
  • Communicating and consulting with a legal adviser (unless unreasonable delay or hindrance will likely be caused to the processes of investigation or the administration of justice);
  • Asking to be released on bail;
  • Being provided with drinking water upon request, adequate food and refreshment as well as medical care if necessary.

Detailed contents of the Notice to Persons Detained can be found here.

 

An arrested person may be released from custody on the deposit of a reasonable sum of money. The amount of such a sum is determined by a Senior Commission Against Corruption Officer or an officer of higher rank. A person may also be released on bail by providing such recognizance, with such sureties, as the senior officer deems necessary. Persons released on bail must further attend the offices of the ICAC as specified or appear before a M agistrate as required. Failure to attend will result in the forfeiture of the deposited sum or recognizance.

 

If bail is refused, the detained person must be brought before a Magistrate as soon as practicable and in any event within 48 hours after arrest.

 

Questioning and Interviewing by ICAC officers

 

The questioning of the detained person is usually done by the ICAC officers by way of a video-taped interview. Before questioning and interviewing the detained person, the ICAC officers must caution that person by saying, "You are not obliged to say anything unless you wish to do so but whatever you say will be put into writing and may be given in evidence." The detained person has a right to remain silent, and may therefore choose whether or not to attend the video-taped interview or answer any questions posed by the ICAC officers . The detained person may also request to obtain legal advice before deciding whether or not to answer any questions. The detained person may also have his lawyer present during the questioning and taking of any statement. Upon conclusion of the interview , the ICAC officers must provide the interviewee with a copy of the taped interview or the written statement (as the case may be) .

Last revision date:

跳转到主要内容

3. 被廉署人员拘捕后,通常会怎样?在扣留及查问期间,被捕人士可享有什么权利?

 

扣留

 

被廉署拘捕的人,可被带到警署并根据《警队条例》处理。被捕人亦可被带到廉署办公室。如果高级廉政主任或更高职级的廉署人员认为,被带到廉署的被捕人需要被进一步查问,该人便可能要被扣留。

 

关于被扣留人士之权利,可参阅《廉政公署(被扣留者的处理)令》(第204A章)。根据该令,一份 “致被扣留者的告示”必须展示在每个扣留房间内的显眼位置。部分重要权利包括:

 

  • 通知家人或朋友被扣留之情况;
  • 谘询法律意见(除非谘询过程会对廉署人员之调查造成不合理延误或引致司法不公);
  • 要求申请保释;
  • 获供应食物饮料,并在有需要时获得医疗协助。

被扣留人士或可以现金保释外出,金额由高级廉政主任或更高职级的廉署人员订定。如廉署人员认为有需要时,被捕人士亦可以担保方式(可能需要另请担保人)保释外出。保释人士必须要在指定时间下再回到廉署办公室,或依照指示到裁判法院应讯。缺席的话,其保释金或担保金便会被充公。

 

除非被扣留人士获得保释,否则该人必须尽快被带到裁判法院应讯(无论如何在被捕后48小时内)。

 

在扣留期间被盘问

 

盘问过程通常会被录影。廉署人员录取口供前,必须用以下的警诫词来警诫被扣留人士:“唔系事必要你讲,除非你想讲,但你所讲的一切都会记录下来,并可能成为呈堂证供。”该人有权保持缄默,因而可选择是否接受盘问或是否回答任何问题,亦可要求先谘询法律意见才决定是否回答,及要求律师陪同落口供。盘问完毕后,廉署人员必须给予该人一盒盘问过程之录影带或一份口供副本。

修订日期: