Skip to main content

1. Fixed Penalty Tickets

Fixed-penalty notices, for littering or illegal parking, for example, are a fact of contemporary life. They are designed to reduce paperwork and expense by allowing police officers and certain other public officers to deal with certain low level anti-social behaviour with on-the-spot penalties.

 

The fixed-penalty notice is not a fine or a criminal conviction. A person issued with a fixed-penalty notice can opt not to pay it and challenge it in court. If the fixed-penalty notice is neither paid nor challenged in court within the time allowed in the notice, the penalty, and any additional penalty prescribed by the relevant Ordinance, may be enforced in the same way as fines are enforced. Even so, this is not a conviction.

 

Section 2(3) of the Rehabilitation of Offenders Ordinance (Cap. 297) ("RHO") provides that the payment or recovery of a fixed penalty, or any additional penalty, under the Fixed Penalty (Traffic Contraventions) Ordinance(Cap. 237), the Fixed Penalty (Criminal Proceedings) Ordinance (Cap. 240), the Fixed Penalty (Public Cleanliness Offences) Ordinance (Cap. 570), the Fixed Penalty (Smoking Offences) Ordinance (Cap. 600) or the Motor Vehicle Idling (Fixed Penalty) Ordinance (Cap. 611) is not a conviction for the purposes of section 2(1) or 2(1A) of the RHO.

 

Correspondingly, except for the purposes of recovery of the fixed penalty and any additional penalty due for late payment, no evidence is admissible in any proceedings which tends to show that that individual has paid, or been ordered to pay, a fixed-penalty notice. Payment of, or an order to pay, a fixed penalty notice, or any failure to disclose a fixed penalty notice is not a lawful or proper ground for dismissing or excluding a person from any office, occupation or employment or for treating them less favourably than other employees because of the fixed-penalty notice.

Last revision date:

跳转到主要内容

1. 定额罚款告票

以定额罚款的方式,惩罚乱抛垃圾或违例泊车的人士,已成为当代生活的惯例。设立定额罚款是为了让警务人员或某些其他特定公职人员,可以即场处理较轻微的反社会行为,以减少文书工作和开支。

 

定额罚款通知书并非罚款或刑事定罪。获发定额罚款通知书的人士可以选择不缴付罚款,并向法庭提出异议。如果获发定额罚款通知书的人士,在指定限期内没有缴付罚款,亦没有向法庭提出异议,法庭可强制执行该定额罚款及任何根据相关条例附加的罚款,如同强制执行由法庭所处之罚款一样。然而,这亦不会使之成为一项刑事定罪。

 

罪犯自新条例》(香港法例第297章第2(3)条订明,根据《定额罚款(交通违例事项)条例》(香港法例第237章)、《定额罚款(刑事诉讼)条例》(香港法例第240章)、《定额罚款(公众地方洁净罪行)条例》(香港法例第570章)、《定额罚款(吸烟罪行)条例》(香港法例第600章)或《汽车引擎空转(定额罚款)条例》(香港法例第611章)须缴付或遭追讨定额罚款或任何附加罚款,均不属于《罪犯自新条例第 2(1)及2(1A)条所指的定罪。故此,任何证据,如倾向显示某人曾经就定额罚款通知书缴付或被命令缴付罚款,均不得在任何程序中被接纳;为追讨该定额罚款、或任何因逾期缴交而附加的罚款之程序除外。

 

同样,任何人不得以某人曾经因定额罚款通知书而要缴付或被命令缴付罚款为理由、或没有披露曾获发定额罚款通知书为理由,令当事人从任何职位、职业或受雇工作被解雇或排除,亦不可因当事人曾获发定额罚款通知书,而令他/她遭受较其他雇员较差的待遇。

修订日期: