Skip to main content

1. Disclosure of Spent Convictions in Court Proceedings

Section 3(2)(a), (aa), (b) and (c) of the RHO allow spent convictions to come into evidence in proceedings relating to the interests of an infant and in applications to become a foster parent. In proceedings relating to infants, the welfare of the infant is the first and paramount consideration. In these situations, it is right that the court should have access to all material that could be relevant to the decision it has to make.

 

Spent convictions can also be introduced as evidence in child-custody hearings in divorce proceedings. What, if any, effect the spent conviction has in those proceedings depends upon the circumstances of each case and the offence leading to the conviction. A conviction for careless driving, for example, is unlikely to have any relevance in custody proceedings.

 

Similarly, in applications to become a foster parent, a broad view needs to be taken to ensure that children’s interests are protected. Again, the effect, if any, of the spent conviction depends on the offence and how long ago it was. A spent conviction for a sexually related offence or an offence of dishonesty would, depending on the circumstances of the particular case, be more relevant than a conviction for a motoring offence.

 

Spent convictions can also come into evidence if the convicted persons consent to the admission of evidence relating to those convictions or want to bring the convictions into evidence for their own reasons, or in any proceedings where the tribunal is satisfied that justice cannot be done except by admitting evidence relating to the convictions.

Last revision date:

跳转到主要内容

1. 在法庭程序中披露已丧失时效的定罪

根据《罪犯自新条例第3(2)(a)、(aa) 、(b)及(c)条,在涉及幼年人权益的任何程序,以及在申请成为寄养父母的任何程序中,已丧失时效的定罪皆可被法庭接纳为证据。在涉及幼年人权益的程序中,幼年人的福利是首要考虑,因此法庭理应有权查阅所有可影响判决的相关资料。

 

在离婚程序中有关子女抚养权的聆讯中,已丧失时效的定罪亦可被法庭接纳为证据。至于这些证据会怎样影响聆讯的判决(如有影响),则因应案件的实际情况而定,同时亦取决于该定罪的罪行性质。例如,一项不小心驾驶的定罪,在争取子女抚养权的聆讯中便没有太大关系。

 

同样,在申请成为领养父母的程序中,法庭必须对申请人全面了解,以确保被领养儿童之权益得到保障。而已丧失时效的定罪会怎样影响这些程序(如有影响),则取决于罪行性质及定罪是否已事隔多年。例如,性罪行或与不诚实有关的罪行(视乎个别案件的实际情况),一般会较驾驶相关罪行,更具影响力。

 

如果被定罪人士同意,已丧失时效之定罪亦可被法庭接纳为证据。又或被定罪的人因个人理由要求提供已丧失时效之定罪的相关证据,法庭也可接纳这类证据。同样,在任何程序中,如果审裁处认为已丧失时效之定罪的相关证据如不被接纳,即不能公正裁判,亦可接纳这类证据。

修订日期: