Skip to main content

B. The Rehabilitation of Offenders Ordinance

As criminal law is concerned with the rehabilitation of offenders rather than simply punishment, in certain limited situations, convictions may become “spent”. A spent conviction is a conviction which, under the provisions of the Rehabilitation of Offenders Ordinance (Cap. 297) (“RHO”), is, subject to some exceptions, ignored after a specified period of time.

 

The objective of the RHO is to allow offenders to put a past mistake behind them. When a conviction has become “spent” under the RHO, offenders can, subject to exceptions set out in the RHO, claim not to have a criminal record, and the spent conviction cannot be held against them. Unless convictions are regarded as spent, they remain on the offenders’ records for the rest of their lives. The spent conviction provisions of the RHO apply only within Hong Kong. Even when a conviction is spent under the RHO, applicants for visas to visit a foreign country are required to disclose any convictions they have.

 

Under section 2(1) of the RHO, subject to certain exceptions, the conviction of a person who is not sentenced to imprisonment exceeding three months, whether that sentence takes effect immediately or is suspended, or to a fine exceeding $10,000, and who has not previously been convicted in Hong Kong of any offence will be treated as spent once three years has elapsed without another conviction for an offence in Hong Kong. The “spent” conviction provisions of the RHO are very limited. They apply only if there has not been a previous conviction, if the present conviction is dealt with by imprisonment not exceeding three months or a fine not exceeding $10,000, and if the person is not convicted of a subsequent offence within the three-year qualifying period.

 

If a conviction has become spent section 2(1)(c)(i)(ii)(iii) of the RHO provide that, subject to section 3(3) and (4)of the RHO, no evidence about that conviction is admissible in any proceedings. Neither the spent conviction nor any failure to disclose it justifies dismissal or exclusion from any office, profession, occupation or employment or any form of prejudice in that office, profession, occupation or employment.

 

It is the length of the prison sentence imposed that counts, not the actual time served. Under Rule 69 of the Prison Rules (Cap. 234A), a person sent to prison for a period of more than one month may, on the ground of industry and good conduct, be granted remission of sentence. That remission cannot exceed one third of the sentence imposed by the court. For example, a person sentenced to imprisonment for 120 days (i.e. four months) might, allowing for good conduct, be released after serving 80 days (less than three months).  However, the conviction cannot become spent because the sentence imposed exceeded three months’ imprisonment.

 

If an offender is convicted of more than one offence at the same court hearing, the spent conviction provisions in section 2 of the RHO still apply, provided the sentence for each offence does not exceed three months’ imprisonment or a fine of $10,000. In addition, the aggregate sentence cannot exceed three months' imprisonment or a fine of $10,000, irrespective of whether the sentences run concurrently or consecutively (one after the other).

Last revision date:

移至主內容

B. 《罪犯自新條例》

刑事法的精神在於讓罪犯改過自新,而非單單懲罰罪犯。故此,在某些特定情況下,定罪可被視為「已喪失時效」。根據《罪犯自新條例》(香港法例第297章),已喪失時效的定罪是指特定時間後可被忽略的定罪,條例另有規定者除外。

 

罪犯自新條例》旨在讓罪犯擺脫過去犯錯的羈絆。如果罪犯的定罪是根據《罪犯自新條例》而被視為「已喪失時效」,除非條例另有規定,該罪犯可以自稱沒有刑事紀錄,任何人亦不可因那「已喪失時效」的定罪,而對該罪犯有負面評價。如果定罪並非被視為「已喪失時效」,則會終身記錄在案。《罪犯自新條例》只適用於香港。申請外國訪客簽證的人士,即使其定罪是根據《罪犯自新條例》而被視為「已喪失時效」,他/她於申請時,仍須披露該定罪及所有其他定罪。

 

根據《罪犯自新條例第2(1)條,被定罪的人士,如果被判處不超過3個月的監禁(不論是即時執行或暫緩執行)或不超過1萬元罰款,並且是首次在香港被定罪,只要他/她3年內在香港沒有再被定罪,其定罪便會被視為「已喪失時效」。《罪犯自新條例》中有關「已喪失時效的定罪」之規定,可應用的範圍十分有限。該條例只適用於以往從未曾被定罪的人,而且其目前定罪的判刑,必須是不超過3個月監禁或不超過罰款1萬元,而他/她必須於被定罪後3年內沒有再被定罪。

 

根據《罪犯自新條例第2(1)(c)(i)(ii)(iii)條,除第3(3)及(4)條另有規定外,如果罪犯的定罪被視為「已喪失時效」,所有有關該定罪的證據均不得在任何程序中被接納。換言之,該「已喪失時效」的定罪、或罪犯不披露該定罪,均不得作為將他/她從任何職位、專業、職業或受僱工作撤除或排除的理由,亦不得作為令他/她在該職位、專業、職業或受僱工作上蒙受任何不利的理由。

 

條例所指的監禁期,是指被判處的監禁刑期,而非實際服刑時間。根據《監獄規則》(香港法例第234A章第69條,如果被囚罪犯的實際刑期超過1個月,他/她可因勤奮及行為良好而獲得減刑。但扣減刑期不得超過法庭判處之監禁刑期的三之分一。例如,一名被法庭判處監禁120日(即4個月)的人,可以因行為良好而於服刑80日(少於3個月)後獲得釋放。然而,他/她的定罪並不能夠根據《罪犯自新條例》而被視為「已喪失時效」,因為他/她被法庭判處的監禁刑期超過3個月。

 

如果罪犯在同一法庭聆訊中,被判多於一項定罪,只要每項定罪分別所處的刑罰不超過3個月監禁或罰款1萬元,《罪犯自新條例第2條有關「已喪失時效的定罪」之規定,依然會適用。除此之外,不論各項定罪所處的刑罰是同期執行或分期執行(即一項接著一項),合計刑期不能多於監禁3個月,罰款合計亦不能多於1萬元。

修訂日期: