Skip to main content

5. Appeal mechanism

 

An organiser of public meetings or public processions may appeal to an independent Appeal Board on Public Meetings and Processions against the decision of the Commissioner of Police to prohibit a public meeting, to object to a public procession or to impose conditions on the holding of a public meeting or public procession.

 

The Appeal Board consists of three members selected in rotation from a panel of 15 members and is chaired by a retired judge, which can be convened at short notice. While there is no time limit to lodge an appeal, it should be lodged as soon as possible so that a Notice of No Objection can be issued following a successful appeal and in time for the intended public meeting or procession.The Appeal Board is required to act expeditiously so as to ensure that an appeal is not frustrated by the decision being delayed until after the proposed date of public meeting or procession.

 

The Chairman of the Appeal Board determines the procedure and practice of an appeal, which are normally informal in nature. In the hearing of an appeal, the appellant and the Commissioner of Police shall be entitled to be heard either in person or through legal representatives. The Board would often encourage dialogues between the appellant and the police in pursuit of a mutual agreement.

 

The Appeal Board may, after hearing an appeal, confirm, reverse or vary the prohibition, objection or condition appealed against, and the determination of an appeal board by the Board shall be final. Any further challenge to the Appeal Board’s decision will be by way of judicial review.

Last revision date:

跳转到主要内容

5. 上诉机制

 

公众集会或游行的组织者可向上诉委员会提出就警务处处长(1)禁止公众集会的决定;(2)反对公众游行的决定或就公众集会;或(3)就公众游行施加条件的决定提出上诉。

 

上诉委员会由15人小组中轮流选出的3名人士组成,由退休法官担任主席,并能在短时间内召开。虽然法例上没有订明上诉期限,但申请人应尽快提出相关上诉,以便在成功上诉后能够及时发出不反对通知及使集会或游行如期举行。上诉委员会于接获任何上诉通知后亦须尽快就上诉作出考虑和裁定,以确保上诉结果不会因推迟至拟举行公众集会或公众游行日期后作出而不能履行。

 

上诉委员会的程序及常规须由主席决定,一般也为非正式的。在上诉聆讯中,上诉人和警务处处长有权亲自或透过法律代表进行聆讯。上诉委员会通常会鼓励上诉人与警方之间的对话,以寻求共同协议。

 

于聆讯上诉后,上诉委员会可维持、推翻或更改上诉所针对的禁止、反对或条件,而且相关裁定为最终的裁定。上诉人对上诉委员会的裁定提出的进一步挑战须通过申请司法复核进行。

修订日期: