Skip to main content

3. Right of Commissioner of Police to prohibit public meetings and object to public processions

 

Upon receiving a notice of intention to hold a public meeting or a public procession, the Commissioner of Police may issue a Notice of Prohibition against the holding of a public meeting or a Notice of Objection against the holding of a public procession.

 

The Commissioner of Police may prohibit a public meeting of 50 or more people, or object to a public procession of 30 or more people, being held if he considers that it is necessary in the interests of national security, or public safety, public order or the protection of the rights and freedoms of others.

 

If a notice of intention to hold a public meeting or a public procession is given to the Commissioner of Police at least one week before the intended date, the Commissioner of Police may not issue a notice of prohibition or a notice of objection later than 48 hours before the commencement of the notified meeting or procession.

 

If a notice of intention to hold a public meeting or a public procession is given to the Commissioner of Police 72 hours or more before the holding of the public meeting or procession and accepted by him, the Commissioner of Police may not issue a notice of objection later than 24 hours before the commencement of the notified meeting or procession.

 

If a notice of intention to hold a public procession is given to the Commissioner of Police less than 72 hours before the holding of the public procession and accepted by him, the Commissioner of Police may not issue a notice of prohibition or a notice of objection later than the notified commencement time of the procession.

 

The Commissioner of Police may prohibit a public meeting or object to a public procession on the grounds of national security or public safety, public order or the protection of the rights and freedoms of others.

 

If the Commissioner of Police does not object to a public procession being held, he shall issue a notice of no objection at least 48 hours or 24 hours before the holding of the public procession as the case may be, or before the commencement of the notified procession.

 

If the Commission of Police does not issue a notice of no objection within the time required by the Public Order Ordinance, he is taken to have issued a notice of no objection for the public procession.

Last revision date:

跳转到主要内容

3. 警务处处长禁止或反对举行已作出通知的公众集会或游行的权力

 

接获举行公众集会或公众游行的意向通知后,警务处处长可以就以书面方式向申请人发出禁止集会或反对游行的通知书。

 

警务处处长在考虑维护国家安全或公共安全、公共秩序或保护他人的权利和自由后,可以(1)禁止举行超过50人的集会或(2)反对超过30人的游行。

 

凡任何组织者在拟举行集会或游行的一周或之前向警务处处长作出公众集会或游行的意向通知,警务处处长不得迟于所知会的集会或游行开始时间前48小时发出禁止集会通知或反对游行通知。

 

如果警务处处长接受不少于72小时的较短时间意向通知,警务处处长不得迟于所知会的集会或游行开始时间前24小时发出禁止集会通知或反对游行通知。

 

如果警务处处长接受少于72小时的较短时间意向通知,警务处处长不得迟于所知会的游行开始时间发出反对游行通知。

 

警务处处长可以以维护国家安全或公共安全、公共秩序或保护他人的权利和自由为由禁止公众集会或反对公众游行。

 

如果警务处处长不反对公众游行,他应在不少于48小时前或在游行开始时间前24小时(视属何情况而定),并在合理的切实可行范围内,尽快以书面方式通知申请人他反对或不反对举行该公众游行。如警务处处长没有在指明的时限内,发出、张贴或发布反对游行通知,即当作警务处处长已发出不反对公众游行通知。

修订日期: