Skip to main content

A. Criminal Records

The most serious criminal offences in Hong Kong, such as murder, manslaughter and rape are triable only upon indictment before a judge and jury in the Court of First Instance. Some offences, such as theft and robbery, are triable in either the Court of First Instance, the District Court or the Magistrates’ Courts. Where an offence can be tried in any one of the three, the prosecution decides which court will deal with the offence based upon the likely sentence upon conviction after trial. If the likely sentence will not exceed two years’ imprisonment, the case will be dealt with in the Magistrates’ Courts. If the likely sentence will be between two and seven years’ imprisonment, the case will be dealt with in the District Court. If the likely sentence will exceed seven years’ imprisonment, the case will be dealt with in the Court of First Instance. Some offences, such as resisting public officers in the lawful execution of their duty, contrary to section 23 of the Summary Offences Ordinance (Cap. 228), can be tried summarily only in a Magistrates’ Court. The common characteristic of offences which can be tried only before a magistrate is that the Ordinance creating the offence imposes a maximum penalty of two years’ imprisonment.

 

Criminal prosecutions in Hong Kong start with an arrest, followed by a charge or by the issue of a summons. More serious criminal offences, such as theft, start with an arrest, followed by a charge. Less serious criminal offences, such as careless driving, contrary to section 38 of the Road Traffic Ordinance (Cap. 374), which carries a maximum imprisonment of six months, normally start with the issue of a summons.

 

Whether a criminal prosecution starts with an arrest followed by a charge or by the issue of a summons, the result is the same. The convicted person, whether on a guilty plea or after trial, will have a criminal record. It does not matter what penalty is imposed by the convicting court. A criminal conviction can be quashed on appeal. A conviction which is not quashed on appeal cannot be erased. Traditionally, the criminal record remains with the offender for life.

Last revision date:

跳转到主要内容

A. 刑事犯罪纪录

在香港,最严重的刑事罪行,如谋杀、误杀或强奸,必须由高等法院原讼法庭的法官及陪审团,依循公诉程序审理。有些罪行如盗窃或抢劫,则可在高等法院原讼法庭、区域法院或裁判法院审理。对于这类罪行,检控部门会根据经审讯定罪后可能判处的刑罚,决定案件在哪个法院审理。如果可能判处的刑罚是不超过两年的监禁,案件将交由裁判法院审理。如果可能判处的刑罚是2至7年的监禁,案件将由区域法院审理。如果可能判处的刑罚是超过7年的监禁,案件将由高等法院原讼法庭审理。某些罪行只可以由裁判法院依循简易程序审理,例如违反《简易程序治罪条例》(香港法例第228章第23条“抗拒或阻碍公职人员或其他依法执行公务的人”。只可以由裁判法院依循简易程序审理的罪行的共通处,是这类罪行的法定最高刑罚为监禁2年。

 

香港的刑事检控程序是先逮捕,继而是提出控告或发出传票。较严重的罪行(如盗窃),会先逮捕,再提出控告。不太严重的罪行,则会先逮捕,再发出传票;例如,违反《道路交通条例》(香港法例第374章第38条的不小心驾驶罪,其最高刑罚为监禁6个月,一般会向违例者发出传票。

 

经逮捕后,无论是提出控告,还是发出传票,其刑事检控的结果都是一样。被判有罪的人,不论是主动认罪或经审讯后被定罪,亦不论法庭判刑的轻重,都会留有刑事纪录(即案底)。然而,如果他/她上诉得直,其定罪判决便会被撤销。按照惯例,刑事纪录是终身的。

修订日期: