Skip to main content

2. Disorder in public places (S.17B Public Order Ordinance)

 

There are 2 offences under s.17B of the Public Order Ordinance:

 

· Disorderly conduct for the purpose of preventing the transaction of the business of any public gathering (s.17B(1) Public Order Ordinance); and

 

· Disorderly conduct, or using, distributing, or displaying any threatening, abusive or insulting conduct with intent to provoke a breach of the peace or whereby a breach of the peace is likely to be caused (s.17B(2) Public Order Ordinance).

 

Disorderly conduct to prevent the transaction of business is liable to a fine of $5,000 and imprisonment of 12 months.

 

“Disorderly, intimidating, insulting or provocative manner”

 

what amounts to “disorderly, intimidating, insulting or provocative manner” is a matter of common sense and ordinary meaning of these words. It depends on the time, place and circumstances of the conduct in question.

 

“Disorderly conduct” has been interpreted as “unruly or offensive behaviour”, “rough or aggressive behaviour”, or “acting in a way which disrupts public order or is against morality”. It does not need to involve any violence or cause serious disruption of public order.

 

“Preventing the transaction of business” in s.17B(1) of the Public Order Ordinance requires that the conduct has made it impossible in practical terms to hold or continue with the gathering.  It would cover situations where the conduct involved would interrupt the intended transaction of the business to an extent beyond what others can be expected to tolerate in a democratic society.  The transaction of business would be substantially impaired instead of being briefly interrupted. However, this offence is made out if the disorderly conduct was done with the intention to prevent the public gathering from happening or continuing.

 

Noisy or disorderly conduct, using, distributing, or displaying writing containing threatening, abusive or insulting words with intent to provoke a breach of the peace, or whereby a breach of the peace is likely to be caused under s.17B(2) of the Public Order Ordinance is liable to a fine of $5,000 and imprisonment of 12 months.

 

The purpose of this offence is to prevent a person from instigating public disorder involving others. It would exclude situations where the conduct is not likely to produce such violence.

 

“With intent to provoke a breach of the peace or whereby a breach of the peace is likely to be caused” requires that the conduct is either done with the intention to provoke others to breach the peace or the conduct is such that others will likely react to that conduct with a beach of the peace.

 

“Breach of the peace”

 

A person commits a breach of the peace when he unlawfully resorts to violence which injures someone or damages property, or which threatens immediate danger of injury or damage to property in the presence of the targeted person or the owner of that property.

 

Conduct which was peaceful in itself might, if persistently pursued, provoke others to violence. If a violent response could be considered the natural consequence of such persistent conduct, the person who pursued such conduct could be regarded as having committed a breach of the peace.

 

A breach of the peace on its own is not a criminal offence but the police can exercise the power of arrest when a breach of the peace occurs and require that the person breaching the peace to be subject to a bind-over order to keep the peace.

 

“Whereby a breach of the peace is likely to be caused”

 

This offence focuses on the cause and effect of the conduct involved. Even if the person who acted disorderly has breached the peace would not amount to this offence. The disorderly conduct or the use of threatening, abusive, or insulting words must either intended to cause, or there is a real risk that it would result in, imminent unlawful injury or damage to property.

 

The party who might resort to violence as a result of the disorderly conduct etc. need not be the person provoked or a by-stander, it could be someone in the provoker’s group.

Last revision date:

移至主內容

2. 公眾地方內擾亂秩序行為 (《公安條例》第17B條)

 

公安條例第17B條中包含兩項罪行,分別為:

 

  • 在公眾地方作出擾亂秩序的行為,或使用、派發或展示恐嚇性、辱罵性或侮辱性的言詞,意圖激使他人破壞社會安寧,或其上述行為相當可能會導致社會安寧破壞 (《公安條例第17B(2)條)。

在公眾聚集中作出擾亂秩序行為以阻止公眾聚集,一經定罪,可處罰款$5000及監禁12個月。

 

「擾亂秩序、帶有威嚇性、侮辱性或挑撥性的行為」

 

何謂「擾亂秩序」、有「威嚇性」、「侮辱性」、或「挑撥性」的行為可根據常識及一般日常用語解釋。這取決於所涉行為的時間、地點和情況。

 

「擾亂秩序」行為被法庭詮釋為「粗暴、具冒犯性或攻擊性的行為」,或「違反公共秩序或道德的行為」,而這些行為並不需要包括實際暴力或公共秩序受到嚴重破壞。

 

在《公安條例第17B(1)條中,「阻止處理該事情」即該行為須使舉行或繼續聚集在實際上變得不可能。所指的行為是已經超越任何一個民主社會應可容忍的干擾程度。「聚集處理的事情」須受到實質地損害而非短暫干擾。然而,只要該「擾亂秩序」行為的目的是為了防止公眾聚集的發生或持續,這罪行便能成立。

 

在《公安條例第17B(2)條中,喧嘩或擾亂秩序的行為或使用、派發或展示任何載恐嚇性、辱罵性或侮辱性的言詞的文稿,意圖激使他人破壞社會安寧,或其上述行為相當可能會導致社會安寧破壞,即屬違法。一經定罪,可處罰款$5000及監禁12個月。

 

這項罪行的目的是為了防止任何人煽動涉及他人的擾亂公共秩序行為,所以並不包括不會產生這些暴力的行為。

 

「意圖激使他人破壞社會安寧」即該行為的目的為煽動他人破壞社會安寧或者該行為相當可能會使他人以作出破壞社會安寧的行為作為回應。

 

「破壞社會安寧」

 

任何人的行為如對他人或他人的財產構成實際傷害,或在當事人在場的情況下作出威脅會即將向其作出人身或財產構的傷害,該行為便屬破壞社會安寧。

 

和平的行為,如果持續進行,亦有可能激使其他人訴諸暴力。所以如果暴力回應是該持續進行該行為的自然結果,那麼作出這些和平行為的人亦會被視為破壞社會安寧。

 

破壞社會安寧本身並非刑事罪行,但是警務人員可以在社會安寧被破壞時行使拘捕權及要求相關人士簽保守行為以維持社會安寧。

 

「其上述行為相當可能會導致社會安寧破壞」

 

這項罪行關注的是行為的因果關係。即使擾亂秩序的人破壞了社會安寧,亦不會構成罪行。擾亂秩序的行為或使用恐嚇性、辱罵性或侮辱性的言詞必須旨在引起或有實質可能引起對他人或他人的財產的傷害。

 

因擾亂秩序行為而訴諸暴力的人不需要是被挑撥的人或旁觀者,也可以是發起挑撥者的一份子。

修訂日期: