Skip to main content

2. Orders for Detention

For the purposes of the RHO, “imprisonment” does not include orders for detention in a reformatory school, a detention centre, training centre, rehabilitation centre or place of detention. These orders relate to offenders under 25. With these offenders, the emphasis is on long-term reform and rehabilitation, rather than punishment. They are indeterminate sentences in the sense that the court makes an order confining the offender to a reformatory school, detention centre, training centre, rehabilitation centre or other place of detention without specifying the duration of the detention.

 

Subject to serving a minimum period of detention, such offenders are released when the Commissioner for Correctional Services is satisfied they are fit to be released. Training centre, detention centre and rehabilitation centre orders involve post-release supervision, which is an important part of long-term reform and rehabilitation. This post-release supervision affects the calculation of the three-year period for spent convictions. Under s. 2(2)of the RHO, the conviction of a person sentenced to a training centre, detention centre or rehabilitation centre becomes spent only after three years from the end of the period of post-release supervision.

 

Training centre orders can be made for males and females aged between 14 and 21 who have committed an offence punishable with imprisonment, except where the sentence is fixed by law. An example of a sentence fixed by law is murder, for which the only penalty is life imprisonment. Offenders can be detained in a training centre for a maximum of three years. A minimum period of six months’ detention must be served before the offender can be considered for release.

 

Detention centre orders may be made for males aged between 14 and 25 convicted of an offence punishable by imprisonment, except where the sentence for the offence is fixed by law. Offenders aged 21 or over are detained in a detention centre for not less than three months or more than 12 months. Offenders aged under 21 are detained for not less than one month and not more than six months.

 

A Rehabilitation Centre Order can be made for males and females aged between 14 and 21. Offenders are detained for not less than three months and not more than nine months.

 

The period of post-release supervision to which offenders released from a training centre, detention centre or rehabilitation centre are subject means that the three-year qualifying period for the conviction to become spent runs only from the completion of the period of post-release supervision. An offender sent to a training centre could be released, for example, after nine months, provided the Commissioner for Correctional Services considers he or she fit for release.

 

However, under s. 5 of the Training Centres Ordinance (Cap.280), that offender may be subject to supervision by a probation officer for a period of up to three years from the date of release. The conviction which led to the training centre order becomes spent only three years after the post-release supervision period has ended.

Last revision date:

移至主內容

2. 羈留的命令

罪犯自新條例》所指的「監禁」並不包括法庭判處羈留於感化院、勞教中心、教導所、更生中心或羈留院。這些刑罰是針對25歲以下的罪犯的。對於這些罪犯,幫助他們改過自新,比懲罰他們更重要。這類羈留式刑罰沒有固定執行期限,法庭判處下令將罪犯羈留在感化院、勞教中心、教導所、更生中心或羈留院,但不會指明羈留時期。

 

當這些罪犯服刑達到最短羈留期限,而懲教署署長又滿意其表現,認為適宜釋放他們,他們便可以獲釋。教導所、勞教中心和更生中心的羈留刑罰附設獲釋後的監管,長遠而言對罪犯改過自新十分重要。獲釋後的監管時期,會影響計算定罪是否符合「已喪失時效」的3年期限。根據《罪犯自新條例第2(2)條,對於被判入教導所、勞改中心或更生中心受羈留的罪犯,他們的定罪只會在獲釋後接受監管期滿之日起計3年後,才可被視為「已喪失時效」。

 

教導所命令適用於觸犯可處監禁罪行、14至21歲的男性及女性罪犯,如其觸犯之罪行在法律上已有固定刑罰,則此命令不適用(例如謀殺罪,其刑罰已由法律固定,罪犯只可被處終身監禁)。罪犯最長可被羈留於教導所3年。罪犯必須被羈留最少6個月,才可獲考慮釋放。

 

勞教中心命令適用於觸犯可處監禁罪行、14至25歲的男罪犯,如其觸犯之罪行在法律上已有固定刑罰,則此命令不適用。21歲或以上的罪犯,可被羈留在勞教中心3至12個月;21歲以下的罪犯,則可被羈留1至6個月。

 

更生中心命令適用於14歲至21歲的男性及女性罪犯,可被羈留3至9個月。

 

對於被判入教導所、勞改中心或更生中心的罪犯來說,其定罪是否已喪失時效,應由他們獲釋後並接受獲釋後監管期滿之日起開始計算。例如一名被判入教導所的罪犯,在懲教署署長認為他適宜被釋放的情況下,可於服刑9個月之後獲釋。而根據《教導所條例》(香港法例第280章第5條,該罪犯可被規定在獲釋後受感化主任監管長達3年。他的定罪只會在他監管期屆滿之後3年,才可被視為已喪失時效。

修訂日期: